Spot Connect

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 04, 2012 at 22:58
ThreadID: 96673 Views:1516 Replies:3 FollowUps:7
Hello all,

we are looking at Spot Products for back up when we're travelling.

Two questions;
- what is the difference between Spot 2 and Spot Connect?
- what does it cost to hire a Spot?

Hoo roo,

Reply By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Thursday, Jul 05, 2012 at 19:56

Thursday, Jul 05, 2012 at 19:56
We can send texts with our connect to emails and mobiles. The recipients phone numbers and emails have to be preset (when in phone/Internet range) but we type the text as we go - out of phone range.
We can also add text detail to SOS messages.
I don't believe spot 2 has this functionality. It can only send a few preset messages.
AnswerID: 490195

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Jul 05, 2012 at 20:04

Thursday, Jul 05, 2012 at 20:04
Thank you very much for that info.

Hoo roo,
FollowupID: 765451

Follow Up By: Member - pedro1 - Thursday, Jul 05, 2012 at 20:16

Thursday, Jul 05, 2012 at 20:16
You may be interested in this thread which I have just updated

ThreadID: 96633
Date: 02 Jul 2012 07:58
There is better products on the market now, which give you two way messaging
for roughly the same cost
FollowupID: 765453

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Jul 05, 2012 at 20:25

Thursday, Jul 05, 2012 at 20:25
Thanks Pedro,

I'll check it out.

FollowupID: 765454

Reply By: wombat100 - Friday, Jul 06, 2012 at 16:19

Friday, Jul 06, 2012 at 16:19
If you can get hold of one...go for the 'original' SPOT.
Far less reception issues, and FAR better battery life !!

AnswerID: 490251

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Saturday, Jul 07, 2012 at 09:12

Saturday, Jul 07, 2012 at 09:12
Thanks Wombat
FollowupID: 765556

Reply By: PJR (NSW) - Friday, Jul 06, 2012 at 16:51

Friday, Jul 06, 2012 at 16:51
With your indulgence Eity:

I am going to put a plug in for the satellite phone. It allows full voice both ways. I am sure that if I carked it them my wife would ant voice comms. A calming voice the other end is 100% better than a cold hard text message. And we all know how hard it is to get the text correct. Even on a forum with a lovely big keyboard and screen

Thread 96699 shows how a phone helped with a quick and satisfacory recovery of a heart attack patient. Voice for me thanks. Stuff the cost.

AnswerID: 490254

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Saturday, Jul 07, 2012 at 09:12

Saturday, Jul 07, 2012 at 09:12
Thanks PJR,

FollowupID: 765557

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Saturday, Jul 07, 2012 at 09:24

Saturday, Jul 07, 2012 at 09:24
G'day again,

I just read the thread now.

It seemed to get pretty emotional.
The thread highlights the importance of having some form of long distance comms.
I hate to think what the lady's family would have been going through with Mum having a heart attack as they're scattering Dad's ashes to the wind.

Fortunately we have great emergency response crews to back up our calls for help in Aus.

Take it easy and best wishes to you.

FollowupID: 765560

Follow Up By: PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2012 at 09:45

Saturday, Jul 07, 2012 at 09:45
No worries Steve

I did get that way. Didn't I. It was the coincidence with yesterdays treatment, that got me.

Personally, a chat is in order with my wife to get her opinion before I dictate what I want. Sometimes we need to think a bit more than emotions allow us.
FollowupID: 765563