Diesel heaters.

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 08:53
ThreadID: 92703 Views:4723 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I'm the new boy on the block. Never done this sort of site thing before, so bear with me. I have a 4WD Coaster (with a 6.2 l Chev diesel) and I am looking at putting a diesel heater in, but the high cost of such a small thing has put me off. I do have a gas heater but need to carry extra bottles and it takes up a bit of space.
So I read about a unit from Diesel Heating Aust for $899. Has anyone used one. How do they go or is it a case of one gets what one pays for? Any comments on any heater appreciated.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 10:40

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 10:40
We've got a Webasto diesel heater and also a Webasto diesel cooktop and yes they are expensive but work well.
I've no personal experience with the "cheap" ones but there are a few that have fitted them on a motorhome forum and they seem to work well, looking at the specs and pics they would have to be a copy but would have to meet similar standards to the originals to be allowed to be fitted to vehicles.
If i was in the market for that type of unit now I guess I'd buy one rather then the more expensive units if they looked ok in the flesh.
AnswerID: 481074

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 17:54

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 17:54
Gerry, we have talked about same thing. We don't like the cold so would tend to avoid the situation where we would need one. and the $1700 pays for a few hotel rooms if we get caught.
AnswerID: 481107

Reply By: skulldug - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 18:57

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 18:57
Gerry,

I will watch this post as I am interested in them too.

The only diesel heater I have used is a 3l TD. The further north you drive it, the warmer it gets.

Skull
AnswerID: 481111

Reply By: Ross M - Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 21:21

Thursday, Mar 22, 2012 at 21:21