Waeco icebox

Submitted: Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 14:59
ThreadID: 9451 Views:4260 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
Hi there, have been scanning the site and see there's been several discussions re icebox's - wondering if someone can help me.

Due to budget constraints I'm thinking about a waeco 100ltr icebox rather than a 12v fridge. I've had a look on their site and a demo model can be bought for a significant saving over a new one. There's no warranty on the demo but it is promised that all are in perfect working order with the odd scratch etc.

We're a family of 4 that camp for anything from a weekend to a few weeks, if anyone in a similar situation has got a 100ltr fibreglass icebox can you tell me if you've found it the right size? Has anyone bought a demo from the waeco website and if so how did you find the experience?

Thanks very much.

Reply By: whale - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 15:57

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 15:57
we have had our present icebox for about 6 months. with a large block of ice in the bottom and 2 bags of crushed over the top we have still had ice 7 days later that was with temp's around 30-32c along the murray. there were 2 adults and 2 teens. we had plenty of room in the ice box. will admit this is the second one the first was replaced under warranty when cracks developed in the inside back corner after 3 months. but it was replaced immediately with no hassles. with the block of ice it was 2 * 4 litre ice cream containers which was about 1/2 gone after the 7 days. note that if you are going to isolated areas ice can be hard to find.

happy camping

Whale
AnswerID: 41566

Reply By: Dave from Fraser Coast 4WD Club - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 17:50

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 17:50
Evakool ice boxes are the duck's guts!!
AnswerID: 41575

Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 18:17

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 18:17
gday jimmy.
theres also tropical ice boxes even cheaper.
tried our out over new years.was only gone 2 days and heaps of ice left over.you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

AnswerID: 41579

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 00:31

Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 00:31
me thinks ya didn't open it enough to get drinks so no melted ice
yeah baby
pies in the everglades?
wtf?1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
FollowupID: 304105

Reply By: flappan - Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 22:09

Friday, Jan 02, 2004 at 22:09
I've got a 65l Waeco Icebox and its brilliant.

Block Ice will work far better then party ice.

Oh yeah, our family is 6. Size is good for us.
AnswerID: 41595

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 09:06

Saturday, Jan 03, 2004 at 09:06
TIP:
If you have a freezer make your own ice....it will be around -20 (or colder -23 if you set the dial to max) and it lasts a hellofalot longer compared to block or crushed purchased at local or ice store which is around -12 to -15.

Have put 12 tinnies in my 100 litre full of -23 ice and when i arrived at destination some 200 klm away the tinnies had to left in the sun to thaw out Wow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
AnswerID: 41625