Another 3.0 litre failure

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 13:36
ThreadID: 9353 Views:3079 Replies:15 FollowUps:19
Previously being a strong defender of the GU 3.0 litre diesel,I must now report that my engine at 118,000 has just blown up en route to mallacoota.
The engine warning light flashed, and suddenly copius amounts of blue smoke issued from the exhaust.
By the time I had pulled up the engine was running on two cylinders only and most of the sump oil had disappeared.(indicating blown pistons or ring failure)
The Racv declared engine seized on their report.
This was a 2000 model auto,purchased 7 months ago from a Nissan dealer.
I will register this on the yahoo patrol site who are taking a survey on failures of this type.
Having previously written to Nissan about this model and its reputation, I am fairly confident that they will support their product, as this problem is well known to them.
You will certainly hear more on this subject over the next few weeks.
It is most important that the people affected by this type of occurence keep united by contributing to the survey currently being run on the patrol site.
It may be that some type of class action will be required in future.

Reply By: mik*2 - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 17:58

Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 17:58
aaahhh yes, I'm glad I gave the 3L diesel a miss when I bought my new car recently. How was it treated though, did you do alot of towing? was the engine working hard all the time?
I can't understand how a manufacturer who has spent millions of dollars developing an engine can get it so wrong....

keep us informed...
mike
AnswerID: 41207

Follow Up By: fourby - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 11:28

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 11:28
Thanks for your interest mike,
The truck was only owned by me for 7 months,during which time it was serviced every 5000 km.
Used only for domestic use and the occasional medium club trip.
At the time of failure I was towing a 17 ft van with overdrive off.
Prior to the failure it was running perfectly.
The vehicle returns to the Melbourne dealer tomorrow with Nissan head office notified off my expectations-we will see.
FollowupID: 303766

Follow Up By: AndrewX - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:03

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:03
Give us a break Mik!! Diesel 4wds are meant to thrive on hard work!!
FollowupID: 303800

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 18:15

Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 18:15
Hey Fourby,
Sorry to hear about your failure. BUT its a well known fact that these engines are useless. I can assure you that Nissan have known about this problem for a hell of a long time. But you see they are in what is called a "business" of making money. So basically the way they see it is like this... Lets just keep it under our hats and repair any problems that come forward, the rest we will not have to do anything about.

Sad but true, its how things are done all oer the world. I have worked in the automotive industry for almost 30 years and i find that when it affects YOU then YOU are the only one yelling and complaining about a definate major fault. So they tell you to calm down and we will fix it kinda thing. BUT, if we, the public could find a way to spread the word internationally about the pathetic engine which is fitted to that model patrol, it would really make Nissan change their tactics towards a recall. Last thing they want is the whole world knowing how pathetic the 3.0 ltr engine is as this would stick in the minds of any one wanting to purchase a 4wd. Eventually they would steer clear of Nissan because all they would remember hearing is that Nissan has a problem with the engine, so I'll look at Toyota instead.

But i cant see that ever happening unless a Tv station starts to make announcements on a regular basis informing the public of the fault, but if that ever happened, I'd bet my life that Nissan with mail out a letter to every owner of a 3.0 ltr Nissan sold stating that they will replace the faulty engine with a 2003 model engine.

Im so glad i bought myself a second GQ 4.2. Just an amazing machine indeed.

For all you 3.0 ltr owners out there, this is NOT a letter to tease you, my heart goes out to you all. So please dont think I am here laughing at you. I cant imagine what it would feel like to own a 4b that was about to head off on a long planned trip outback knowing deep in my mind that the engine or gearbox could blow up on me while i was in the middle of no-where.

Regards Angelo
I love it when you talk DIRTY !
AnswerID: 41208

Follow Up By: Wil - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 15:04

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 15:04
Hi guys
Have test driven a 3lts 2001 Patrol B4 and must admit that the engine feels rattlely. Must be asking too much from a 3ltr 4 cylinder to pitch against a 4.2 ltr 6 cylinder.
"There is no substitute for cu.inch" and straight 6s or vee 8s.
That's why there's Prado & there's Land Cruiser.
Good luck with the fix up but I am more worried about it turning to a sick old girl in years to come. Imagine the resale value then :..(
FollowupID: 303774

Follow Up By: chrisfrd - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 20:58

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 20:58
Cokeaddict.

I've got a 3.0 (a 2001) and it seems that the trend for the early-mid 2000's trucks are blowing up due to a series of things;

1) they are previously owned by emergency services as fleet vehicles. They are driven from cold, absolutely flat-out and serviced to the book standard of 15000K's for the oil.

2) They are engines run prior to the sump upgrade.

3) owned by people that don't take the precaution of changing oil (and filter!) every 5000K's.

I have 9 friends that own models from 2000 onwards, only two of these have blown up, both ex Cooma Police and both with histories of outright abuse. One of my mates, a Canberra resident (where most of them seem to be bleep ing out) has his truck (a 2000 build 2001 model) as a daily long-haul driver from Cooma to Canberra each day for work. It's done 203,000K's without so much of a sign of trouble!

Having a look at the engine, after it's failure, it seems that part of the trouble is blocked oil galleries. Hence, if you change the oil every 5K Km's then I don't think that there will be a problem with them.

FollowupID: 303793

Follow Up By: big john - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:36

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:36
i have a 3.0 litre patrol which has been excellent 'it is built october 2002
when did they become gu-3 ,i can't seem to find anything in the books

i love mine so far ,it's been everywhere ,but is scary reading some of the stories

big john
FollowupID: 303803

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:45

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:45
Chrisfrd,
I agree with what your saying, but remember one thing, Nissan is wholly within its rights to void warranty on any vehicle that has not been serviced properly. Its not hard to see the service history once opend up.
But they chose to cover all blowouts. Part of this reason why they cover them is because they know that the engines were not designed to their standards..eg is the sump. But one would think that after 12 months of continuous warranty rebuilds that they would have notified all owners by letter informing them of the major problem. But again as i said earlier, its all dollars to them. The cost of a recall is increadably high, so they, as do all other manufacturers take the easy way out. This also helps keep it all hush hush, so the less people hear of it, the more the chance of sales. Its an ongoing thing thats been happening for years, all manufacturers do it. It will never change.
The only time a public recall is done is when its a safety issue like fuel or brakes. Then they have NO choice but to tell us all about the problem.

My personal opinion is just that...personal, its just 1 view. But its been a hell of a long time and many unsuspecting people have been caught out without any knowlegde of the engine fauts. Its not a nice thing to spend your hard earned dollars on something that should have been fixed after so many months. They are the ones that will spread the bad word out there about how dissapointed they were with the lemon they bought. And thats not good for anyone.

Rememebr one thing mate, we all know the problem exists cause we r die hard 4wd'ers. But i almost bought one a few weeks ago, it was only when i found this forum and i read all the problems that i decided to get another GQ. Im sorry for all those that have been let down. Nissan has a lot to answer for on this issue alone. But try and get in contact with the right person.....good luck, its a huge loop of contacts that takes you right back where you started.I love it when you talk DIRTY !
FollowupID: 303806

Follow Up By: big bear - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 15:36

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 15:36
Gidday fourby,
at the moment we own a Nissan GU 4.2 DX (non turbo) and have found this to be one of the best 4x4's ever owned. Our wagon is a Dec. 99 model and we were going to upgrade in Dec. 2004 to a 3 litre. Used to be a Toyota man ( for 30 years) and the present truck will eat all the Toyotas I have even owned. Now getting a bit worried as we intent to tow an 18ft. van with the 3 litre. Should I buy a Nissan 4.2 turbo instead? Our present truck has not caused one ounce of trouble(touchwood) in 120000 kms, we live inland from Casino and gets well used in state forests. Used BUT never abused, I wonder if that makes a difference. Serviced every 10000 kms( ie oil and filter changes)> Nothing else. Don't want to buy a Toyota as they are full time 4x4 ( a wank) and the base Toyotas are so basic to be barren.
FollowupID: 305418

Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 19:13

Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 19:13
gday fourby.
sorry to heard about your engine failure that sux.
lets ho[pe nissan come to the party.please let us know what they have to say.
but all theese failure gets me thinking.
theres lots of new diesals about over seas that wont come to australia because of bad fuel.would this be the cause of anything???? me wonders.

you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

AnswerID: 41212

Follow Up By: AndrewX - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:01

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:01
No there are many other diesels being used here and none have the appalling record of the 3.0Patrol.
FollowupID: 303799

Follow Up By: chrisfrd - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:25

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:25
Andrewx.

I remember back in 1990's when the 2.8's hit England. They were so bad in terms of reliability, that they stopped selling them for a few months to sort them out... Being a "cold" country, the engine management systems (that is the electronics that operates the tacho/speedo/lights and glow plugs) would burn out and not operate the glows. To this day Nissan hasn't hinted at replacing the modules, but they keep blowing here in Australia!

They were very unreliable, but eventually they released a strong truck (with a underpowerful but strong engine) and everyone still swears by them.

The 3.0 will get there, it's just going to take a little longer than usual!

FollowupID: 305429

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 19:15

Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 19:15
I WANT ONE!
AnswerID: 41213

Reply By: Billy - Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 21:29

Sunday, Dec 28, 2003 at 21:29
I've read here and elsewhere, that Nissan are replacing GUII 3.0Di motors both in and out of warranty if they fail. I have a mate who had a 2000 DX (85K, mostly towing) done, no questions asked. It has been well documented here and elsewhere that Nissan made significant changes to this motor (which they inherited from elsewhere in the empire) with the GU III. They have persisted because, performance wise, it's always been a good thing...

I've also had mates with the HSV Gen III piston slap/oil consumption problem and the Prado engine vibration problem (harmonic balancer fell off!) and neither was as well accommodated.

FWIW, I've had a couple of minor problems with mine, none related to the motor.

All aboard!
AnswerID: 41218

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 00:43

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 00:43
Billy,
Who is Nissan Australia? Do they have a contact email address? Everywhere I search I just get directed back to my local agent, I wanted to contact Nissan Australia to see what they have to say about all these goings on, seeing as I now have one. I have the extended warranty and all that good stuff, but as mentioned that isn't much good in the middle of the bush somehere, when something parts company with something else.
Such a pity to read all this negative stuff, mine at present is fault less and going well. I'm off for a bit of a trip later on in January so I'll find out then I suppose. Keep the shiny side up
FollowupID: 303761

Reply By: fourby - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 11:34

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 11:34
You should write to Mr Andrew Baker ,customer relations manager
Nissan Motor co
locked bag 1450
Dandenong south
vic 3164
AnswerID: 41231

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 12:23

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 12:23
Fourby,

Sorry to hear about the truck. Has anyone heard of the GU3 having probs?

Leroy
AnswerID: 41235

Reply By: Mikef_Patrol - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 14:45

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 14:45
Hi Leroy

If I remember correctly, Nissan did quite a bit of work on the 3.0L motor after the failures started to show up. All this is from memory, but, I think Roly mentioned they changed 27 different components within the engine to strengthen it up.

One of the main components changed was the pistons, which weren't thick enough, and had insufficient oil flow under them for lubrication and cooling.

Don't quote me though, the brain is not as good as it used to be. A search here or on Overlander might reveal more info too!

Like you, I have a 2002 GUIII. I wouldn't worry at this stage, i'm not. AND, if we get lucky, they will have over-engineered them, and they will last for ever LOL. :D

MikeF
AnswerID: 41243

Reply By: Mikef_Patrol - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 15:16

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 15:16
Try these posts

Post 6135

Post 6180

Hope these worked :D

MikeF
AnswerID: 41245

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 10:03

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 10:03
Thanks for the info Mike. I actually don't have one but 2 friends do and both are extremely pleased. I just emphasized the need for regular servicing too them.

Leroy
FollowupID: 303831

Reply By: Brian from Bi-Tron Fuel & Oil Metal Treatment - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 18:06

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 18:06
Hi guys,

If this model has a lubrication problem from overheating then I suggest you check out the current "Press Release" on Bi-tron and contact me.

The Diesel Fuel being used throughout most of Australia since June is doing harm to your fuel systems as well as the lack of lubrication to the top end of your engines.

I can help.

Brian. 525Bi-Tron Fuel & Oil Metal Treatment
AnswerID: 41253

Follow Up By: Brian - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 19:27

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 19:27
"The Diesel Fuel being used throughout most of Australia since June is doing harm to your fuel systems as well as the lack of lubrication to the top end of your engines."

Is this a fact??? Will it affect my GQ TD42?? If so, how??
FollowupID: 303788

Follow Up By: Brian from Bi-Tron Fuel & Oil Metal Treatment - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 20:53

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 20:53
Hi Guys,

I might have been a little too critical about the Diesel Fuel. I meant the Fuel could be creating harm to your engines. BP says it's OK. My information comes from people in the service industry.

FollowupID: 303792

Follow Up By: AndrewX - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:16

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:16
Oh boy Brian what a long winded spiel to sell upper cylinder lubricant. I personally would not use an additive unless it was specifically recommended by either the engine manufacturer, or an oil company and as for all those claims!!
FollowupID: 303802

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 00:39

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 00:39
Brian,
I work for the company you mention and one of the reasons they say it's "ok" is because of the extensive amount of time and money that goes into the development of a "new fuel". I'm with AndrewX, I wouldn't use a fuel additive either, becaue it's an additive you can rarely find out 100% what's in it, usually you can identify about 60% of the contents and that's it.
The new fuel 50 ppm diesel burns cleaner and doesn't degrade your oil as fast as lets say "normal" sulphur content diesel, the engine runs and burns cleaner. The older engines do suffera bit through o rings going hard over a long period of time. Enough said I'm just getting wound up........... Keep the shiny side up
FollowupID: 303812

Reply By: Brian from Bi-Tron Fuel & Oil Metal Treatment - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 20:41

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 20:41
Hi Brian,

Please open my Web Site at www.bi-tron.com.au

Open up the "Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel Fuel" This info should help you understand.

You could even open up "WHY & HOW to use BI-TRON". This will also give you an understanding about the Bi-tron Products.

E-mail me at brian@brianrogers.net

Brian 525Bi-Tron Fuel & Oil Metal Treatment
AnswerID: 41260

Follow Up By: chrisfrd - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 21:29

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 21:29
Brain.

I have BIG issues with your claims and if I was a sceptic I would consider calling you a fraud unless you could backup your statements with proof, directly translated from independent tests, based on the appropriate Australian Standards.

In fact, I'd be saying you are basing a sales pitch on FUD. (Fear, Uncertianty and Doubt).

"A mate called me" "An experienced diesel fitter had concerns and called me" and An Agricultural Engineer in Roma" doesn't bode well with me, or anyone else that has considered what you are trying to sell them! You are being very subjective!

I've seen many "additives" that have no effect (Certian fuel catalyst systems for example - That one appeared on ACA!) and some that are just down-right stupid (such as that oil additive that actually expoused the virtues of PTFE!!)

When lab tested, they all failed.

A challenge...

If you give me independent (the CSIRO for example) research that is capable of positively proving your claims, then you will have a client forever.

A last thought - If these products were all so good, why hasn't Caltex/Mobil/Shell/Penzoil and co picked up your product and started selling it themselves?

I'm not trying to be disrespectful to you or your products, but if you had someone trying to fix a medical problem by waving untested medicines at you, you would want to be checking those medicines very carefully. Too many people are selling "snake oil" and I don't want you to be tarred with the same brush.

Respectfully Yours

Chris Ford.

FollowupID: 303794

Reply By: Brian from Bi-Tron Fuel & Oil Metal Treatment - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:49

Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:49
Hi guys,

I was pretty sceptical before I started using these Bi-tron Products. I have been supplying on the average, about $4000.00 of Bi-tron Products every week for the last 4 years to hundreds of farmers around Australia. These farmers are reordering quite regularly, anything from $500 to $2000 each at a time. Would you spend that sort of money on nothing.

Your loss. Sorry for you.

Brian 525Bi-Tron Fuel & Oil Metal Treatment
AnswerID: 41279

Follow Up By: G.T. - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 12:25

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 12:25
Brian --- Just a suggestion ------ Why don`t you pay to advertise on this forum ? -- instead of using the posts to get your message across.
I think you will gain more credibility this way, as in my opinion you are tying to get a freebe by replying and advertising at the same time.
G.T.
FollowupID: 303852

Follow Up By: Brian from Bi-Tron Fuel & Oil Metal Treatment - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 13:01

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 13:01
You could always check with Michelle Jacka.

It is costing me quite a large sum to have a 12 months advert. in the Exploroz. Which also allows me to have a monthly "Press Release".

If people don't want to reply to me that's their loss. The Bi-tron is not an "additive". As there is NO additive in it.

I believe I can seriously help these people with overheating problems.

I try not to advert. by asking people to contact me directly via my e-mail.

FollowupID: 303856

Reply By: trikidiki - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 06:23

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 06:23
Sorry to hear that your motor failed, The same thing just happened to one of our club members ,one month out of warranty, Nissan decided to fit a new motor and cover it under warranty, they told him if he had to pay for the motor, it would have cost him $17000. They also told him that the motors were made by Renault in Europe and that the original sumps were too small and didnt hold enough oil for Australian conditions, this caused the engine to overheat and destroy itself, and still no recall on vehicles to have the larger sump fitted.
Dick.
AnswerID: 41299

Follow Up By: fourby - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 08:22

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 08:22
This matter has certainly stirred up some interest,which was its purpose as I go into negotiation with Nissan.
For all your information the vehicle had its sump capacity increased before original sale.
I checked this by ringing Nissan with my VIN number who confirmed the upgrade,(any one can do this).
At the time I thought this to be the only problem ,but in later months through this great site and others I became aware of other failures,this prompted me to write to Nissan voicing my concerns.
They replied saying that I would be "given due consideration if the engine failed".
Now it has,and I seek due consideration,if I do not get it I will enforce it through legal action,hopefully supported by others who have suffered the same fate.
But as I stated at the start I believe Nissan will act in a responsible manner.
In regard to additives,who would ever accept a vehicle that has to receive special treatments to operate under australian conditions.
In fact I can not think of a better way to void any warranties that may exist,beside the fact that these machines are supposed to operate under harsh conditions right around the world.
Thanks for all the support and information.I will let you all know the outcome on this site.
Regards fourby (member LROCV)
FollowupID: 303824

Reply By: Mike - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:06

Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:06
I purchased my 3.0 turbo diesel mew in July 2003. I had the 10,000 klm servise completed about 2 weeks ago. 5 days after the service I called the dealer and advise them the engine was making some strange sounds, like piston slap and a hissing noise like a leaking gasket. They advised me to contact road side assist to let them tell what thee problem is, and not to bring it into them. The next dat it died. just stopprd, no noise, nothing. Called road side assist who advised me that the gaers that are driven by the camshaft no longer were. Towwed to servicing dealer ship. Which is another story in very bad customer support ( did you purchase the vehicle here etc). This was just prior to Christmas. Called yesterday to find out the problem, they stated that they had partially stripped it down and Nissan wanted to strip it down further. Stated that are not at the replacing to engine stage as yet, which I thought was a strange comment as this was not mentioned or requested by me and they could not tell me the cause of engine failure. Nissan did give me a replacement small sedan to get around in, me first pay for it (hire) and they will give me reimbursment!
Looking at the problems with these I may look at a Prado changeover. Will keep all posted
AnswerID: 41316

Reply By: dingodigger - Thursday, Jan 01, 2004 at 11:35

Thursday, Jan 01, 2004 at 11:35
have to laugh about the "BI-TRON" or "BRI-TRON" or whatever it is posts on here.

don't think additives have much support or use around here. Interesting debate though. Especially when Russian Scientists have got something to do with it.

To my real point.

I have jul 03 build navara with zd30 engine. As far as the patrol motor 3.0 dramas
go, and apart from me having no intercooler,how else does my engine differ and what has been changed by Nissan on the zd30 over it's time in Australia so far?
With all the problems evident, i am interested to know what Nissan have done to the engine(or havent). If I get any of the problems described at all it will be goodbye nissan for good from me.
dd
AnswerID: 41468