60 Series fuel tank capacity.

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 15:07
ThreadID: 9643 Views:10428 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
Despite the manual for my HJ61 (12HTmotor) telling me the fuel tank capacity is 90 litres the most I seem to be able to squeeze in with the guage on empty is about 65 litres.
Is there in fact a lot more fuel on board than the guage tells me, or is the tank of lesser capacity. As far as I can establish, it's the original tank.
Any comments would be appreciated.

Reply By: Mick - Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 15:37

Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 15:37
mijochka, I would take a jerry can and run the tank empty. There usually is a lot of fuel left but you need to know how far you can go on a tank, so take the kms when you fill up, go to empty, use the jerry to get to a servo and fill there. If you don't have a jerry it's probably a good investment as even with 90 litres you'll almost certainly need extra if you go off road as your engine is not what would be called economical if you know what I mean!
AnswerID: 42483

Follow Up By: Davoe - Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 15:53

Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 15:53
before doing this ensure you know how to prime the fuel system after running it out
FollowupID: 304902

Follow Up By: Davoe - Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 15:53

Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 15:53
before doing this ensure you know how to prime the fuel system after running it out
FollowupID: 304903

Reply By: mijochka - Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 17:45

Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 17:45
Thanks fellas. Yes, I do know how to bleed the system and I have a second tank.
Guess I'm basically lazy and don't want to bleed it if I don't have to. Actually,I find the motor reasonably economical for what it is,about 12l per 100ks around town,and about 18l per 100ks towing a 24' full height van.
AnswerID: 42495

Follow Up By: Mick - Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 20:33

Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 20:33
That's great fuel economy. I have friends with petrol Pajeros and they tell me they get 16l/100 around town so you're doing well. I get 12 in a TD Prado around town. I guess yours must be diesel too? I assumed it was petrol. That changes my comments because the petrol is very heavy usually. Just looked back at the original post - sorry if I insulted you!
FollowupID: 304922

Follow Up By: Douglas C - Monday, Jan 12, 2004 at 08:36

Monday, Jan 12, 2004 at 08:36
mijochka,
I read with interest your fuel issue , however very interested in your towing a caravan, can you tell me what is your normal flat highway speed , and what gear do you tow in for those conditions , and how does it tow up moderate slopes , I tow a 20 ft ensuite van with a 60 series autoToyota with 2H motor and aftermarket turbo and I find that up hills certainly slows the outfit down to about 60 kph and well below that on a steep gradient . I am only a"newbie" so would it be OK if I asked you other questions as they arise ?
FollowupID: 305010

Reply By: Lyndon - Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 20:02

Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 20:02
mijochka
I've got a 61 Sahara auto 12HT, and can also only squeeze in 65litres when indicated empty. I have acccidently run mine out of fuel at 650 km and was able to get close to 90 litres back in the tank. Around town average of 13.8 l / 100km. Yep, I think the 12HT is damn fine on the fuel, after its 340,000 kms.

Lyndon
AnswerID: 42505

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 21:41

Saturday, Jan 10, 2004 at 21:41
When I had mine, I'd work on another 200k's when the fuel indicator read half full/empty. 650 - 700k's on a full tank was my usual.Dare to Lead not to Follow
AnswerID: 42515

Reply By: bigboy - Sunday, Jan 11, 2004 at 20:14

Sunday, Jan 11, 2004 at 20:14
THE hj60 holds 90L when empty ...
it sounds like your sender or your guage is falty or both...
i found the late model 60# had problems ...
the sender and the guage are the same in all models of 60# 8/80 - 1/90
the dash layout did change but not them 2 items ...
i have wrecked 2 hj60 and still have heaps of parts.
send e-mail if you need any parts ...
leon@myall.net
AnswerID: 42599

Follow Up By: mijochka - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2004 at 12:48

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2004 at 12:48
Thanks to all who responded. Coincidentally, we've had to take the tank out to rectify a fuel blockage (algae) and yes it does hold 90 l and the sender is crook.
I'm a bit of a newby to the 4wd & caravan scene too, but I've spent many years driving heavy trucks, so I have a fair handle on turbo diesels and how to get the best out of them.
When towing I run at about 90-95 kph which equates to 2500-800 rpm in 4th gear. 5th (overdrive) is used only on downhill runs where the motor is not under load.
Throttle opening is the enemy of fuel consumption. I try never to use more than half throttle,selecting a lower gear when needed,thereby running at higher revs (never overabout 3000) at a lesser throttle opening.
An aquaintance is rapidly destroying a late model 3.0 l Patrol by towing a 16' van in 5th gear with the pedal welded to the floor. There are B Doubles using less fuel and the front of the van is coated in soot.
FollowupID: 305118