HEY ERIC - Car Valuations

Submitted: Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 14:58
ThreadID: 9450 Views:1532 Replies:3 FollowUps:16
Eric or anyone in Melbourne.

You may know someone who does car valuations for insurance??

Ideas??

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 15:04

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 15:04
Truckster, Eric is away for a couple of weeks, refer post a few days ago.Dare to Lead not to Follow
AnswerID: 41561

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 15:10

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 15:10
yea just saw that...

Insurance company want to enlarge my anus...

They will only insure accessories for $8000.. Worked mine out replacement to be over $15000..

To do this they want the car valued by independant scumbag thats paid by insurance companies to rip us off...

The value of the car is good, the premium is good, the value of accessories is unacceptable.
FollowupID: 304066

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 16:58

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 16:58
To do this they want the car valued by independant scumbag thats paid by insurance companies to rip us off...

Thats pretty harsh description of someone just doing a job!

What about the "scumbags" that continually rip off insurance companies & make our premiums skyhigh? If these people didn't keep claiming for things that they never owned, maybe the insurers would be more trusting!
Usually people are only critical of valuers when they don't agree with their idea of what their own possessions are worth!
FollowupID: 304074

Follow Up By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 18:09

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 18:09
Nup, insurance companys are scumbags. :-)
FollowupID: 304079

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 18:18

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 18:18
no your wrong there not scum bags there big scum bagsyou reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 304081

Follow Up By: Brian - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 19:58

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 19:58
No...they're people doing their job!
They're being "scumbags" because over the years so many people have frauded insurance companies that they have to do the job to the Nth degree to stay in business.
How many people have heard someone bragging of how they ripped off an insurance company?? And of those that have, did you call the "ripper-offerer" a scumbag???? Bet ya didn't!! Bet ya looked at him/her with something akin to admiration in your eyes....

But they're the real scumbags!!!!

Just my opinion
FollowupID: 304084

Follow Up By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 20:12

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 20:12
Nah, real scumbags are parking meter inspectors! LOL
FollowupID: 304086

Follow Up By: Brian - Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 07:57

Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 07:57
Kev,
Can't argue with that mate!!!!!!!!
ROTFLMFAO!!!!!!
FollowupID: 304109

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 21:03

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 21:03
"Thats pretty harsh description of someone just doing a job!"

So you think they would be on the side of the customer or the insurance company if it came to it?

If they were on the customers side ONCE, they would lose their job, its not hard to figure out.

Insurance companies have 4wds bent over a rail now that TCIS/CGU have pulled the pin... They can ask for EVERYTHING and anything and charge you what ever on the planet they like. Ive had quotes from $550 up to nearly $2000, and some have an $1800 YES EIGHTEEN HUNDRED AUSSIE DOLLAR Offroad Excess!!!!

CGU Themselves WONT do ANY lift anymore... APparently Via TCIS they will do a small lift, which is 1inch....
AnswerID: 41590

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 21:07

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 21:07
And
"Usually people are only critical of valuers when they don't agree with their idea of what their own possessions are worth!"

What are they supposed to think? Yipeee?

Isnt the idea of Insurance to replace things when they get stolen or Damaged...??

So an assessor tells you your $25,000 of accessories are worth $5000, what would you think?? Would you buy him a box of chocolates?
FollowupID: 304089

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 21:34

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 21:34
gday mr truckster.
have you actually checked with cgu about the lift .
we dont have any problem and its writen on our policy.you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 304092

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 22:01

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 22:01
YES I HAVE, Called TCIS and CGU and MOther nature.. they all said sod off.

this is the 4th time Ive tried replying to this PHKOUEWPO#*U@)#($_)@*&_)#$(@ing thing

The page cannot be displayed
There is a problem with the page you are trying to reach and it cannot be displayed.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Open the www.exploroz.com home page, and then look for links to the information you want.
HTTP 500 - Internal server error
Internet Explorer
FollowupID: 304096

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 23:04

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 23:04
4WD's aren't the only thing suffering from insurance price hikes since 9/11

I am in the Marine industry, & yes, I do insurance valuations! I have never had an insurance company try to influence any of my valuations.
The cost of marine insurance has risen heaps as well, & like 4WD's if you modify the vessel & increase the underwriter's risk you will pay higher premiums & higher excess. The reason for the higher excess is to make you think twice before doing something stupid ...... have we ever heard "doesn't matter ...... it's insured"?
FollowupID: 304101

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Monday, Jan 05, 2004 at 01:10

Monday, Jan 05, 2004 at 01:10
What you need to remember with accessories is
that it's not new for old ,(it should be) for ins. purposes I think they are depreciated
over X years.
I also heard that 4WD Vic is talking to RACV to take on 4WD's as a seperate catagory.

CheersPrado TD Auto
FollowupID: 304225

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 00:43

Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 00:43
noticed john masssoud in the latestaus 4wd monthly
sourced via racv in melb.
dont know him but i seen the article
maybe u did as well?
$110 may well save ya thousands1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
AnswerID: 41608

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 09:14

Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 09:14
Yes Toonie, I saw that article too, seemed to me like a bit of an ad for TCIS. Maybe I am too suspiciousLaterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
FollowupID: 304111

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 04, 2004 at 08:57

Sunday, Jan 04, 2004 at 08:57
RACV were the people I left............"Shopfront" says "YES we look after 4WDers", but on serious questioning it's "Well, actually, no you can't do/have that...." as far as simple mods go (tyres, any spring/body lifts, etc.)

Pure marketing

Caveat emptor.
FollowupID: 304150

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 04, 2004 at 09:08

Sunday, Jan 04, 2004 at 09:08
AAMI are very good to us insurance wise, as long as we're not on a club run (with associated higher risk) or competition work we're coveredLaterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
FollowupID: 304151

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 04, 2004 at 16:23

Sunday, Jan 04, 2004 at 16:23
Go back through the archives and pull up my loooong thread on AAMI. Being IN a club is reason enough for them to knock back a claim, unless you can catagorically prove that the other people in your group are not affiliated with the same club as you are in. Any organised group of individuals constitutes a club as far as they are concerned (such as organising a trip through this forum).
FollowupID: 304184