Kimberley and milk

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 20:53
ThreadID: 96276 Views:2409 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
Forumites,

This may sound like a silly question but I have read and researched without luck

We are in our final preparations for our Kimberley trip, family of five. We are heavy on milk (cuppas, brekkie cerial, milo, hot chockolate)

Question, is fresh milk available at those roadhouses which offer 'basic supplies'or should we stock up on long life milk?

Thanks in advance

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 21:03

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 21:03
Hi CSeaJay

We purchased fresh milk and iced coffee along the Gibb River Road, but we do carry UHT as back up. The following year, we decided to use UHT and not bother about purchasing fresh at all. We use around two litres a day between breakfast cereal and cuppas. It depends on your storage room - we can store at least two boxes of Devondale two litre milks. I use low fat milk powder for all cooking such as white sauce, custard, and add some to the porridge. When stranded for a couple of weeks we were down to powdered milk in the cups of tea on the last day - fresh milk was purchased at a very high price at the first opportunity.

AnswerID: 488486

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 22:03

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 22:03
Of course it isn't as good as fresh or UHT milk, but if in doubt have a small box of instantised powdered milk.
Better than having sour milk and is cheap and I love my milo too.
It wasn't that long ago, before the era of 24/7 & UHT that many people used to have a box in their pantry in case they ran out at home of the fresh stuff.
AnswerID: 488499

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 23:37

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 23:37
I still use powdered milk (fullcream) for my cooking at home, I love it, my biggest problem is not to eat it by the spoonful.... or mix it in a paste.... It makes lovely creamy custards and creamed rice... Enjoy your trip CSeaJay.

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 763652

Follow Up By: walwffoeg - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 05:04

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 05:04
I agree. Powdered milk is very good but I have the same problem with it!
The dog loves it too.
FollowupID: 763655

Reply By: brianc - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 22:04

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 22:04
On longer trips we use UHT and mixed full cream powder milk in a 50/50 mix. So 1 liter UHT and 1 liter powdered. Some years back on a family trip, our nieces just about killed us when they found out they had been using this after having drinking and breakfasting on this for 1 week and not noticing any difference. They were so not happy campers, but their expert tastebuds didn't pick it!
AnswerID: 488501

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 23:36

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 23:36
We find there is little difference in taste between UHT and skim milk. We use Woolies or Coles, it's a waste of money getting the branded ones as you can't distinguish the taste in a blind test.

FollowupID: 763651

Follow Up By: P2D2 - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 08:56

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 08:56
Aldi is cheaper at $1 litre for UHT Full cream, low fat and skim. Good thing at Aldi they have it in the carton so you can take full cartons.

We use 2L of low fat UHT a day and use UHT milk full time.
FollowupID: 763672

Follow Up By: Member - DereelGirl - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 13:58

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 13:58
I use the Aldi low fat UHT all the time, even at home. Live 35mins from a supermarket & I was either running out or the milk went off. Now I always have about 4-5Lts in the cupboard.
Dereelgirl

FollowupID: 763691

Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 22:24

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 22:24
We use powdered milk when camping and also use it at home when we run out of fresh. I think the fuss about using powdered milk is all in the mind. Yes, it does taste a little different but in no way inferior or unpleasant. We use Diplomat(?) brand of skim milk. If you like it creamy just use more. Mixes up easily, not like the old fashioned stuff. It saves heaps of space and it's always there.

Min
AnswerID: 488503

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 23:39

Thursday, Jun 14, 2012 at 23:39
Sunshine Full Cream is the one we use.....

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 763653

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 05:00

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 05:00
Devondale UHT milk is available at every shop/store/roadhouse in the Kimberley

Better get used to it.
AnswerID: 488508

Reply By: walwffoeg - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 05:14

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 05:14
Since the exposé on today tonight about how cheap milk is diluted with permeate, we buy a2 when its available.
More expensive, has a longer use by date, and somehow tastes better, makes you want to drink it by the glassful.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/today-tonight/video/watch/28965194/whats-really-in-the-milk-youre-buying/
AnswerID: 488509

Follow Up By: P2D2 - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 09:08

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 09:08
Permeate is a standard milk substance used to standardise milk. Ask a food scientist permeate is a milk product.
A2 is a con and there is no evidence at all from many tests to prove it is any different or has any health or digestion benefits. Thankfully for the A2 sales people there are sufficient suckers around to suck in the gullible and get customers to pay top dollar for supposedly a product with different health properties.
FollowupID: 763674

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 16:36

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 16:36
P2D2
there is actually a difference in A2 milk and that is in the level of lactose in it. If ever you have children who have difficulty with lactose or who are lactose intolerant you will realise what a difference that can make. When your small child is crying through the night you may realise what a difference the level of lactose can make. I can assure you that I will and have done and bought very expensive non lactose, low lactose and dairy free products to save my children and now grandchildren the agony of severe stomach cramps. vomiting and the runs as well as a full nights sleep for them and us.
I take great offence at you calling me a sucker, I am a tertiary educated person but most of all a mother of a child who used to vomit 8 times a day, have severe skin rashes( sheets had to be changed 3-4 times a week due to bleeding from scratching) and stomach cramps due to food intolerances so until you have walked a mile in those shoes you might not understand.

So maybe before you call people suckers you need to check your facts.

Barb
FollowupID: 763700

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 09:11

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 09:11
Ditto for the powdered milk users - we use a fair bit of milk per day and usually take off from home with some UHT, but our main supply for outback travel is powdered - we struggle to tell the difference between powdered and UHT. We buy full cream powder and use less when making it up to roughly equate with 'lite'. That only leaves the water quality issue - we always seem to snaffle reasonable supplies somewhere for the van's tanks - it then runs through the van's space age filter and then again through a jug filter.
AnswerID: 488530

Reply By: funnyfarm - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 11:57

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 11:57
travelling with 3 children (1 on bottles still) we go through our fair share of milk. We use powdered milk when travelling, the kids love it. They call it mum's homemade milk and at home they love it when i make my "home made milk". Works out much for muchness with cost as it is about $6.50 and makes about 7 litres which at $1.00 per litre is what you can buy other milk for. Hubby just adds a spoon full of milk powder to his coffee, nice and easy.
AnswerID: 488548

Reply By: GT Campers - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 20:10

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 20:10
with regard to UHT milk, make sure you buy the ones with the screw-top caps (Devondale is what I buy) as they are much more spill-proof than the Coles/woolies flip-lids; and if you have ever had to totally strip the interior of a brand-new 4WD to get rid of the stench of spilt milk you will know why!!
AnswerID: 488588

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 21:30

Friday, Jun 15, 2012 at 21:30
Getting back to the original question...... Not that long ago I was up that way and fresh milk was available at all the usual outlets where you would expect to find it and well within 'date'
Enjoy your trip !!
Insanity doesnt run in my family.... it gallops!

AnswerID: 488595

Reply By: CSeaJay - Saturday, Jun 16, 2012 at 07:37

Saturday, Jun 16, 2012 at 07:37
Thank you to all who replied!
Off-to-Kimberley-we-go!

CJ
AnswerID: 488603

Reply By: Fab72 - Saturday, Jun 16, 2012 at 20:06

Saturday, Jun 16, 2012 at 20:06
CSeaJay ...try some Carnation canned milk in your instant coffee. It makes it taste as good as cafe' coffee.
Yummy.
Fab.
AnswerID: 488656