Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:07
Phil P
Just finished loading the car for the next trip & noticed that the latest VB cans don't stack as
well as the previous cans. The top of the can is narrower.
The beer still taste's the same, especially after packing the car !
I will have to bomabard Fosters in the new year with emails and let them know that they have now created an " unfriendly" Engel can !
Phil P
Reply By: Tassie Dave - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:14
Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:14
Hey Phil, are you packing VB for the trip to Tassie??? If you are better off leaving it at home cause we have the best beer in australia down here, both Boags and Cascade.
Follow Up By: Tassie Dave - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:15
Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:15
no stacking problems with Boags either
Reply By: dingodigger - Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:21
Wednesday, Dec 24, 2003 at 22:21
what about getting onto Engel and telling them your fridge is no good as cans don't fit anymore
might end up with new fridge and more cans
if no good either way:
better get out the old foam esky
Reply By: cozza - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 05:30
Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 05:30
Gday and Merry Xmas Phil P and all the forumites.
I send this reply from Saudi Arabia where VB and alcohol are dirty words. What I would give to have a tinny in my hand at the moment. I guess the home brew will do for now until I am back in Oz.
I have spent the best part of the last twelve months planning my 4wd trip around Oz from over here and have found ExploreOz to be a wealth of information.
Cheers to Truckster, Willem, Michelle and all the regulars of this site for their input.
I am saddened to hear of the VB stacking problem of Phil P as this is my drink of choice after a hard days drive. Will I have to change my plans?...I think not!
Phil P, best of luck, my heart bleeds! lol!!!
Follow Up By: Brett - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 09:42
Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 09:42
Cozza, as an expat in Saudi how do you celebrate xmas over there?
Is there any hint of xmas to be seen in your day to day activities?
All the best to you and you family.
Brett
Follow Up By: cozza - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 20:24
Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 20:24
Hi Brett.
Wife and I are about to head off to another compound for a bit of a Xmas function.
Saudi's are not too concerned about what goes on behind closed doors.
I have noticed the mosques have turned up the prayer call speakers just for a reality check. Nothing can stop us from having a good time, just gotta use some common sense.
Hope you and your family had a great day.
Cozza.
Reply By: Phil P - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 12:21
Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 12:21
I thought this post would "stir the pot" a little !.
I know Tassie has some great beer, but I keep coming back to the good old VB !
Reply By: GOB member vic - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 15:11
Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 15:11
good day and merry christmas to all
the new coke cans are the same canteen lady at one of our maintainence
places was spitting chips they wont stack properly any more
just trying out new adsl santa got me dosnt seem to bad just wish i could tpye quicker
steveimagine a 03 gu 4.2tdin the picture
as i am having trouble sizing the picture
Reply By: ThePublican - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 15:28
Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 15:28
Phil,, carlton have brought out a " waist " shaped can of VB in 12 pack format,, is a ltd edition ,,is this the cause of the problem,,,???????
Follow Up By: Phil P - Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 22:53
Thursday, Dec 25, 2003 at 22:53
No, the latest VB Cans look identical to the previous version, only the top of the can is slightly narrower !
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Dec 31, 2003 at 13:39
Wednesday, Dec 31, 2003 at 13:39
the can makers have hoodwinked the beverage producers into accepting the new can top because it saves the can makers a lot of money and tooling time . The top is the same as the V and red bull slim cans . one top fits all.... And yeah what a bastard to stack and carry now,...Moo... everyone knows what a Jackaroo looks like :-)