100 series V8 fuel economy

Submitted: Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 18:48
ThreadID: 95460 Views:4813 Replies:10 FollowUps:26
Has anyone out there ever heard of changing to differential ratios in a V8 100 series to improve fuel economy?

Reply By: howesy - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 19:33

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 19:33
you would have to change both front and back ratios to match and then with the highway diff you would possibly sacrifice a small amount of 4WD capability at a cost of around $3000 to $3500 to do bearingas etc as well as crown and pinion.

I reckon a better option by the time you did all that explore the aftermarket overdrive systems or find the talles 5th gear you can get and have it fitted. I changed 5th gear in a tremec box paid $800 but there is a little more labour in a cruiser but then maybe yours is auto.
AnswerID: 485378

Reply By: chisel - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 20:34

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 20:34
If you are running a manual, sell it and buy a 5-speed auto - then you'll be doing around 2000rpm at 100kph.
AnswerID: 485391

Follow Up By: Tomkat1 - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:27

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:27
i have thought about this and is a good idea cause i have heard they are better for 4wding as well
FollowupID: 760648

Follow Up By: Tomkat1 - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:37

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:37
would it be worth changing out my manual for an auto trans if possible?
FollowupID: 760650

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 18:44

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 18:44
Have run them both in parallel (my Auto & Manual 4800 petrol Patrols) and result is about 20% more fuel used by the auto 4wding and about 5% less when cruising, the manual is better overall.

Runing 34 inch 255/85/16 tyres or equivalent was the way to win.

FollowupID: 760737

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:01

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:01
The easiest thing to do is put larger tyres on it ie 33" (285x16x8) or 35" (don't know what this equates to in metric).

Just as a side issue have you compared the vehicle speedo against a GPS?
AnswerID: 485393

Follow Up By: Tomkat1 - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:25

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:25
i already have 33" tyres and have compared my speedo to GPS my speedo is about 5k's an hour too fast but i am still doin about 2800 revs at 110kph
FollowupID: 760646

Reply By: GT Campers - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:29

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:29
you will not improve economy by dropping revs as the engine will be working harder per rev and require more fuel. These things are geared and tuned for economy at part-throttle/light-load cruise

My mate sees 12s with his - not bad for 2500-ish kegs, I reckon
AnswerID: 485404

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 22:04

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 22:04
12s !!!! as in like what you will get out of a 4 cyl turbo diesel ute = v8 petrol land cruiser .....I think hard to comprehend ...
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 760658

Follow Up By: GT Campers - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 09:04

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 09:04
He's just told me better than that: Highway cruise Sydney/Byron. 738km to his main (80L) tank, running it until it conks out. That's in the 10s. His vehicle is 2003 4-sp auto, naked - no racks or barwork - had three kids and all thier crap on board. Now, I didn't do the fills or measurements but this bloke is a builder and logs all his fuel in his car and tipper

FollowupID: 760681

Follow Up By: chisel - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 14:50

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 14:50
Is he talking about the TD? I've never heard of a V8 petrol 100 series getting 10s.
FollowupID: 760709

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 19:58

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 19:58
Or it's down hill all the way .....
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 760742

Follow Up By: GT Campers - Friday, May 11, 2012 at 11:36

Friday, May 11, 2012 at 11:36
Folow up to correct my error: LC100 main tank is 95L (not 80) so my mate's figure calculates to 12.8 ('in the 12s' is what he told me) not in the 10s as I wrongly calculated :(

Not bad for a 2500+ keg 4WD with smooth highway running.. in contrast,. I've done 28+ Litres per 100 kays when towing with a LC100!

FollowupID: 760793

Reply By: Member - nick b - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:51

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 21:51
Tomkat1 , A very interesting subject fuel economy out of a v8 100 series . I have been looking at this as we are about to do a big trip in our v8 , In regards to changing diff ratio ... are you running STD wheel size & type , If you like me have changed for a 285 75 16 up from STD 275 or 270 some say that will use more fuel .... engine working harder to drive car a long !! so are think of going witch way in the diff ratio higher RPM @ 100k's or lower RPM @ 100 k's ? I have gone digger tyres on this car aswel as my turbo diesel ute both have used more fuel than STD also tyre type I.E car tread type or mud tread , roof rack . But I think fuel type makes a big difference we have been using BP 98 & are finding it running a lot better . Today I had it dyno,ed , the report showed that all was good ,I also have had it at toyota for work & checked out also all good to .
How many K's do you get out of a STD tank or l/p 100ks .. ..some say they are getting under 15 L /p 100ks ..... I wished .....17 for me heavy bull bar winch no rack .... I think most are talking around 22 when towing ..,... It dozent matter how I drive it I cant get much better than that . I will be looking forward to the reply's on this thread

cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 485406

Follow Up By: Tomkat1 - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 22:27

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 22:27
I run 285/75r16 cooper stt tyres. On standard unleaded i generally get about 20L/100 and between 16.5 and 18 on premium unleaded. I have found it doesnt make much difference if the vehicle is loaded or not. My car has most of the fruit on it. Bullbar, winch, dual batteries, roofrack, awning, couple inches of lift
FollowupID: 760661

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 23:00

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 23:00
yes i agree with that Tomkat...also I think if it was possible to get 12 /15 l/p 100 the 100 series v8 they wouldn't be cheeeeap to buy !!!!

Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 760664

Reply By: Jeff P - Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 22:30

Wednesday, May 09, 2012 at 22:30
plain and simple dont waste your money the money you spend will never be recouped an exhaust may help but still at what cost!!!
Jeff
AnswerID: 485409

Follow Up By: GT Campers - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 09:10

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 09:10
yEP, $2000 or whatever to save 1L per 100 kays will buy a LOT of extra fuel.

The tricks to saving fuel are smooth driving, no bars or other aero impediments and high tyre pressures
FollowupID: 760682

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 20:29

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 20:29
Interesting about no bars. We recently picked up and 99 se Jack for my 16yo as his first car.This car came completely orinigal and with mild ats. On the way home from Singleton to Bathurst this vehicle used 31.6l to cover 290ks. This was with my son driving on his Ls so speed waas around 80. I also told him to mainly use 4th unless coating down hill. I workede this out to 10.9/100 pretty good I thought. On the trip up in my jack I used 38l but I was in a hurry and have B/bar and more aggro lt ats on.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 760745

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 06:14

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 06:14
It still has me confused as to why people buy a 3t truck and expect it to be able to get suzuki swift economy. They are what they are in all makes and models.

I know that I certainly don't expect any of my fourby's to get better than about 12l/100.

The V8 is less stressed as is and a 4cyl TD is working hard to push the weight around so in general when towing the economy of these is not good either.

You could always go injected LPG in the V8 if it concerns you that much.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 485416

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 11:47

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 11:47
Tour boy - Yep - it's got me beat, why people buy 4.5 litre petrol V8's fitted to 3 tonne 4WD's - and then whine about fuel economy?????

If you're worried about fuel economy, buy a Barina!!

Cheers - Ron.
FollowupID: 760693

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 20:26

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 20:26
Ron , This is a forum and that is what it's for , you can call it whining if like but its a discussion ..... not forgetting Tomkat Question ....
I want to know why some are claiming to get 12's when the best i can get is 16 .
and thats a big difference from 500k's to 730 k's out of a 95 litre tank . not whining discussing ....and by the way its not a 4.5 L its 4.7 litre .....

cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 760744

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 22:50

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 22:50
Nick - Well, the key word is "claiming". I've heard all kinds of BS about fuel consumption over many decades, and 9 times out 10, the figures are "pub talk". People brag about great fuel consumption figures, like they brag about conquests in the sack.
Until you do deadly accurate, side-by-side fuel consumption comparisons, you could argue until sunup about who's getting the best fuel consumption.

Basically, it comes back to any number of factors. Primary amongst these factors is driving style. If you jack-rabbit away from the lights, then hang on the anchors at the next set of lights, you'll hog the fuel. If you vary your speed constantly, rather than keep the pedal steady, then fuel consumption goes up. If you use cruise control, fuel consumption sufffers.

If you don't keep your tyre pressures spot on, your fuel burn will increase. The amount of kms the vehicles covered (low kms vehicles are still tight) and even wheel bearing tightness, affect fuel consumption. Along with many other variables, such as terrain, prevailing winds, and the amount of "junk" carried around in the car (some people carry 50 or 60kgs of useless, unnecessary stuff around with them) will all affect the amount of fuel used.

So ... until you can get the "braggers" side by side with your vehicle, and do fill-up to fill-up comparisons over the same route, at the same time - I'd be taking the "excellent" fuel consumption reports with the proverbial grain of salt.

Cheers - Ron.
FollowupID: 760769

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Friday, May 11, 2012 at 21:43

Friday, May 11, 2012 at 21:43
Very good Ron... thanks , That is very much the same as what the Dyno guy & toyota said to me re fuel consumption...B.S ....ask them to prove it !!!!!

cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 760845

Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 10:55

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 10:55
Tomkat

There is an enormous amount of information The LCOOL website about V8's and fuel consumption. (you will need to register).

I have a 2004 V8 5sp auto that I have owned since new. It is also on injected LPG.

110 kph 2100 rpm on 31" and 2000rpm on 33" (within a coee)

I have a set of 285/75/16 (33's) Cooper STT for bush and extended outback trips and I run 275/70/16 (31s) duellers for most of the time.

Touring on the 31s on petrol I can get down to 13.5 ltr per 100, that is touring speeds mostly 100 and not exceeding 110, 14.5 and 15 ltrs per 100 on LPG.

Touring on the 33's goes up to 14.5 petrol and 16.5 on LPG.

Daily drive on 31s 15.5 petrol and 18 on LPG.

Please note that the Cooper STT real size is more like 34" not 33" even though they are 285/75/16.

The 285/75/15 is the carcass size and the tread is additional. That is why mud tyres are taller than highway tyres, the cooper website used to state that the STT were 40mm taller than the road tyres of the same carcass size.
AnswerID: 485439

Reply By: Shaver - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 14:09

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 14:09
V8 Fuel consumption is not necessarilly governed by vehicle weight. For instance I had a Falcon BA XR8 that I could never get any better than 12 - 13lph on a trip driving normally, yet my 200 Series Petrol easily maintains 12.5lph in the same conditions & the vehicle is close to double the weight. The 200 auto petrol is a lot better on fuel than the 100 Series due to it's VVT despite the fact it is heavier with similar HP to the 100 series.
AnswerID: 485447

Follow Up By: GT Campers - Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 17:07

Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 17:07
yeah you are right, with steady crusiing vehicle weight doesn't matter as much as wind resistance - but moving weight aropund town hurts!
FollowupID: 760728

Follow Up By: Jeff P - Friday, May 11, 2012 at 10:18

Friday, May 11, 2012 at 10:18
Its a pity toyota never put the 5.7 V8 engine into the 200 series( they saved it for the lexus in Aus) like they do in the US more power and better fuel economy than the previous 4.7V8 but then again Australia is the dumping ground for what others would not accept but funny they dont fit the 4.5V8 diesel to the cruiser in the US figure that !
Jeff
FollowupID: 760788

Reply By: mwskinner52 - Friday, May 11, 2012 at 08:08

Friday, May 11, 2012 at 08:08
I have a V8 100 petrol and the best I have ever got loaded is 16 L/100 with a L plate driver. Usual driving at 110-120 sees 20+ L/100. Driving the simpson in summer 3-4 years ago took 40+ L/100. They are a greedy beast but reliable as hell and tough as nails!
AnswerID: 485505

Follow Up By: Shaver - Friday, May 11, 2012 at 10:14

Friday, May 11, 2012 at 10:14
Yes I believe the 100 Series is 170kw/410nm & the 200 is 202kw/410nm. They always say to go by nm, but on quiete a few occasions I can easily pull away from the 100 on the H'way. The only thing about the V8's is that Cam Belt replacement. It's funny the wife commented the other day that the 200 seems to glide along the road, and I said what do you mean. She said it's so earily quiet & smooth compared to our Honda Civic (2010 model). I don't get to drive it much, bought new 2008 & it's only done 17,000k's. I ended up taking out the Toyota Extended Warranty. My H'wy figure is 2 up with luggage & I don't drive for economy.
FollowupID: 760787

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Friday, May 11, 2012 at 21:27

Friday, May 11, 2012 at 21:27
" but on quiete a few occasions I can easily pull away from the 100 on the H'way".
I dont know if that may prove .....

"The only thing about the V8's is that Cam Belt replacement".... is that v8 diesel / petrol / or other ? ... & what about the cam belt ???

Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 760844

Follow Up By: Shaver - Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 11:22

Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 11:22
Whats your point ref graph, to prove what ? You know very well that I'm talking about the Petrol 200 & T/Belt replacement at 150,000k's which is also applicable to the 100. The Diesel 200 runs a T/Chain. Trying to be smart is a sign of your ineptness.
FollowupID: 760867

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 18:22

Saturday, May 12, 2012 at 18:22
Shaver ,the graph was showing 112kw of power from the 100 series v8 petrol on the dyno . regards timing belt I was unaware of the timing chain in the 200 petrol ...I must of missed that ....not being smart at all .

cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 760895

Follow Up By: Shaver - Sunday, May 13, 2012 at 07:10

Sunday, May 13, 2012 at 07:10
Sorry ! took it the wrong way. By the way your graf shows 112kw & 747nm at the wheels, is that normal considering it is 410nm at the engine ? I would have thought it would be a lot less with powertrain losses.
FollowupID: 760921

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Sunday, May 13, 2012 at 10:07

Sunday, May 13, 2012 at 10:07
Shaver , 112 kw of power verses 747nm Torque .... tow different thing . regard the high reading , I thought the same , Dyno guy said it was like a leaver action / mechanical advantage - on the wheel Dyno I guess - verse 410 nm is on the fly wheel on a test bench .

cheers Nick
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 760935

Follow Up By: Shaver - Sunday, May 13, 2012 at 11:30

Sunday, May 13, 2012 at 11:30
Makes you wonder what the 4.5 V8 Diesel is at the wheels !
FollowupID: 760941