Solar wiring question

Morning everyone,

Ok so I recently purchased a 140w solar kit from bit_deals. I am currently looking at replacing the stock regulator and wiring but I have some questions I'm hoping people can answer for me.

The solar panels will be powering a 110ah agm in a battery box. The box is fitted with two Andersons. I will be mounting the regulator on the side of the battery box.

Originally I had been planning on running cable from the regulator to one of the Andersons and then from the other Anderson to the fridge. But now I am aware that you can run the fridge and other accessories from the load terminals on the regulator. Is there any benefit in doing this? Also if I were to do this would this simply mean that the positive and negative wires from the fridge would just run strait off the load terminals on the regulator and not need to be connected to the battery directly at all??

Sorry for all the questions, I am just a bit new at all this solar/12v stuff.

Ps we can assume that I will be using either a Steca 2020 or one of the 20a Juta MPPT's.

Any help is appreciated.

Simon
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, May 04, 2012 at 08:06

Friday, May 04, 2012 at 08:06
I would run the fridge straight from the battery.
AnswerID: 484938

Reply By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Friday, May 04, 2012 at 08:37

Friday, May 04, 2012 at 08:37
Hi Simon,

as long as the fridge current remains below the specced max output current of the solar regulator, you could use its load terminals to take advantage of the solar regulator's built in low volt cutout function.

But if the fridge already comes with a low voltage cutout built in, it's better to wire it up to the battery terminals.

BTW none of the two solar regulators you mentioned are true MPPT units.

True MPPT solar regulators can achieve higher charging amps especially under cool/cold ambient temperatures.