help with a used 4wd

Submitted: Saturday, May 26, 2012 at 16:59
ThreadID: 95823 Views:2164 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Well guys, the time has come and am in need of some advice.

The minister of finances talked me into selling the toy and get something a little more user friendly. I already have a pajero for the missus, but looking for a little dual cab or may be single cab for me to run around in. I dont know much about any issues ( fuel consumption, motors, trans etc ) that certain 4wd's have.

Comparing a late 90's dual cab hilux, 3L diesel or 2.7 petrol.

Same for a early 2000 rodeo or navara TD or petrol.

May also consider a late 90's landcruiser ute.

I have up to maybe $14k

can anyone give a bit of info on what to look out for, what to stay away from.

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, May 26, 2012 at 17:15

Saturday, May 26, 2012 at 17:15
don't know much about those utes but here's a good place to start browsing:

http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/search.aspx?cat=dealer+private+demo&nol.cid=carsales-ca&nol.campaign=Google%20SEM%20Carsales&nol.creative=Carsales%20General%20Sitelinks%20Used%20Cars&gclid=CPbP-_aynbACFXBYpgodOxoqXw

there's also "carpoint" and "carsguide" you can google for. I think carsales has info if you look under "research" which gives fuel consumption and a rund-down of the vehicle's history and potential problems

I've been looking there recently for my young fella

good luck
AnswerID: 486821

Reply By: Axle - Saturday, May 26, 2012 at 17:27

Saturday, May 26, 2012 at 17:27
G/Day Joshg,....If SWMBO and your self are happy with the Paj,..Then why not stay with Mitsubishi??,....As time goes on they are offering a lot of goods for the money asked.

AnswerID: 486822

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, May 26, 2012 at 21:00

Saturday, May 26, 2012 at 21:00
I have the 1999 2.7 litre petrol Hilux 4x4.
Over 300,000 on the clock & it doesn't miss a beat. Gets pretty thirsty if you put the foot down or tow with it. Find it goes that bit better with premium fuel too.

Had a 2.4 Hilux Diesel prior to this one & what a slug that was! If I go Hilux again I would go the 3L diesel. Just watch out for the 3L diesel leaking fuel into the oil thru the injectors & sludging up the engine. Not sure which years this was a problem but do a search on the net.

Stu
AnswerID: 486850

Follow Up By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Sunday, May 27, 2012 at 19:08

Sunday, May 27, 2012 at 19:08
Hey Stu at work we have a 1998 2.7l petrol dual cab 4x4 with over 560,000k's on still same gear box has had one clutch and is due for another that and a head gasket would probably been the worst that has happened to it (touch wood)
Its up for rego now so need to decide if it goes to a farm for hunting duties or part it out?
My vote for Hilux
Cheers Michael
FollowupID: 762150

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, May 27, 2012 at 11:28

Sunday, May 27, 2012 at 11:28
G'day joshg

Check out the classified section on this great site - there's a fantastic spacecab ute for sale on there !

Gazz
AnswerID: 486884