Plenty Highway.. 2wd?

Submitted: Monday, May 28, 2012 at 15:55
ThreadID: 95864 Views:4057 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
hey guys, do you think it would be possible to drive the plenty highway with a mitsubishi starwagon 2wd? (assuming good condition of the road to be checked in alice before departing and 2 spare tyres)... I've been finding lots of different opinions online, someone is saying you could go with a family car, someone else say it's a nightmare..

I know this is probably not possible but i just wanted to dublecheck and here seems the right place to do so! I should say i have some experience in off road driving but for sure i don't want to take stupid risks, just tell me what do you think!

cheers

Sil
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: gbc - Monday, May 28, 2012 at 16:02

Monday, May 28, 2012 at 16:02
Make sure the suspension is tip top and you have some all terrain tyres that you can let down a bit and you'll be right.
All the bash cars drive the plenty. Biggest problem they have is shredding road tyres and blowing shocks.
Oh, and carry enough fuel.
The Plenty really is just a long station driveway...
AnswerID: 486998

Reply By: pmacks - Monday, May 28, 2012 at 16:03

Monday, May 28, 2012 at 16:03
Hi SIL

this should pose no problems at all !! it is just a dirt road although weather will be the big issue, if it is raining dont bother, also you could strike corrugations for the whole 800Ks

pmacks
AnswerID: 486999

Reply By: Solsil - Monday, May 28, 2012 at 16:13

Monday, May 28, 2012 at 16:13
that's great to hear!.. thanks a lot for the advices.
The van is dual fuel (90LT gpl) so it should be ok for long distances (a bit shorter than 900km with both tanks full) I'll have the suspension checked for the rwc next week.
AnswerID: 487000

Reply By: Iain M - Monday, May 28, 2012 at 16:24

Monday, May 28, 2012 at 16:24