That police Blitz..

Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 20:56
ThreadID: 9287 Views:2288 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
Reminder of what it was..
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ensure your tyres are completely covered by your guards or flares.
VIC pol targeting $150 AND 3 licence points.
Rear mudflaps max 300mm from ground and covering tyre width.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just today alone...

Mate got pinged today in cheltenham in melbourne.
cop kept him there for almost an hour and tried to find something else on him...you'd think he'd have better things to do like like book ppl going 62 in a 60 zone

and

took my flares off when i got the car 6 months ago... read this thread and thought i should finally put on those rubber flares i have sitting in the garage, just need some screws to hold them on, so i drove to bunnings today, got the screws, driving home, nearly there..... DAMN RED AND BLUE LIGHTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Got canaried for the flares (lack of), also found out that you need mudflaps down to the axle height, unless ur bodywork is already that low... AND to top it off, the guy i bought the car off hadn't put this years rego sticker on, and i never noticed till they told me.

Anyway, flares go on today hopefully....

moral of the storey, listen when people talk, don't just brush everything off thinking it could never happen

oh yeah, this happened in burwood

Reply By: Member - Phil- Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:16

Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:16
Truckster,
sorry to hear of your bad experience with the boys in blue,
being from NSW I thought your VIC cops shot first , then asked questions!!!
I think you got off lightly LOL!!!!! but thanks for the warning, I'm sure it will happen here TOO! (sooner than LATER)
AnswerID: 40891

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:18

Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 21:18
Na wasnt me gettin done, few others.

Interesting point, if its Double points, thats 6 points for just no mudflaps??
FollowupID: 303410

Follow Up By: Steve L - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 07:46

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 07:46
Double demerits doesn't apply to all offenses. I wouldn't expect that mudflap or flare problems are part of the double points list - it's mostly speeding, seatbelts, etc. (the more 'high profile' things).
FollowupID: 303472

Reply By: Jarrod - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 23:11

Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 23:11
Truckster, Just to clarify a few points, Having noted your post the other day, in relation to vehicle wheel arch flares and mudguards - the following applies.

1., Tyres and wheels are to be covered to the outer egde, and from above the axle. That means hanging a piece of string from the edge of the guard, it will not hit the tyre or wheel all the way to the axel, and mudflaps, or vehicle body to extend to or below the horizontal axel height.

the main reason for this is if your chunky mud tyres pick up a rock, they are less likely to send it in a direction that may be dangerous to yourself or others. I supose if you can see your huge treads spinning in your side mirror, then there is every likelyhood a big mother rock could take out your mirror, or, a passing motorcyclists' face!! - chances are small, but there.

2., There is no fine issued in Victoria for $150. The offence of " vehicle fails to comply with registration standard" is found in the R.S.V.R.'s (Road safety Vehicle Regulations) section 819(3), and carries and immediate fine of $165.00, and Zero(0) demerit points.

No offences in the RSVR's carry Demerit point listings. Offences in other acts (i.e., Road Safety Act, Road Safety Traffic regulations) Do, and they are mostly only attached to offences whereby a higher level of risk to safety has been infringed. (i.e. Exceed blood alcohol content, speeding, etc.).

Just for your info!!!

Have a safe and merry Christmas, and happy new year.

Jarrod.

AnswerID: 40912

Follow Up By: Member - Ross - Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 23:49

Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 23:49
Is that $150 + GST ??Fidei defensor

Rosco
FollowupID: 303466

Follow Up By: rolande- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:59

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:59
jarrod,
Thanks for the info, makes things seem more reasonable
Rolande
FollowupID: 303471

Follow Up By: Andy - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 10:10

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 10:10
Jarrod,

Could I assume the same rules apply for trailers?

FollowupID: 303483

Reply By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:53

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:53
Sorry to add more crap to this thread , but just got informed that there after boosted turbo engins also , if you are caught with any waistgate mods , your off the road , also cracking doen on after market exausts and larger intercoolers , if you have both there freak. One of the boys from work was asked to remove his larger intercooler last week , and got a yellow for it Venus Bay
AnswerID: 40927

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:40

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:40
What does more boost, or a large intercooler have to do with the law??

How can they dick you for that?
FollowupID: 303564

Follow Up By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:46

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:46
they have changed the law on how many mods you can have on turbo vehicles , it was initiated to combat problems with the Jap imports that zoom the street , but the law was passed and cannot be aimed at a make of vehicle so it is across the board on turbo vehicles Venus Bay
FollowupID: 303567

Reply By: Michael - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 01:04

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 01:04
HI Gee the cops in VIC are d#@kheads, i really dont know why people stay there. They book you for the most trivial things. Michael
AnswerID: 40931

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:41

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:41
LOL I lived in bleep ney for 33ish years moved to melbourne to get away from the Nazi's...
Gee didnt I get that wrong...

Wait till election time,things will change with new government.
FollowupID: 303565

Reply By: uppy - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 09:07

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 09:07
Hi Truckers,Ive got flares ,but ill do the rope trick.But i have lost a mud flap on the rear right side ,is this illegal
regards uppy
AnswerID: 40944