great bear tent

Submitted: Friday, Mar 30, 2012 at 20:41
ThreadID: 92910 Views:14301 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
hi all, i am a newbie to posting a thread but you have all provided me with invaluable info over the years....thankyou!! I am now after a tent that will withstand rain and wind, thats easy enough for my teenage daughters to put up, 4 man, thats no more than $150, ive seen one called great bear 4380 on ebay but cant find any reviews on it, was wondering if anyone has had any experience with them?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: GT Campers - Sunday, Apr 01, 2012 at 10:30

Sunday, Apr 01, 2012 at 10:30
In the Good Old days, people went to camping stores and looked at tents...

Seriously, why not go to a proper camping shop and have a look? Not sure where you are, but near me there are two good ones and both are staffed by proper outdoors enthusiasts with lots of knowledge
AnswerID: 482050

Reply By: obeez4 - Sunday, Apr 01, 2012 at 11:07

Sunday, Apr 01, 2012 at 11:07
I am in Perth W.A, we have BCF & Rays not too far away, i have bought tents from these places before and the staff dont really know how they perform under a bit of pressure, if we spent a few hundred dollars and bought a black wolf or simular we'd probably be safe but i dont want to spend that much, imo the best knowledge you can get is from listening to people who use the products, great bear is obviously a unknown, I will visit Anaconda, i havnt seen there tents yet.
AnswerID: 482058

Reply By: lori - Sunday, Apr 01, 2012 at 11:48

Sunday, Apr 01, 2012 at 11:48
We had a tent that set up similar to this one and it was truly terrible.

The poles that slotted into the pins were badly setup and almost took our fingers off every time we setup.

The inner sleeping sections are simple to setup but because of the way it attached was easy to overstretch and break.