tyre preasure

gday. im new to the 4wd thing and i was wandering what tyre preasures to use on coregated roads. I know that 20 psi works great on the sand and rocks ,but i am wandering how low you can go before you start having problems with tyres breaking beads etc. Ive heard alot of different things but would like to hear from people who have tested it. I will be towing a van and would need to know if tyres work in the same way on the trailers etc
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: River Swaggie - Friday, May 04, 2012 at 19:57

Friday, May 04, 2012 at 19:57
Hiya Trev

depends on the tyre but in sand down to about 10psi some may say 8psi...It also depends on the way you drive too...Take it slowly,dont spin the wheels the tyres will come off then...

If your stuck take out a few psi at a time,there's no hurry generally lol...

Heres a rough idea...

Goodluck
AnswerID: 484974

Follow Up By: Trev&Ness B - Friday, May 04, 2012 at 20:07

Friday, May 04, 2012 at 20:07
cheers for that

would it be worth runing tubes in the tyres. the only thing i think could be a problem is ripping the valve stem off when you give it some stik. Would you run the tyres that low on coregations?
FollowupID: 760253

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Friday, May 04, 2012 at 20:36

Friday, May 04, 2012 at 20:36
Hiya Trev

I wouldn't and refuse too...My main area of travel is Dargo,Licola,Butcher Country,Walhalla,Woods Point etc etc...

Get yourself a ARB Tyre repair kit...There about 60 bucks from memory....Also because of the rocky/shaley areas i go the tyre has become unseated in heavy rocky ledge areas,so it lets out about 2 psi over a day or possibly a bit more,just take the Tyre down to be reseated...A couple of times there been quick in suggesting the inner tube route...until i tell them what i want,knowing it wasn't a puncture....

"Would you run the tyres that low on coregations? "