Will people learn? Ever?

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:41
ThreadID: 9301 Views:2289 Replies:12 FollowUps:22
Just sort of a reminder for anyone heading up that way, that even locals get caught out....

Man killed by crocodile
December 23, 2003

A 22-year-old man has been killed by a saltwater crocodile in a Northern Territory river.

The man's two friends have told police the four-metre croc dragged their friend Brett Mann under the Finniss River at 5pm (CST) on Sunday.

The trio had been trail bike riding in the area, about 80km from Darwin, and Mr Mann had waded into the river to clean his trail bike, while his two 19-year-old mates were washing down their bikes on the river bank.

Mr Mann was taken by the crocodile as his horrified and helpless mates watched on, Darwin police sergeant Erica Sims said.

The younger men swam into the river in a desperate bid to help their mate.

But they quickly scrambled up a tree in the middle of the river as the croc - with Mr Mann's remains in its jaws - moved towards them.

The two 19-year-olds stayed in the tree for 22 hours as the croc "stalked" them, Sgt Sims said.

At home, and worried the trio had not returned from their trip by 7pm, one of the men's girlfriends alerted police the party was overdue.

Officers went to the area and found the vehicle in which the men had taken the trail bikes to the bush.

Soon after, they found the terrified men clinging to the tree.

A rescue helicopter plucked them from the tree on Monday afternoon, and they were taken to Royal Darwin Hospital where they were treated for shock and hypothermia, Sgt Sims said.

Police and marine and fisheries officers would start searching for the crocodile, and Mr Mann's body, this morning.

Mr Mann was from Howard Springs, about 40 km south of Darwin.

Reply By: Bazza - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:15

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:15
G'Day Truckster,
The authorities will call this incident "death by misadventure" .... I call it suicide!
Bazza.
AnswerID: 40972

Follow Up By: REX - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 01:42

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 01:42
now they will go hunt the croc for doing what comes naturally finding food
FollowupID: 303578

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:26

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:26
When I lived in the Terrority back in the late 70's there was a famous croc that lived in the Finniss Rv(cannot think of it's name at the monent but it is in a museum up there some where) and it bit the props off outboard motors while they were going, now people just don't seem to worry about these sort of situtions any more.Must have been horrifing for all concered, poor bugger.
Regards Bruce MU-ving on
AnswerID: 40975

Follow Up By: Clayton - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:51

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:51
the croc was called Sweetheart (I believe). I am pretty sure that the skull is at the Darwin Crocodile farm The crazy thing was as kids living up we used swim just upstream! Lived up there again in early '90s and there is no way known that I would even dip my little toe in the Finniss...the things we do
FollowupID: 303527

Follow Up By: Rob H - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:59

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:59
The Croc was indeed called Sweetheart. He currently resides in the Northern Territory Museum and Art Gallery in all his glory, and he is a whopper.

It is the contents of his stomach that is elsewhere, that place being Crocodylus Park, and excellent research centre / nature park. Well worth a visit if you're up here.
FollowupID: 303678

Reply By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:35

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:35
".....treated for shock and HYPOTHERMIA."
How COLD is it 80km from Darwin at this time of the year.
Must have been terrifying though. I know from our Cape York Trip, it is very tempting to have a little paddle.
My Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
AnswerID: 40976

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 18:19

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 18:19
G'day Andrew and Jen,

You may get Hypothermia from immersion for long periods in cold or hot conditions. These fellas probably got rained upon while up in the tree and they were wet when they got up there. A shocking and sorry tale of misadventure.

Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 303537

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 20:26

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 20:26
You can't get hypothermia from immersion in hot conditions eg. a spa - you get hyperthermia. That is why pregnant women should be careful of spas as the increased heat makes them more prone to miscarriage. I see the minimum temp today was 24 so if you are in a tree and wet through and it is quite windy, you might get pretty chilly, but it would be interesting to know if they really were hypothermic.
It's pretty academic I guess because after 22 hours in a tree you wouldn't be feeling terrific.
Merry Christmas Willie
AndrewMy Toy - 2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowupID: 303547

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 20:45

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 20:45
I cannot find hyperthermia in my dictionary but I see that it is a 1986 edition.

Hypothermia.....condition of having depressed body temperature.....

Whichever way it is spelt you can die from dehydration whilst sitting in hot mineral springs or heated pools for too long. This happened up in the NT a couple of years ago to a bloke who had drunk a quantity of beer and then went to relax in a hot spring. The alcohol dehydrated his body and the excessive hot water of the spring exacerbated the dehydration. He died.

Anyway, even in those hot climes you can freeze at night in the middle of summer.

Have a nice Christmas.

Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 303549

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 21:38

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 21:38
Evening Gents,

They would have been subjected to windy, wet conditions for the hours in the tree, so wind chill factor would have increased their ordeal. Shock would have played a big part in their condition. Cyclone Debbie was just kicking into full stride then. Wonder they didn't get DVT sitting up in that tree too. Bet there would be figure prints imbeded in the bark too!!!

One of the coldest days have ever spent was caught in a storm in Kununurra, and it's one of the hottest places in Oz.

Have safe Christmas and new year, 47 degrees here on Diamantina last couple of days - good conditions for a drop of XXXX.

hooroo...

FollowupID: 303550

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 21:39

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 21:39
In the interview I read one of the guys said it was cold during the night so he could have been hypothermic. Or he might just have been cold. Just surprised me that they said he had hypothermia. I think I am being pedantic and it is irrelevant to the story but I can't help myself....... Clearly you can die from cold in hot climates and you might die from hyperthermia - overheating.
FollowupID: 303551

Follow Up By: Members - Andrew & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 21:45

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 21:45
Good point Bob Y. Sounds like you arent having a white christmas this year in Diamantina - 47 Degrees - you would need a water proof keyboard I'd be dripping so much.
FollowupID: 303552

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:00

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:00
Andrew,

Think those 2 lads were more concerned about dying from digestion!

Airconditioning is the secret of life in the bush these days, been 25 in the house all day.

Hooroo...

FollowupID: 303554

Reply By: adrian- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:50

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:50
TO BRUCE AND ANN, SWEETHEART WAS HER NAME, BIG MOTHER AS WELL, HOWEVER THERE ARE BIGGER ONES UP THERE, I LIVED IN DARWIN FOR YEARS AND BELIEVE ME, YOU DO TEND TO GET A LITTLE BIT LAX ABOUT THE CROCKS AT TIMES, EVEN KNOWING SOME BEAUTIES ARE OUT THERE, I , GUESS IT'S THE IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN TO ME ATTITUDE THAT SINKS IN, OR THE ATTITUDE, I'M NOT WORRIED BY THEM, AND THEY, SURE AS HELL, ARE NOT WORRIED BY YOU, CONDOLENCES TO HIS FRIENDS AND FAMILY
AnswerID: 40978

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 17:59

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 17:59
One of the survivors is a grandson of an acquaintance of mine. I spent 20 years of my life in Darwin and environs and we were always pretty wary of crocs. Always checked out a spot before entering the water. Have however swum in the Finniss at the crossing when it was in flood just downstream from where Sweetheart(big fella croc) took a bite out of boats. The skeleton was in the Darwin museum last time I was there. I have had some very close encounters with crocs on the South Aliigator River as we used to run boat tours out there. NEVER SMILE AT A CROCODILE..................
Willem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 40980

Reply By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 18:33

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 18:33
We have been told by many avenues crocs do not hang around rapids. Now don't be fooled, as our son who is managing a cattle station up in the gulf came across a huge freshwater croc lazing happily in the rapids and could barely be seen. Although these are regarded more docile, I think they could be like humans and have a bad day or a protective streak or maybe some hormonal hiccup, and whack, there goes one of your bits and pieces. Jen
AnswerID: 40983

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:35

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 19:35
standing in a creek washing your clothes in the NT..
Darwin Award winner??
Now, someone explain to me why they are killing the Croc?? it was doing what comes natural.. wasnt his fault...
AnswerID: 40989

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 20:28

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 20:28
Not all creeks have crocs in them and in the euphoria of the moment, a temporary lapse of judgement cost the young fella his life.

You can't critisize the area for these things happening...your neck of the woods is even more dangerous especially after dark.

The croc has to be killed as it might strike again. Normally rogue crocs are caught and taken to the crocodile farms.

There are two types of crocs up north...Crocodylus Porosus(Saltwater Crocodile)..a man eater and Crocodylus Johnstonii(Freshwater or Johnston River Crocodile)..regarded as harmless to man...but there have been cases of them nipping intruders.

The saltwater crocodile has the broad snout and the freshwater croc the slender snout.

Aboriginal people who have lived for centruries in the top end of Australia swim the rivers at night to cross to the other side. There are ways and means to understand the traits of the animals. We poor white fellas have not got that understanding and every now and then someone pays for it.

Go up to the NT and have a look for yourself. Nice and warm and wet this time of year.

Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 303548

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:26

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:26
Yea when I said NT, I should have been more explicit, you should have no problems around Alice Springs with crocs ;)

"Aboriginal people who have lived for centruries in the top end of Australia swim the rivers at night to cross to the other side"

they are drunk!
FollowupID: 303561

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:35

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:35
"The croc has to be killed as it might strike again" Willem I can't follow the logic in that. I would say that the croc will almost certainly strike again if a person presents themselves as a meal. For that matter, every salty in the Territory will eat people who put themselves in harms was. Should we therfore kill all the salties? My view would be to let the crocs be unless they enter inhabited areas. Publicise this young man's fate so that others might learn. Far more people die in other preventable ways every week but we seem to ignore them and the means to prevent them, but one lousy croc attack and we become irrational about killing the poor croc who only had himself a feed. (its not like he raped the guy)Bob
FollowupID: 303563

Follow Up By: Will - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:52

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:52
I agree Bob. I seems pointless to kill the thing now...it's not going to bring the poor bloke back. It's the same with the occasional white pointer that they spot over here...they freak out and kill the thing. For gods sake when will people learn that we are humans and belong on land so if one decides to venture into water he/she becomes part of the marine lifes food chain....simple as that. It's a risk people take.
Merry Christmas All.
Will
FollowupID: 303569

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:56

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:56
Yup, me too..

The bloke was the fool, the croc is how old, 1 strike on someone in HIS domain, and its a mega killer?? bleep on that logic, taxi drivers would be extinct....
FollowupID: 303572

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:49

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:49
Unless you blokes have first hand knowledge of this environment and the people who live here and the way life is in this part of the world then I suggest you shut up and keep your inane comments to yourself. Stay in your safe havens of respectability in the suburbs of humanailia and stick to the cliches which you are used to.

This is not a personal comment but, suffice to say, that if you do not know what you are talking about...stay out of it.

Have safe Christmas and take care when typing.

Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 303633

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 01:23

Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 01:23
HUH???????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand............
Not necessarily mechanic!!"
FollowupID: 303635

Reply By: KTM 520 - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 14:12

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 14:12
For the record you clowns (in particular truckster) they wre riding quad bikes and he slipped into the river.... until i know what caused the slip (i ... unlike other clowns here , will reserve my opinion)

You ought check out the info before you go and let fly "with how stupid people can be" attitude.

This bloke was KILLED you idiot, in the prime of his life... show him (and his Mum and Dad ) some respect , they deserve at LEAST that.

How would you feel reading about yopiur son with teh kind of crap eminating from this uninformed post...... after all this is a 4WD based column. (now.... you can ramble on with the the savour quotes of " All 4wd's should be informed of this incident fpr their own good.... SAVE IT , do not try and justify your stupidity) .

Go and take a look at yourself then your son in the mirropr and think what would i like my son to be remembered for ..........????? (certainly NOTa bagging from Wan%%%s, in this column.

Hope you get some sleep wit what you have said....GRREEEEEEEEEEErrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Not happy Jan

As always everyone simply goes off half cocked with what they think is fact....
AnswerID: 41042

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 15:01

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 15:01
Ok, lets rip this dribble to bits... Fun time!

>>> For the record you clowns (in particular truckster) they wre riding quad bikes and he slipped into the river.... until i know what caused the slip (i ... unlike other clowns here , will reserve my opinion)
Bzzzzzz... He was standing in the river and the current was strong and knocked him down. Was on the news, and in the papers. - STANDING IN CROC RIVER... DUMB.

>> You ought check out the info before you go and let fly "with how stupid people can be" attitude.
I got my facts, lets continue eh?

>> This bloke was KILLED you idiot, in the prime of his life... show him (and his Mum and Dad ) some respect , they deserve at LEAST that.
Havent showed any disrespect to his parents, only his stupidity.

>> How would you feel reading about yopiur son with teh kind of crap eminating from this uninformed post..
Uninformed? yea..

>> after all this is a 4WD based column. (now.... you can ramble on with the the savour quotes of " All 4wd's should be informed of this incident fpr their own good.... SAVE IT , do not try and justify your stupidity) .
You can continue with your Savour quotes of "Get your facts straight" too...SAVE IT.. Your an idiot.

>> Go and take a look at yourself then your son in the mirropr and think what would i like my son to be remembered for?? (certainly NOTa bagging from Wan%%%s, in this column.
If you dont like it - leave, quite easy to do, just dont type in the URL of the forum!

>> Hope you get some sleep wit what you have said...
Sleeping Fine, going to a BBQ now, to have a nice afternoon in the sun...

>> Not happy Jan

>> As always everyone simply goes off half cocked with what they think is fact....
You can continue with your Savour quotes of " As always everyone simply goes off half cocked with what they think is fact" too...SAVE IT.. Your an idiot.
FollowupID: 303606

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 17:22

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 17:22
The young bloke on tele said that crocs are not usually found in this part of the river. I guess this croc went walkabout. After a couple of near mishaps when driving on outback roads I now drive to my motto of "expect the unexpected" We should all apply this to crocs as well.I may be mad but I'm not crazy
Hooroo
Ray
FollowupID: 303615

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 20:35

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 20:35
Nineteen-year-olds Shaun Blowers and Ashley McGough were riding their quad bikes with Brett Mann on Sunday when they decided to clean themselves off on the banks of the Finnis River, 40 kilometres (24.8 miles) south of the Northern Territory capital

Blowers said Mann, 22, slipped into deep water and his companions were trying to help him back to shore when the four metre (13.2 foot) saltwater crocodile attacked.

"I went past the croc, I didn't see it, Ashley screamed out 'croc, croc', we just swam to the nearest tree and straight up we went," he told reporters.
you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 303624

Reply By: Member - Tim&jan - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 14:53

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 14:53
carnt make everybody happy but there are too many bloody crocks should be open seasongu bush basha
AnswerID: 41046

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 21:36

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 21:36
Tim and Jan,
you are almost right - there are too many bloody people! Will you be happy when all the crocks are gone and the whole place is chockers with people like India or Indonesia (wher they had open season on the tigers)?Bob
FollowupID: 303627

Reply By: Member - Tim&jan - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 07:20

Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 07:20
whot a crock of bleep
gu bush basha
AnswerID: 41078

Follow Up By: Member - Rick - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 02:02

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 02:02
Sheesh,,,what a load of malarky this thread has, with very few truthfull facts.
lets set this straight shall we?
The great Mr and Mrs Crocodile have been around alot longer than i care to think about. We humans on the other hand are still geting used to the place.
We all make mistakes at some point in our lives, and some of those mistakes can have dire consequences.
These young blokes were in Mr and Mrs Crocodiles back yard having fun on their quads,,,,,,first mistake.
They decided to clean up in a swollen river, knowing that crocodiles love these sorts of places,,,,,,,,,second mistake.
Diving in after their mate, tho extremely comendable,,,,,,,,third mistake.
Mr or Mrs Crocodile see's an opportunity and does what comes naturally, that is to hunt .
My deepest condolences to the family of the young man who lost his life.
I have seen all the news bits and read the papers on this unfortunate incident and have come to one conclusion;
they should have know better and not been there in the first place.

rick.

20 years growing up in the top-end, and a very healthy respect for crocodiles.
ahh, the joys of the great outdoors!!!
FollowupID: 303654

Reply By: ThePublican - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 15:21

Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 15:21
Xmas day afternoon, done all the traditional, ham + eggs+ stubby for breakfast {wifes family old dairy farmers},, opened gifts,visited rellies,,had lunch {oysters +salmon } young lad of 5 having a nap ,wife of to work,,called in to help perform liver transplant,,,,, me,myself,I, sipping some johny walker gold label, and reading the forum,,can only say ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, MERRY XMAS ONE AND ALL,,,.
AnswerID: 41089

Reply By: wizzard - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 18:40

Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 18:40
For the record the river was flooded, the lad went to wash water from his face and did not consider the new sudden steep drop into deep water, he was not a strong swimmer and the other lads went in to assist him.... all that splashing attracted every parent worst nightmare
AnswerID: 41210