Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 20:43
Truckster (Vic)
HERE WE GO AGAIN! MY TURN!!!
I got my insurance renewal today in the mail... I'm with TCIS, and with me, they are using Alllianz, $670 for $25,000 agreed value... Happy with the price, just want to know what I'm covered for...
But I dont know where your covered or for what.. Their handy little booklet doesnt say... its all double dutch designed like a Tax Pack... To confuse you into just paying the $.
Just talkin to Ray on ICQ about this, some Insurance companies say "any track on the map"..
1) Whose map? - Oziexplorer and make your own track! 90% of tracks are not on maps anymore as the maps are so out of date..
2) Anyone heard good or bad of Allianz?
3) To top it off, I have to have an alarm AND an Immobilizer Black wired what ever that is... and fitted by 3/1/03.. Nice to be given notice isnt it?
I'll be ringing TCIS tomorrow reaming them a new one...
WTF is up with this shiat...
Why is it so gnikcuhp hard
Talking to another mate on ICQ... his insurance states
"I'm covered in my car anywhere as long as I use it within the specifications it was designed for..."
Boy arent they going to use that one to their advantage....!!!
Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 20:53
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 20:53
Hey Truckster,
Allianz done me like a dinner many years ago. Never use them ever again. But from heartache comes expierence and i am 1 up on them today.
As for the Alarm "Black Wired".
Well basically it mean all the wires used to install the alarm are BLACK, they do this so to make it harder and longer for a thief to work out which wire is which. My cousin installs alarms for a living and he told me about it last week. Problem is, if we strikea problem with engine not starting up due to faulty alarm, its almost impossible to find the cause unless we dismantle the whole wiring setup and they we have to make sure the original wires are connected properly again if we want the 4b to start...its just a nightmare mate. Good luck
Regards AngeloI love it when you talk DIRTY !
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:32
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:32
I think we have been down this road before but I will say it again anyhow.
I do not insure my truck...so I do not have to worry about the policy statements.
Admittedly my truck is only for recreational use and very rarely gets driven to or in a city. I have to drive carefully and make sure that I do not have an accident and also hope that I do not get poleaxed somewhere in the traffic by someone else. This philosophy has worked for me for the past 20 years. Prior to that I was heavily insured running multiple vehicles and met with 3 accidents in 3 years and no end of insurance hassles. Maybe there is a moral to the story.
Happy Christmas to you and yours and the youngster.
Willem
Always going somewhere
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:33
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:33
if my truck gets stolen, its a bit more of a financial loss than the Old G60 though!!! ;)
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:45
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:45
You are right of course..had not considered that as nobody in their right mind would want to steal the G60....lucky ain't I? :-)
Willem
Always going somewhere
Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:52
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:52
gday willem.
they could try stealing the g60 but you could just run after them and get it.lolyou reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:00
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:00
my friend had his G60 stolen, they drove it thru his garage door to steal it and did $5000 worth of improvements to the fornt hahahaha
Happy Christnas to all and Willem...go easy on the wallopers they are there for their own good...oh and for ours at times - I must go and check my mudflaps are 300mm from the groundLaterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:08
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:08
Dunno which is slower..me running or the G60.
Better go outside and lock the truck in case it gets pinched....hahahaha....they will have to get past the black dog first!!!
Willem
Always going somewhere
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:21
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:21
Tie the dog to the G60 Willem, they mightn't steal the dog thenLaterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:37
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:37
If the G60 were stolen, Willem could ask his mates two doors down for some assistance :-)Bob
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:49
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:49
There is a Commodore standing next to the G60. I know which one will get stolen first.
Bob, I think that I have bolted my shot with 'two doors down'......hahahaha
Willem
Always going somewhere
Reply By: Member - Nigel (QLD) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:42
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:42
If your in queensland might be worth getting a quote from RACQ - an assesor looks over your vehicle (saves arguing later) and then they offer you an agreed value...
I'm now paying $350/year for an agreed value of $26500 - the TCIS renewal was $750 + an immobiliser.
With racq you are covered anywhere you are legally allowed to be (ie covered on private property if you have permisison to be there).
Reply By: Member - Raymond - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:43
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:43
Hi Truckster,
Both my vehicle and my son's 4WD are insure through TCIS but with different companies. Both were required to have an engine immobilizer fitted. Cost $200 at the Auto Elec. When talking to him on picking up the vehicle he mentioned a client who did not have time to fit his before a trip away. The 4WD plus camper trailer plus all equipment was stolen from outside
supermarket in
Cairns. He was on the way to the top, The insurance still paid up as it was before the date they set, but it sure stuffed his holiday
Raywanderin' in retirement. victor 2010
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:34
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:34
Yea remember you had happyness with them, might email Ken and see how I go..
Take care.
Reply By: Member - Raymond - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:44
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:44
Hi Truckster,
Both my vehicle and my son's 4WD are insure through TCIS but with different companies. Both were required to have an engine immobilizer fitted. Cost $200 at the Auto Elec. When talking to him on picking up the vehicle he mentioned a client who did not have time to fit his before a trip away. The 4WD plus camper trailer plus all equipment was stolen from outside
supermarket in
Cairns. He was on the way to the top, The insurance still paid up as it was before the date they set, but it sure stuffed his holiday
Raywanderin' in retirement. victor 2010
Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:55
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:55
gdat truckster.
give cgu a call best for us and a policy that was half understandable.
covered any where you are allowed to be i hastled them about fire
trails private property ect all covered.and were also the cheapest.you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:32
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:32
Am with them now, but TCIS being brokers have sent me the crap for Allianz, looks like a long day on the phone... :(
Check ya mail 2, and get on ICQ
Reply By: Member - Les & Clare (WA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:34
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:34
Hi Truckster
We are in WA and use RAC (Royal Automobile Club). Have my beast insured for $51,800 under a agreed value policy and costs me $1320.00 per year. Am covered anywhere on or off road including beach, bush, deserts, fire
trails and private property (as long as i have permission).
Had a claim about 2 years ago with my previous beast and they assessed the vechicle and agreed to pay within 3 days.
Les
Have beast - will travel!
Follow Up By: mik*2 - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 14:15
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 14:15
I'm insured with RAC as
well. Cost me $512 a year for my Navara for an agreed vale of $38000. Good price i reckon with the same conditions yours. We've got a 60% NCB which helps.
mike
Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:52
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:52
Truckster
tcis get three quotes from 3 different underwriters give them a ring & ask to see the other 2 quotes they usualy send only the best priced one based on all the usual criteria such as where its parked ,immobilizer fitted, post code & driving claims history. if your not happy with the price let them know as i have been told they will look around to see if it can be found cheeper
regards bruce
Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:55
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 22:55
ps $670 for $25000 sounds expensive i think im am paying less or about that for $45000 cover through tcis
Reply By: rolande- Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 23:43
Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 23:43
Truckster,
For what it is worth, just insured my GU for $29,000 agreed with QBE, cost $341 for country area
Rolande
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:41
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:41
Doesnt sound like you insured your car for much?? GU worth more than $29k?
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 08:40
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 08:40
Truckster, you have raised the important issue of insurance and potential for financial loss. It made me look to my insurance contract again. Things like over the weight for which it is designed was also included in the terms of the policy. No such mention of immobilizers.
Rolande has agreed to carry part of that himself and the insurance company (QBE) will have a capability to portion that out very quickly :) Any argument with Rolande will be the portion, not that he agreed to carry his portion.
It helps to have some policies linked with others but increases the complexity. I guess
mine is a policy across the business and it provides my insurer with some guarantees that I will perform to ensure continuing business, but in their terms, they will do the same. It is a two way street.
p.s. Truckster, you the same on ICQ?Regards
JohnR - Not enough of the right travelling, some here..... some over there.......
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:19
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:19
yea still on 1038488
Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:07
Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:07
My brother-in-law's 11 month old WRX was stolen at gunpoint on Canterbury Road a couple of years ago.
Police were called out, bouncers at a local pub witnessed it, it was even caught on security video which the police have. You cannot possibly have more evidence that the car was legitimately stolen.
The car was never seen again, with police speculating that it has been stolen to be rebirthed interstate.
Allianz refuse to pay out the insurance and they won't specify other than to generally say something about duty of disclosure. Even so, they won't state what wasn't disclosed that would have affected their decision to insure the vehicle in the first place. It was a totally standard MY00 WRX. That's what the policy said, that's what it was.
It is due in court next year. If it all goes
well, my brother in law will get his cash plus interest and legal costs 3 years after the incident and it will cost Allianz more than double the original payout figure.
Stay away from them ... they SUCK