NJ 3.0L Paj Blowing Alternator regulators.

Submitted: Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 18:32
ThreadID: 97040 Views:2378 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
Hi guy's why do you think my NJ would kill 2 Alternator regulators in one day?

I retired my NJ Paj to the garage for a week, and lovely son left the Map light on until battery dead flat.

Charge battery for 14 hours ran well alll day! started with gusto. Then left car in drive way for 4 minutes with lights on Hmmm sluggish start.

No problem buy new battery then I noticed the volt gauge just sitting on 12 volt mine has always sat near 14volt with revs up, I put lights on and temp gauge rises dramatically turn lights off temp gauge goes down.

Install new Battery Same charge new Battery same.

Drop into NRMA mate he takes a look yup Alternator Reg is dead charging .5 Volt if that!

I price Alternator at Bursons $309.00 not available this week! NRMA $352.00 installed with year longer warranty.

Installed by NRMA Volt gauge works again! starts with Gusto! Battery is charging!

Swap back to old Battery NRMA Checked out is good.

Go for drive within 400 metres volt gauge drops to 12 volt Temp gauge risen again and a slug to start Battery good by the way!

Any ideas why it would do this ?
Want to take the Caravan away this week but not like this.

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 19:24

Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 19:24
Do you have dual batterys? If so, is the auxillary battery okay? As per the the redarc post a week or so back, if the auxillary battery drops a cell it could cause the same situation as yours as it is trying to equalise both batterys.... Not sure about temp gauge though?
AnswerID: 491515

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 19:43

Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 19:43
Thanks mate for the reply.. No only single battery no new electrical work done either just the dead flat battery, I think also the fuel gauge is reading low.

Going to check and see if the hazard lights work as this fuse seems some how connected to the alternator sencing device.

FollowupID: 766999

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 20:44

Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 20:44
Hmmm not that Hazard lights work! Interior light needs more investigation though!
FollowupID: 767013

Reply By: desray (WA - Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 22:31

Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 22:31
Old battery is stuffed, has a open circuit inside or a loose plate/ bad connection inside. May test ok but under load comes apart and the alternator reg destroys itself trying to charge a battery (that's not there)
AnswerID: 491527

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 02:54

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 02:54
Thanks mate going to replace with nrma 850 cca in a few days.
Work is getting in the way of me sorting out sooner.

FollowupID: 767027

Reply By: Erad - Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 22:34

Monday, Jul 23, 2012 at 22:34
Silly question, but has the battery polarity been checked? If you have the battery in the wrong way (hard to do but possible if you have the wrong battery), it could blow the regulator, but I suspect that it would also blow a fwe other items as well eg the ecu.
AnswerID: 491528

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 03:00

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 03:00
Replaced with exact same battery..... Leads will only reach with battery the right way around.

FollowupID: 767028

Reply By: Eric Experience - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 19:54

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 19:54
Roughasguts.
The problem is most likely your charger, it has destroyed your battery and your regulator, when you fitted the dead battery back in the vehicle it destroyed your second reg. Eric.
AnswerID: 491588

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 20:08

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 20:08
Yes I would have thought that as well !

But got home tonight....checked voltage with multi meter 12.7v And Pajero started easily after I checked why interior light not working, bit of a jiggle with the globes got them working.

Checked voltage across battery while running 13.7 volts but load up system with lights spottys etc volts drop to 12.3 hmmm.

Interior volt gauge working so far other gauges normal!
Will drive it Friday to see what happens next.

Thanks for you're intrest.

FollowupID: 767088

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 20:15

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 20:15
Oh my bad cheapie charger but is fused! Auto cutout, reverse polarity etc.

When finished playing with battery and car ... Checked voltage after 5 mins 13.2 volts.

Not out of the woods yet have to take boat down for Rego inspection see what happens then.

FollowupID: 767091

Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 20:29

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 20:29
Roughasguts.
The voltages you posted are normal if you spottys are running from the battery terminal. If you run your spottys from the terminal on the back of the alternator you will get the correct voltage at the battery. Eric
FollowupID: 767093

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 20:43

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 20:43
Thanks Eric, appreciate you're thoughts making me feel a lot easier about driving the Paj in the sticks and towing.

Will trace back the spotty wiring out of curiosity.

FollowupID: 767094

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Jul 26, 2012 at 21:23

Thursday, Jul 26, 2012 at 21:23
Any answers yet?
FollowupID: 767288

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2012 at 13:46

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2012 at 13:46
Thanks for your'e intrest Nutta.
Nah no answers just more questions, there seems to be a coresponding relationship with the Volt Gauge and the water temp Gauge.

When volts are showing over 13 volts the engine temp gauge is Happy sitting at normal.

Now for some reason going for a drive reduces the volts as the battery tops up and then the Engine temp gauge reaches 3/4 deflection.

Now if I turn the lights on! and spots the gauge will hit the Red zone in seconds and stay there when idling.

I have a non contact thermometer and at the temp sender the instrument reads from 78-80c also I just replace the thermostat and tested it before hand radiator is flowing cooler at the bottom by around 8 Degc.

Next step is to test the thermister on temp gauge or get a new one but I don't suspect this to be the problem.

Also I earthed out the lead on the temp gauge and it reads full deflection with ignition on.

FollowupID: 767610

Follow Up By: Nutta - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2012 at 16:43

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2012 at 16:43
Good luck with it, I get lost with electrical, sounds like you need a bl$$dy good auto sparky.

FollowupID: 767621