Spirit of Tasmania

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 21:05
ThreadID: 9320 Views:2530 Replies:3 FollowUps:2

Hope eveyone has a safe & happy Xmas !

I'm heading off to Tasmania on Boxing day via the "Spirit of Tasmania", I remember reading somewhere that you were not allowed to take Gas Bottles on the ship.

Does anyone know anything about this ?

Phil P

Reply By: Tassie Dave - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 21:47

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 21:47
G'day Phil
There are no worries about taking gas bottles on the boat, if they are not attached to a caravan or camper trailer they place them on a special trailer and you just have collect them when get here. Just make sure you tell them you have gas bottles when they ask, cause I think they can fine you if they fined the gas bottle during a randon search. Have a great christmas and a good time down here.

Oh yeah, you have gas in your bottles.
AnswerID: 41065

Follow Up By: Member Colin - NSW Bungendore - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:39

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:39
Must have changed the Regs - we were on the boat Jan/Feb with 2 small bottles in back of waggon. They just checked the expirery dates.

Hope you have a cabin - we went over at night sitting up - it would have to be the worst night I can remember - we upgradded to a cabin fot the return trip.Subaru Forester
"size isn't everything"
FollowupID: 303631

Follow Up By: Tassie Dave - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:44

Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:44
I also think it depends on who's checking. The last time I went across was in october this year.
FollowupID: 303632

Reply By: Phil P - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 12:13

Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 12:13
Thank for the info. I'm in a cabin, so hopefully will be able to get some sleep.
AnswerID: 41084

Reply By: Brian - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 20:47

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 20:47
G'day Phil
Hope you enjoy your spell in Tass , we are planning same trip late Feb, was told about the gas bottles also all diesel containers have to be emptied . all this info is on your ticket but a lot of people won't read the fine print , probably would have missed it myself except met some helpful people from a caravan club at Binningup caravan park a few weeks ago who told me of this
We are going on the daylight trip , 9 AM till 7 PM , something different .
Have a good one mate
AnswerID: 41140