Hey guys

Whos got one.. Im interested in having a chat to anyone
who owns one

Reply By: racinrob - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 08:09

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 08:09
Do you mean a slide-on camper ? If so contact me via eMail, I had one for thirteen years and can only say good things about them.

rr
AnswerID: 481576

Follow Up By: mynance - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 09:22

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 09:22
The Piggyback campers were manufactured in Bundaberg up until last year, they were probably the best quality and best designed of the tray backs campers.

I don't have one myself but have looked over them quite thoroughly. They ceased trading due to ill health.

Myles
FollowupID: 756930

Reply By: oxley 63 - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 09:22

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 09:22
same here, if you mean slide on campers - i have had one on a landcruiser and now to move to a patrol...found my one from outback campers to be great!
AnswerID: 481585

Reply By: julian d - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 10:41

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 10:41
[img]
[/img]

This is my rig. Brought it a year ago with the cruiser.. Took it up the cape in june/july... Possibly for sale if I can get the right price for it
AnswerID: 481594

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 15:42

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 15:42
Julian, you might want to check out the forum rules in regards to Buying/for sale on the forum. The classifieds is the appropriate section.

The Modsquad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 756968

Follow Up By: julian d - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 17:17

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 17:17
Sorry mate
FollowupID: 756975

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 17:23

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 17:23
No dramas. ;-)
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 756976

Follow Up By: katepaul - Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 15:07

Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 15:07
Julian d Do you have some photos of your setup would love to see them if possible
kate
FollowupID: 757265

Reply By: wombat100 - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 15:00

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 15:00
Yup..we have a Northstar slide-on camper- mounted on a chassis modified Mazda BT50 tray.
J&D
AnswerID: 481620

Follow Up By: julian d - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 18:27

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 18:27
Wats the north star like mate.. They are more of a on road camper arnt they?
FollowupID: 756981

Reply By: Member - Timnivo - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 20:29

Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 at 20:29
G'day Julian
We own one of the genuine Piggyback Campers, same as yours from Bundaberg. We have the 1800mm Little Pig version, and carry it on a Creative Conversions 200 series dualcab. I looked at different ones for years before deciding on it. They are the best compromise between weight and features, and are very well designed. It's a great pity that Michelle and Craig decided to close the business. Regards. Tim.
AnswerID: 481662

Reply By: Barry 2 - Thursday, Mar 29, 2012 at 00:48

Thursday, Mar 29, 2012 at 00:48
Hi Julian
Depends what your idea of a piggy back camper is ??
A camper box with fold out tent and external kitchen or a up market bells and all slide on camper ( Truck camper ).
I have a Northstar slide on camper on a 79 series L/C which we love has all the comforts you need and will go most places the cruiser will go. When we looked around it was the only slide on camper that has a 5yr full Off Road warranty.

Barry
AnswerID: 481696

Reply By: John and Maureen W (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 29, 2012 at 20:23

Thursday, Mar 29, 2012 at 20:23
Hi Julian, there appears to be a little confusion happening, Piggy Back Camper is a brand name.
AnswerID: 481785

Reply By: julian d - Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 15:43

Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 15:43
Yea i know.. i am specifically referring to the brand Piggyback camper from bundy..
they are a wicked piece of kit ill throw up some pics from the cape trip we did last year

This piggyback has it all.. outside kitchen, inside kitchen 2 engel fridges 80L and 40L, 80L water tank plumbed to both kitchens 2 deep cycle batteries, outside annex,etc etc, too much to list, defiantly the best slide on camper on the market, sad they dont deal any more
AnswerID: 481981

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 16:27

Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 16:27
"defiantly the best slide on camper on the market"
Not totally convinced there Julian. Doesn't look to be a fast errect/packup unit, wet canvas folds onto bedding, wasted space around plastic tubs & a bit heavy. Have been researching several new one's that have some very interesting features doing the shows lately for a future purchase.
I'm finding the trayback concept though is certainly the best way to travel the remote areas of Oz.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 757270

Follow Up By: julian d - Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 16:50

Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 16:50
Mate i can have this thing folded out and ready to cook/sleep in 2 mins. as for the wasted space? i was up the cape for 8 weeks and still had empty draws... i weighed it up the cape and it was 860kg fully loaded with a 20hp outboard in the back.. best feature if ya hungry you can pull over and have ya outside stove cookin away instantly..
FollowupID: 757272

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 17:43

Saturday, Mar 31, 2012 at 17:43
Wow impressive, the canopy must be built far lighter than they look with nearly 400kg of equipment on board & all that canvas. What's it weigh dry do you know?
While 2 minutes setup is ok, you're still 4 times slower than the fastest canves/alloy trayback ;-)
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 757276

Follow Up By: Member - Peter & Lyn S (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 at 16:17

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 at 16:17
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundHi Guys, we own a true Piggyback Camper, built by Craig & Michelle in Bundy,
after searching for 2years, finally found a unit that was not too heavy, only 480kg empty, obvoiusly they ary slightly with options fitted etc, as for storage they have more usable space than anything I have seen before or since. I have had it 5years now, one of the first alluminium units built, it has never missed a beat, can set up in 2 -5mins, & cooking dinner or ready for bed, quickest setup I have ever come across. We have done lots of exploring with it, the Simpson, CSR, Kimberleys, Cape York, Tassie & more, it has always allowed us to go where ever we have wanted to go, have travelled in convoy a few times, we were always first set up & first packed up each night & morning.

Sadly the time has come to part company with Miss Piggy, she has served us really well, ours is a series1, a couple of pics attached

cheers Peter
FollowupID: 757552

Follow Up By: Member - Peter & Lyn S (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 at 16:28

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 at 16:28
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The For Sale/Wanted to Buy Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 757553

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 at 18:54

Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 at 18:54
These Piggy backs are so good everyone is getting rid of them ;-)
FollowupID: 757562

Reply By: julian d - Monday, Apr 02, 2012 at 14:18

Monday, Apr 02, 2012 at 14:18
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 482163