Member - Eskimo
i could make a baby in the time its taking to load Wow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
Reply By: Member - JohnR - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 22:23
Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 22:23
Make a family this morning then Eskimo. Could not locate it at allRegards
JohnR - Not enough of the right travelling, some here..... some over there.......
Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Vic) - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:56
Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:56
Wasn't there for me for at least 2 hours. I could ping the site but it just wouldn't load. Same thing yesterday morn.I may be mad but I'm not crazy
BEAM ME UP SCOTTY
Hooroo
Ray
Reply By: Member - Ken - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 22:36
Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 22:36
Eskimo and others
I have been watching the posts of late re this subject and thought, yeah!
well they must have a 'technically challenged' ISP etc etc etc. whilst I am lucky enough to have OPTUS cable in
Melbourne.
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeel! the last two days has been hit and miss on good old EXPLOROZ with the refresh doing nothing to assist nor a reload of Explorer. Also, flicking back and
forth using the 'back' button has been totally useless on occassions.
Every other URL that I have tried at the same time works like a dream, that Cable is supposed to be.
David, is it something to do with too many users at once trying to access your server.
Ken Robinson
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 01:40
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 01:40
Ken,
Can you tell me what does or does not work - Does the top part of the page load ie. the menu, do you get a white screen for ages. I cannot fix what I cannot find - I had a post like this last week and went about changing loads of code on the system trying to isolate a problem - I even re-wrote the
forum databases and changes the way the whole thing runs - maybe I made it worse (should not have though it was a good change and showed positive improvement on my dev system). Anyway any info would be good as it is I am nowing going over the code changes again to make sure I did not leave anything wrong. Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
--------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)
Reply By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:26
Monday, Dec 29, 2003 at 23:26
You had better not spring into the baby factory if you don't want a spring baby.
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 00:53
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 00:53
I have seen a large number of failure events today and I have requested action from the ISP. I have no idea how anyone can say there has been problems for 2 hours - I have a server in my office that monitors the site all day every 2 mins in fact and looks for page loading and performance. I have as I said seen a number of issues in the last two days however there has not been any occasion where the system has been un responsive for more than 10 mins at a time.
Basically from the monitoring today we have had the following:
10:51 - 10:56
11:00 - 11:03 - System reboot
12:44 - 12:46
12:55 - 12:57
14:44 - 14:46
18:55 - 19:06
25 mins total for the 24 hours till now. Yes the is not good and I am investigating but please stop posting these posts in the
forum and tell me via email. I need to also know the time of the problems that you experience.Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 03:47
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 03:47
Oh - Can you guys do me a favor when you think it is performing bad please have a look at a non
forum page - Try the Home,
Shop or Trader page and see if these are better. I am trying to work out if it is the database size of the
Forum system or if it is something else. Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 10:57
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 10:57
David, we tried all avenues last night, as initially, we were after road closures and conditions in north Qld. All other pages were very slow to open as we clicked into the Trader etc. We have the site in our favourites, and when that didn't work, we tried the search engine but that was just as slow. Only a passing hiccup. Jen
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:10
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:10
Do you remember what time this was?
I started a few processes off after I was alerted to the problems and these did have an impact on the system for about 2 hour 12:30AM - 2:30AM QLD time.
Thanks for the feedback!Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:17
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:17
I think it was around 9.00 - 10.00 pm, as in the time it wouldn't work we were trying to shrink another photo of our rig for the site, on this new computer, to no avail :-(
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:27
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:27
Send me the pic in email if you like with your member number and password - I will sort it out if you wish.
Thanks for the feedback.Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:36
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:36
OK, THANKS, I will do that, as I am sitting here getting frustrated, trying yet again, in the heat of this office, and want to get out in
the pool. Thanks heaps, Jen
Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:12
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:12
gday eskimo.
20 seconds for page to load not bad lolol
have a good one mate.
you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:31
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:31
20 secs that is a little slow - I must admit I run 1.5MB DSL and it takes about 1 - 2 secs to load a page when it is happy and no one is using the system. It is generally around 3-5 secs per page and this is what I expect from the system - As always it depends on so many variables: your computer system speed, line speed, ISP backbone performance, our servers performance and then my bloody codes performance. I only can control one of these areas so at times it is a bit of a hit/miss exercise.
Anyway if you are happy then I am very happy - thanks for the feedback and you also have a good one.Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:33
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:33
Its only taking a second and at most 2 secs to load now but last night it was slow
was taking longer than the time it takes a duck to waddle 50 metres ....about 2 mins for those humans who dont know Wow! am I cute
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:36
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:36
It appears that something has happened in the last few days - I have passed it back to the ISP to investigate and hopefully someting will come from their investigations - I will let you all know - Please let me know how it is going if it goes this bad again - drop me an email as I always look at the email system and it would be great to be able to see the problem myself.Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:46
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 11:46
forgot to say i have Agile Dexterous Speedy Legs (adsl) too so the pages should have been loading reasonably fast but last night it painfully slow. Wow! am I cute
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 16:37
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 16:37
It only took about 30 seconds to load for me . Does that mean somthing about having a baby.
EricCape
York Connections
Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 22:33
Tuesday, Dec 30, 2003 at 22:33
what do you do!......superman?Wow! am I cute
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2003 at 08:19
Wednesday, Dec 31, 2003 at 08:19
Yer! Whats ya secret to lasting that long! And can you market it?Laterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral