Where to mount air compressor on 2011 Patrol

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 19:56
ThreadID: 96512 Views:3158 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Hello all .... I am thinking about mounting a air compressor in my 2011 Patrol, The problems I am facing is Dual Battery takes up one area and the ABS system takes up the other place where you could have put one in earlier model. Under the front passenger seat is another location however there is a heating duct under there.

My question is has any one fitted a on boards air compressor to a 2011 or 2012 Patrol and where have they fitted it.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts

Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 20:08

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 20:08

Maybe no help but for those thinking out of the box (and who let their tyres down a lot) ...I spotted this on a Pathfinder the other day - assume its a compressor/s of some type with two receiver tanks??

AnswerID: 489485

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 21:24

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 21:24
Wow, that does not look safe at all.
FollowupID: 764666

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 22:59

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 22:59
Is that a statement or a "LOOK AT ME , LOOK AT ME, LOOK AT ME!! Michael

FollowupID: 764671

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 23:04

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 23:04
I thought they gave away the old charcal burners after WWII. Talk about a carbon statement??
FollowupID: 764672

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 20:52

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 20:52
I think charcoal burner technology is still an option on new Landcruisers!! :))
Michael

FollowupID: 764730

Reply By: Member - Angus E (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 20:31

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 20:31
Vern

Under the front passenger seat is the perfect spot for an ARB compressor. Have put one in both the 2005 and 2006 Patrols. Just requires 3 holes through the floor.

Angus
AnswerID: 489486

Follow Up By: Member - Budsy - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 10:43

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 10:43
I have a 2011 Patrol, ARB mounted the compressor under the driver seat.
FollowupID: 764858

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 22:43

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 22:43
Vern,
I have my Big red Compressor mounted inside the spare wheel mount bracket. I have a pressure switch set at 60 psi and i use the spare as a 100 litre tank. I had the same problem, no room and it is high up enough for water crossings and the noise is outside.. works better than you could imagine!! Michael

AnswerID: 489495

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 22:58

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 22:58
If you go to The Patrol site patrol4x4.com search for "compressor mounting under bonnet page 2", you will see some pics of my setup if you scroll half way down the page.. Michael

FollowupID: 764670

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 23:08

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 23:08
I would be worried about dust putting it outside the car. Ours is was in the engine bay until we put in a third battery. It had heaps of dust build up on the filter.

How does yours go at the back with dust?

Our son has his under the passengers seat in his 2008 Patrol. I think it's a 2008.
FollowupID: 764673

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 17:35

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 17:35
The filter is there to stop the dust getting inside. I could drill a 1/2" hole in the back door and place the filter inside the door but i'm not having any problems at the moment so not really necessary. Its a great setup!! Michael!!

FollowupID: 764715

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 17:46

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 17:46
Fair enough.

Ours is in a small void beside the drawers at the back of the car with the pump outlet plumbed up to the top of the drawers right next to our drinking water outlet. Lucky spot. If you need any air hose plumbing go and see Pirtek. The bloke here did a ripper of a job. But he also has a 4wd for outback touring. I think he also got ideas for his own car.
FollowupID: 764717

Follow Up By: Member - Vern (North Haven SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 18:58

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 18:58
Hello Michael

That is a great place to locate a compressor my only issue would be If I decide to get a front Locker would be how to run the air line. So at this stage it looks like going under the passengers seat.

also does the Big Red have fitting so you can run a locker or two from it.

FollowupID: 764718

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 20:48

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 20:48
Hi Vern, I ran the wires and a small 5mm nylon air line along the Patrol with the original wiring under the kick plates or whatever they are called, the nylon airline goes to the pressure switch under the dash but it can continue to the engine bay to a small tank for the locker.. Look at an E Locker, no air needed and less things to go wrong than an air locker i believe. A small manifold is easy to connect to any compressor to run lockers... regards Michael

FollowupID: 764729

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 21:04

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 21:04
If we go for air lockers there is room enough for a small about 4 litre air tank in the void with the pump.

But have you got a link to these E Lockers so that I can check them out. They ring a bell but the old grey stuff it totally stuffed by the chemo. An unfortunate side effect.
FollowupID: 764731

Reply By: GT Campers - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 10:32

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 10:32
Have you thought about using he unit installed in the carry case/toolbox; much more freedom that way; you can use it on/with other vehicles and it's not dead weight 99.8 percent of the time
AnswerID: 489507

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 17:04

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 17:04
G'day, if you have a set of drawers in the rear, you could do what I have done and mount the ARB compressor vertically underneath the drawer top on the LHS rear mounting bracket.

Then again, you may not have a set of drawers..................... John

AnswerID: 489538

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 19:42

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 19:42
Vern

I don't know which version yours is but mines a petrol GU7.

It is a little tricky but the ARB compressor does fit behind the air cleaner in front of the ABS stuff with a little work.

I made an almost flat 10mm thick aluminium bracket to hold mine there as below.

The bracket mounts across the curved surface to the wheel arch and hence the compressor is not flat.

AnswerID: 489552