early cruisers

Submitted: Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 06:18
ThreadID: 95252 Views:4947 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Image Could Not Be FoundHi all,
I have come into the posession of an early 1961- 1965 FJ40 landcruiser that has been parked since 1980. It has some rust issues and I was wondering if anyone has see an old cruiser laying around somewhere (preferably in Qld) and maybe have contact details so I could follow it up.
I want to do a full back to new restoration as it is completely unmolested including the optional bumper mounted hand winch.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

Reply By: aussiedingo (River Rina) - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 07:16

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 07:16
Image Could Not Be Found Image Could Not Be Found Image Could Not Be Found G'day T B, welcome to the oldie L/C club, I also last week purchased a 1980 HJ45 ute - has not been touched or driver for over 10 years! Really great condition, I am in the process of preparing it for registration, easy fix. This is to add to my 1979 FJ45 ute, 351 V8 - 5.8 litre! had a very professional conversion. Lotsa cheap new parts on ebay for these early cruisers. Have fun & good luck with your project. If I can help in any way, please pm me, hoo roo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 484594

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 17:45

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 17:45
Hi Dingo,
Not new to the club mate, this old girl is cruiser #61 for me
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 759905

Reply By: Member - OnYaBike - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 09:32

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 09:32
I had a Dawn hand winch on a 1960 Series II Landrover in the early 70's.
I only used it once but it got me out of trouble. Nearly busted a gut!
AnswerID: 484603

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 12:03

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 12:03
Tour Boy - I don't think you're going to find a good old FJ40 being sold for parts with a good body.
Like all Jap stuff, the body falls apart on them long before the drivetrain does. You'd be better off to spend some time repairing/replacing the rusty sections.

These very early model Landcruisers are scarce, and very collectable - and they have a serious amount of design changes as compared to the later models.

So, be careful what you purchase, and make sure it will fit, if you want to do a "correct" restoration.
If you start fitting lots of later components, you'll lose any value as an early "collectable" FJ40.

Here's a great reference photo for the real early FJ40. The early ones didn't have full-floating rear axles, I think they appeared about 1965.

http://www.carmodder.com/gallery/image_page.php?album_id=498&image_id=5783

I did see an ad for one for parts, earlier in the weekend, now I can't find it for love nor money. It may have sold. It was looking pretty neglected, sitting under a tree.

A couple for sale on eBay recently - the user name seems to indicate a dealer. Neither of these sold on eBay, it appears the owner just withdrew them from sale.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&_trksid=p4340.l2557&clk_rvr_id=337489287887

Gumtree is worth watching for FJ40's - http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-fj40/k0

Cheers - Ron.
AnswerID: 484619

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 12:13

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 12:13
Sorry about the eBay link not working. This link is the right one:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&_rdc=1&_trksid=p4340.l2557&item=300696539079
FollowupID: 759889

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 16:06

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 16:06
Dunno about the FJ40's, but there's a good looking 60 series, with 12-HT motor for sale in Launceston.

Only $9K!!!

FollowupID: 759896

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 17:42

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 17:42
Hi Ron,
Thanks. I had a 1961 FJ40 that was ex snowy scheme and still had the Theiss bros sticker on the dash.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 759904

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 13:11

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 13:11
If any of you guys are looking for a PTO winch off a FJ40 send a PM as I have one here.
Cheers Dave.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 484625

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 17:13

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 17:13
Dave, I've got the bits of a HJ47 lying around at the moment - not sure if much can be translated over to the FJ40 - had someone pick the barn doors and bonnet a few weeks ago...
AnswerID: 484647

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 06:04

Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 06:04
Hi Scott, Most bits are the same for similar year models but the earlier trucks are quite a bit different but thanks I'll send you a MM if I need you to measure something if thats ok.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 759956

Reply By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 17:57

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 17:57
Has the Bus moved on?
looks like some one has already up graded the windscreen frame to a late 60s & early seventys model as my old girl had a one vent in bottom, but I must say have not seen an old split bonnet for a while
I have a set of the side lights the ones that are between the bonnet & guard & a few of the quick cam catches that quickly remove the roof, has it still got the 3 speed & the jap version of the chev 232cubic inch engine, watch if you change the guards the later do fit but are a bit wider to make them legal for free wheeling hubs, I will have a look in the shed I think I still have a set of selectra hubs to suit (the ones that need a big screwdriver to engage)
The winch looks like a Dawn (not Original) & I may have a ratchet to suit (old pipe cutter ratchet modified)

good luck
AnswerID: 484652

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 23:57

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 23:57
Vince - Not sure what the story is there on the windscreen frame on Tour Boys rig. Someone may have just welded up the vent. The roof appears to have the ribs running down it, which makes it original and a very early year of build ('61-'62?).

You don't happen to have an original bumper for one of these early FJ40's do you? They are nearly impossible to find.

The Dawn hand winch isn't exactly a standard 4WD accessory of the period, but I guess someone put one to good use. Someone's probably wondering where their boat winch went to!

Cheers - Ron.
FollowupID: 759952

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 06:10

Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 06:10
Hi Vince,
Yep the bus has been doing day trips up cradle mountain for nearly 2 years now.
Where are you I might be able to meet you on the weekend on the way thru to the blue mtns to pick the old girl up.
Still is the 3 speed and original never touched donk battery and dare I say some tyres.
The hand winch was a dealer option at the time (in the US anyway) however most people went for the warn high mount (as you would)
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 759957

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 06:12

Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 06:12
Hi Ron,
As far as I know the screen is original as is everything else which is why I think it is a 65. The FIL can't read the year on the tag and I don't have the chassis # to check on SOR
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 759958

Reply By: Nutta - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 20:53

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 20:53
That old girl looks near identical to the one my dad bought when we first come to qld in 74!

That thing took us all over fraser, straddy and everywhere else camping, back when you could drive onto main beach and down the southport spit for a weekends camping and tailor fishing, they were the good old days!

And I must say it was pretty hard to beat in the bush too, went everywhere.

Makes me wanna buy one for a resto, good luck with it!
AnswerID: 484669

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 22:29

Monday, Apr 30, 2012 at 22:29
From memory the fuel tank was under the seat.
FollowupID: 759939

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 06:14

Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 06:14
Hi Nutta,
the tank was under the seat until 1979 IIRC but there are about 5 different tanks that I've seen.
Buy one if you can find one.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 759959

Follow Up By: Nutta - Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 08:48

Tuesday, May 01, 2012 at 08:48
I remember ours springing a leak, prolly from rust and we had to fill it with a cake of soap!
FollowupID: 759964