Nissan Patrol

Submitted: Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 12:35
ThreadID: 9332 Views:2410 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
What type of vehicle are people talking about when they say they have a Partol GU or some other letters?
Our Patrol is a 3L turbo diesel ST. Can't find any details info handbooks etc which tell me about any other letters etc so don't relly know if our's is a newer version or what it all means. Can someone please explain?

Reply By: Member - Roger - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 13:53

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 13:53
Have a look under the bonnett you will see a compliance plate that will probably read, Y61 Wagon and if so you have a GU Patrol I am pretty sure that the 3ltr td patrol have only been available in GU models. Also just to confuse you more there are series 1 throgh to the current 4 of the GU model.
RegardsDodg
AnswerID: 41121

Reply By: Brian - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:39

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:39
Nissan Patrols from 1988 to about 1997-98 (not sure which) are referred to as GQ, although the correct assignation was Y60
The newer model from 1997-98 is referred to as GU, the correct assignation is Y61
I agree that (I think) 3 litre turbo are only available as a Y61, therefore yours is a GU

Confused????
I think I am
AnswerID: 41126

Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:44

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 15:44
gday kiwibiv.
are you refering to the letters as in gu st ti ect.
im not sure what is what but im sure heaps willyou reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

AnswerID: 41127

Follow Up By: Member - Pluto - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 19:56

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 19:56
The letters DX, ST and TI are indications of the vehicle fix out:

DX is the basic model
ST includes carpets, clothseats, CD etc. all the general general comfort options
TI has all the bells and whistles, leather interior, CD stacker and so on.

Under the bonnet they are pretty much the same.

PlutoGet out there & have Fun!!!
FollowupID: 303688

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 20:39

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 20:39
Look on me page jim, theres a full specs sheet on the GQ..

Did you get that thing I did thru the net?
FollowupID: 303690

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 11:07

Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 11:07
gday truckster.
if we talking disk rotors theres nothing yet.you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 303708

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 11:13

Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 11:13
Check your mail....

It was transferred on the 24/12 to the account details ya missus gave me that are in the mail, check em.
FollowupID: 303709

Reply By: Russell [Pajero] - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 16:34

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 16:34
Its the same old story, Patrol and Lancrusier owners cant cope with standard car model identifyiers numbers so they came up with a more simplified aging system they can understand even if it confuses others.

I mean Ford, Holden and Mitsubishi use a two letter alpha code which ages a car by model run, for instance my Mitsubishi Pajero is a NL mode which makes it about 1999, its not the current shape of the NP.

This mean that when scanning the adds for a vehicle we know by the model number how old the venhicle is, looking at adds for Nissan and Toyota you have to own one to understand what your looking at. Now thats silly, I wonder what that translates to in Nissan/Toyota speak.

I'm not suggesting for one minute that Nissan and Toyota owners are silly but their cars have funny model designators.

MMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!

RTA

Russell
AnswerID: 41131

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 18:11

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 18:11
I rang the Nissan dealership in a mid-north city here in SA and asked the spare parts man for a particular part for my Nissan Patrol G60......after what seemed like about 5 minutes he came back on the blower and said "No, mate, do not have a G60 listed....are you sure it is a Nissan?"

I gave up............no wonder there is confusion..hahahaha..........

Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 303683

Follow Up By: Hux - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 18:42

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 18:42
Poor old Russell must be easily confused. Don't know about the Nissans but the Toyotas are easy to understand.
H= Normally aspirated diesel
F= Petrol
HD=Turbo Diesel
(These have been the same since Adam was a boy..almost)
The number is the model so an 80 series means much the same as yoru Paj...

Not confused yet I hope :-D
So looking at the compliance plate it will have HDJ80 which means its gasp "a turbo diesel 80 series". Since Toyota (& Nissan) make a decent product and don't have to rebirth the model them every 2 years to keep sales up they keep the designators for longer periods.

Willem.....you should have rung your Datsun dealer instead since G60's aren't a Nissan :-))
FollowupID: 303684

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 19:38

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 19:38
Hxx....you are right and wrong...I had to go out and look at the compliance plate......

The vehicle is a Datsun, manufactured by the Nissan Motor Vehicle Company PL Austratralia...good ole Datto..so thats why it is lasting so well??????? :-))))

Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 303687

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 20:40

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 20:40
Hux..

GQ easy

TB petrol
TD Diesel.
FollowupID: 303691

Follow Up By: chrisfrd - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 11:50

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 11:50
That's not too bad....

I dropped by 2001 GUII Y61 3.0TD in for a WARRANTY repair (fu*ked intercooler) and the mongrel behind the counter swore to me that the truck was a GQ 3.0 Petrol.

"mate, how many GQ 3.0 Turbo-petrol Patrols would be coming back for Warranty repairs to their intercoolers?" was the response.

"Ahh.. WHere's your car?"

"It's the only GU wagon that you can see from your window. Can you see it? Give you a hint, it's the only one that towers over the bleep ty pulsars that you have out there!"

" Naa.. Where is it? It's the RED-LOOKING ONE!"

"Naaa.. Where? "

"The one with ARB roof racks and the big antenna on the front!"

"Ahh.. I seen it... Oah.. A GU Turbo.... What engine is that fitted with?"

"Ah you are a fuc*king moron! It's in for a fu*king intercooler and it's a ZD-30. What do you think it is? A 4800?"

"No need to be hostile Mr Ford!"

"You need to get an understanding as to what you are trying to do here.. If you are trying to sell customer service, then you are going about it totally the wrong way."

"I've only been here for 2 months.. I'm still getting used to all the models"

"Mate... I'd be looking for another job. If you can't understand the difference between a GU and a GQ, then there's a big problem"

Walked away....
FollowupID: 303767

Reply By: Russell [Pajero] - Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 20:12

Friday, Dec 26, 2003 at 20:12
I'm really glad to participate in this discussion, from a knowledge point of zero I have now read all our learned particiapants posts and have concluded that I STILL DONT have a clue, geeeeeesh. what a screwy system,

KIWIBIV

I really hope you got something out of this discussion, me I'm just reaching for the cask of red wine and a glass and sitting down with mummy to watch something sensible on TV

World bloody idol contest.

SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIT

RTA

Russell
AnswerID: 41139

Reply By: desray - Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 23:10

Saturday, Dec 27, 2003 at 23:10
The GU patrol is also known as a GR patrol overseas.
AnswerID: 41183

Reply By: Brian - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 07:40

Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 07:40
See... the thing is that Nissans..... (and Toyota's)...(And old Dattos's as well for that matter!!) are REAL four wheel drives who's model runs have traditionally lasted for up to a decade, unlike some of the other "wannabe" 4by's.... the ones who change their "car" every couple of years to try to upgrade it. So a designation like Y60 (or GQ) ran for 10 years or so.... 'cos there was no need to change it!

To find out how old your Nissan is, the plate under the bonnet will have the build date on it. So next time you're checking the oil and water, spend a few seconds more there to locate the year. Now that's nice and easy isn't it?? Yes... us Nissan owners like things nice and easy.... it gives us more time to go out 4bying and touring and watching the Paj's in the mirror!

Just my opinion
AnswerID: 41188

Follow Up By: mattnicole - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 12:35

Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 12:35
Cheers to patrols
FollowupID: 303737