My old Hilux

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 04:14
ThreadID: 9296 Views:2281 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
I have a 1983 Twin Cab Hilux that I've had for 2 years without any problems. It's been fitted with a 2.8 diesel & 5speed box from a '96model that'd done 110,000Km's. Body is rust free but not pretty, same as the interior. Tis all bare bones. Now, my problem is that I want to set up a vehicle that will get me through all the famous tough tracks, and back again, and I'm not sure whether to spend the money on this Hilux (Valued at about $6000) or buy a newer one with Aircon and Power steering and all that other guff. An equivelent engined vehicle (but an early '90's model with at least 140,000km) would cost at least $15,000 and the only advantage I can see is having Aircon and Power Steering. (And a new body I guess but who cares, mine's fine). I'm also looking at 75 series Cruisers, I'd love one of them. But again, it'd cost $10,000 more than my Hilux is worth (at least). What do you people think I should do and why? Buy a newer car and set it up or set up a tough, reliable, hot, noisy Hilux for half the price?

Reply By: Member - ramp - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 05:45

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 05:45
hi poida,1/a tough,reliable,hot,noisy hilux or 2/ a tough,reliable hilux. i dont know your money situation but option 2 appeals more to me cheers rob
AnswerID: 40933

Follow Up By: Poida4x4 - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 14:16

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 14:16
It appeals to me more too but not the way I see it, I'd be paying at least $10,000 for A/C and P/Str. Or are there other benefits that would make it worth while? That is really what I'm trying to establish. Thanks all... Great Forum
FollowupID: 303504

Reply By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 07:49

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 07:49
why dont you fit ac and power steering Venus Bay
AnswerID: 40940

Follow Up By: Poida4x4 - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 14:19

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 14:19
I've concidered this and must admit, I havn't looked up prices. I would imagine it would be a pain in the butt but does anyone have any experience with doing this? is it hard? My lux only has a 47L tank or something pathetic like that so I'd have to rectify that problem as well. Has anyone had experience with this? Any advice? Thanks.
FollowupID: 303505

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:02

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:02
Long range tank will fix that!

Leroy
FollowupID: 303507

Follow Up By: Poida4x4 - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:06

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:06
But where can I fit it? There's not much room. Has anyone had experience adding a LR tank to a dual cab 'lux?
FollowupID: 303508

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:08

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:08
It will replace your existing tank.......Leroy
FollowupID: 303509

Follow Up By: Poida4x4 - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:15

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:15
Thanks Leroy. I'll look into all this stuff before I figure out whether I'll get rid of it or not. I'm just not sure what's possible. I have so many questions, this forum is great. Merry Xmas!
FollowupID: 303511

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:50

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:50
I reckon you got a great truck to start with .Must be plenty of 2nd hand aircons out of mining vehicle writeoffs. Great thing about diesel is it doesnt have the explosive nature like petrol so you could store it in jerry cans or a drum and pump it out as needed.
With the money saved you could even splash out on some nice seats
You would probably have to spend a bit on a $15k landcruiser before you left anyway.
AnswerID: 40990

Reply By: farmer joe - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 21:00

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 21:00
G'day mate, I was in your shoes only a few months ago! I had a 84 2L petrol hilux, which i had spent a great deal of money on over the years and it never missed a beat but like yours it was quiet uncomfortable. Like you i wasn't sure whether to up grade or to keep spending on my old girl.I worked out by the time i spent all the money needed to make it reliable and comfortable to take on long adventures i might as well get a loan and have a reliable a/c p/s 96 model sr5 2.8 diesel dual cab hilux and a peace of mind to go with it , which is just what i did! Let me tell you it is very very worth it !!!! but thats just me. Good luck,

Joe.
AnswerID: 41062

Reply By: waynet - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:41

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:41
I have a 1984 hilux diesel dual cab and have fitted power steering off a later model 2.8. Everthing bolts straight in with no mods needed. A 2.8 engine mounting bracket is needed for the left side because this is also the mount for the p/s pump. Air conditioning is easy to fit, but make sure you use a double condensor from a 4 runner as a single condensor will not handle any of the new gases. When getting the a/c system charged use only R134a gas as a lot of the new blend gase do not work well in auto a/c systems (I am a fridge mech. and do a lot of gas conversions) cheers and good luck
AnswerID: 43057