Darwin the 1st of July, BANG

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 21:20
ThreadID: 96629 Views:3310 Replies:12 FollowUps:15
Here I am sitting on my balcony on Mt Moil and all hell is being let loose by the whole population in the lower suburbs. IT'S CRACKER NIGHT!!! YES, the night we can make as much noise as we like and let off as many fireworks as we can afford.
The kids are having a ball, just like their supervising parents....maybe it's the other way around...who cares!

Arrrh, the freedom that we can look after ourselves and have a bloody good time. 1st of July every year, come up and join us.

Arrrh.... the Territory ya gota luv it....!

Noel K.

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 21:47

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 21:47
Mate, it brings back memories........guy falks night....awesome, just so much fun.

Sadly gone now from WA.
AnswerID: 489920

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:51

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:51
Hey Redbakk,
I was raised in Geraldton in those days, we kids spent all week collecting timber crates and any thing else that we could build a bond fire in the back yard with. Mum would make up a Guy fox and we would stuff it with grass and prop him on top.
All the Uncs and Aunts would come and we would have a hoot of a time.... can't be trusted now.

Noel K.
FollowupID: 765047

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:59

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:59
Ah yes, I remember it well.
FollowupID: 765049

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 21:56

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 21:56
G'day Noel

Enjoy yourself - but be careful of emitting too much carbon dioxiode as Ronald McDonalds red headed sister has introduced a tax today that will not effect Aussies financially but will return the planet earth to the ice age in only a matter of years !!

Gazz
AnswerID: 489921

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:00

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:00
Hey Outback Gazz,
No carbon dioxide here mate, it's only in Canberra. The way the temperature up here has dropped in the last week, all I can say is... "Thank God for global warming!"

Noel K.
FollowupID: 765050

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:01

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:01
Aaaaahhhh,

Guy Fawkes, the only man who ever entered parliament with honourable intentions.

AnswerID: 489922

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:06

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:06
Thank God SOMEONE here can spell!

FollowupID: 765052

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:07

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:07
Well said Gone Bush,
How sad that it has gone in the reverse. Seems the one who got us into this carbon tax has retired...?

Noel K.
FollowupID: 765053

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:19

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:19
Hay Allan,
Sorry mate.. trying to keep my head down at the moment. Seems some of my spellin.. got blown away.
YOU, try hiding under the table and type with one finger on top of the table!

Noel K.
FollowupID: 765055

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 01:01

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 01:01
I remember Guy Fawkes night well, arrrrh the memories, 5th of November, who could forget the fun LOL The things our kids have missed out on.....

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 765060

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:29

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:29
If you are travelling to the NT this is one night you must include on your calendar. Our kids a great time every Cracker Night when we lived in Darwin. It is a very special part of the Territory 1st of July.

I would love to travel back to the Territory just to catch cracker night. Glad it is still going and not been shut down.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 489924

Follow Up By: OutBack Wanderers - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:46

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:46
Give it time, we have Green twits in NSW who wants those with wood-burning stoves, heaters banned because of the smoke, my God, have they ever seen a volcano

How is it that other States/Territories can still have fun while we live in a nanny State?

Arrrrrrrrrr cracker night when little Jonnie drops a spark into Bobs school case of fireworks, a better show than Harbour Bridge NYE, kids a whooping and parents trying to keep you safe from rockets shooting everywhere except up

The bonfire down on the vacant block, collecting anything that burnt for 11 months, tyres, wood, mattresses, fruit boxes, never see them anymore, pine fruit-boxes, cardboard boxes,

watching the fire-brigade hosing down the fire, spoil-sports, till next year

FollowupID: 765046

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:57

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 22:57
Yes.....definitely the date to be there in the future.....I shall note it.
FollowupID: 765048

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 06:10

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 06:10
It wasn't green twits who stopped cracker night. It was twits who started to think it was fun to blow things like domestic animals up with them. It was stopped for safety reasons. A pity because I remember it as the best night of the year when I was a kid.
FollowupID: 765064

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 18:17

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 18:17
Ain't ignorance bliss. You've obviously never experienced the wonderful effect of temperature inversion Outback Wanderers. The lovely brown haze created by thousands of inefficient log heaters is a sight to behold and does wonders for asthma sufferers. You might want to google 'what's in wood smoke'. We can't control volcanic activity but for most of us in suburbia there are far better alternatives for heating our houses.
FollowupID: 765136

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2012 at 05:44

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2012 at 05:44
Why just that one night?
Crackers were still getting let off at 3am tonight and the smoke from all the fires started means you canteen even see the sun up to an hour before sunset. The whole city has ash blowing through it.
The paper has picks of the dogs killed as they escaped with the fear of the bangs and were run over. You couldn't even go down the beach to watch them as d heads were firing them off at people parked there
FollowupID: 765172

Reply By: GrumpyOldFart - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:22

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:22
Noel K
it's 10.45pm and the air is still rent with the sounds of crackers!!
Went down to Fannie Bay and wached in amazement as thousands of dollars of fireworks were let off. I think the Casino's show would have to have been the most spectacular.
A few pandanuses met a fiery end from wayward rockets but the Fire Brigade arrived to save a few. It was amusing to see the fire fighters hoseing down fires while crackers and rockets were going off in all directions around them.

Ahhhh...... only in Darwin

Dru

Remember
Life is short, Break the rules, Forgive quickly, Kiss slowly, Love truly,
Laugh uncontrollably, And never regret anything that made you smile

AnswerID: 489926

Reply By: Witi Repartee - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:26

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:26
Brings back memories. We experienced cracker night in Mataranka 3 years ago. It was held on the local sports oval and it seemed that thousands of dollars of fireworks went up very spectacularly for about 200 spectators...and to cap it all off the local sports club womens association put on a 3 course paper plate meal for about $10 a head. For a klwi it was a great bit of NT culture and thoroughly enjoyable.
AnswerID: 489927

Reply By: SDG - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:55

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 23:55
Never heard of Guy Fawks in Australia. Always thought it was England.
Didn't NSW always have theirs on the Queens birthday weekend?Been a while since they banned it, although i'm still able to get them.
AnswerID: 489928

Follow Up By: Bush Wanderer - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 00:28

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 00:28
When I grew up in nsw we called it Guy Fawkes night.

I purchase my fireworks from a copper, that gets them from an interstate trucky from NT.

Lights up the beach when we head seaside.

BW.
FollowupID: 765057

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 06:24

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 06:24
When I was a kid in the 60's, fireworks were on Empire Day which was on 24th of May. We called it cracker night. I had heard of Guy Fawkes night which was held in England in November I think. We never called it Guy Fawkes but some may have. Cracker night was moved to the June long weekend but I can't recall exactly when. I did recall that it never seemed the same after the move but it may just have been me getting older. Crackers were banned in the early 80's for good reason. The things they were doing with them just got out of hand.
FollowupID: 765065

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 08:30

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 08:30
Where are all the dogs up there this morning ? :-))))

AnswerID: 489937

Reply By: landseka - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 10:01

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 10:01
We in South Australia knew it was Guy Fawkes night but it was Cracker Night to us.

I always thought 5th of November was the wrong day in Oz to hold it even though it was historically correct as it was too close to summer & dry grass etc every where.

As for the banning of it in most states - I reckon there are thousands of people (men??) who now have 2 good eyes as opposed to the many every year that used to irrepairably damage theirs on Cracker Night.

Cheers Neil
AnswerID: 489940

Reply By: Grand CRD - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 14:06

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 14:06
Hi Noel,

Hope the Watsonia's didn't go bang.

Guess who?
AnswerID: 489949

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 17:02

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 17:02
G'day DT.

Noel K.
FollowupID: 765115

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 15:01

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 15:01
We were in Katherine for Territory Day all good fun untill all the spent canistered and other bits of rockets etc started to shower down on the tent.

Town well and truly went off.

AnswerID: 489955

Reply By: blue one - Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 21:13

Monday, Jul 02, 2012 at 21:13
Make the most of it.

I had one thread called Territory Day

It got toasted by the mods

Must not crackers