Power set up for camper trailer

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 16:02
ThreadID: 97056 Views:9250 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
This Thread has been Archived

Related Pages

Hi All

i'm setting up a 12V / 240V system in my camper and looking to make some changes to my existing dual battery set up in the car and would like to ask for comment / advice from the good folk of Exploroz!

before we get started, let me clarify that i'm a qualified electrician and will be taking all precautions in regards to protection and cable sizing on the 240V side.

i cant upload pictures so i'll have to describe what my plans are, hopefully it comes through clear enough :-)

my current setup is a second battery in the back of my ute (Navara D22 with canopy) being charged off a Ctek D250S dual from the main battery. the fridge runs from this when in use except if we're in a van park with 240V available. at present the camper has NO power at all.

My thoughts are to remove the Ctek from the car and go back to a solenoid / isolater to charge the Aux battery and run the fridge when travelling. From the main batt side of the solenoid, i plan to run a cable (+ve and -ve) to the camper (via anderson plug) and re-mount the Ctek in the camper next to a new deep cycle battery. I'll also utilise the solar input to the Ctek to charge the battery when set up.

From the battery off to a neat 12V outlet panel i found on Ebay (12v Panel Ebay) for lighting and fridge when set up. Also, and i'm not 100% fixed on this, to a small inverter to allow small capacity recharging (camera batteries etc) basically very small appliances when we dont have mains power available.