Looking for a decent reliable 4wd for wife

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 19:19
ThreadID: 97059 Views:3014 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Okay this will open up a big can of worms.

I am looking at moving up north to around the Derby area for a couple of years and will need to change the wife's small runaround car for something that can tow a 1200kg caravan, be used as a daily runner and also be loaded up for areas such as the Gibb river road.

I would prefer a dual cab ute and have a budget of $40,000 so might be a demo or nearly new, from the research I have done it all seems a nightmare, injectors failing and costing $4000 to replace, clutches burning out, motors failing, service costs ripping you off.They all seem the same Nissan and Toyota (Take your money and run)

I am looking at the Triton, can get a new glx-r for 38,000 to 40,000 and cannot find many adverse comments about reliability and the 5 year warranty seems a bonus, anybody out there comment.

Cannot look at VW, BT50 and the Ranger, too new and costly

Reply By: Thinkin - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 21:07

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 21:07
Hello 4 runner,

You haven't mentioned Holden Colorado or Isuzu D-Max, there may be the odd run-out model or demo left. There are completly new models of those out now.

Without getting technical they will do what your asking about, they come in auto or manual.

Regards Alpero
AnswerID: 491594

Reply By: Member - nick b - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 21:52

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 21:52
4 runner : It would have to be a " JEEP " ..... She's bought a Jeep....She's bought a Jeep.......lol

Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 491596

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 08:00

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 08:00
Jeep
Empties
Every
Pocket

:-)
FollowupID: 767121

Reply By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 21:56

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 21:56
Mate you are spot on about the Triton, we have run Luxs,Tritons Navaras, and old model bt50s. We are very impressed with the Tritons, no issues at all except awfull flat seats that are to low. I seem to get numb bum with in 100ks. If you could put Navara seats in a triton you would have a great vehicle.
AnswerID: 491599

Follow Up By: landseka - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 10:21

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 10:21
Hey Pete, have a look on newtriton.net, there is a guy there making spacers to fit under the front seat mounts which dramaticly improve the comfort of the seats.
Apparently you need to try them to believe the difference they make.

Cheers Neil
FollowupID: 767132

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 13:01

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 13:01
Good tip Neil, I am sure others will get some benifit from your suggestion. We had and NH Paj and it had superb front seats, so I am not sure why they are crook.
I can not see the boss forking out money to make them more comfy as they are hire utes, and that says a lot for them. A Shame I could not say the same about D40s.
Toyota better keep their eye on the ball or Mitchi will take over their market.
FollowupID: 767146

Reply By: OutBack Wanderers - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 22:16

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2012 at 22:16
I'm not much into wife-swapping, but this sounds like a good deal

Can your wife cook an clean, N/S S/D

I have had my 4WD for four yrs now, still running in I suppose, I'd be a bit upset in losing her, but this swap is too good to pass up

Name time and place we can meet for swap, does your wife knows she is being swapped for 4WD?

AnswerID: 491600

Follow Up By: Member - Richard L (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 07:45

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 07:45
Why didn't I think of that , just had to pay for my car, and have to have wife sitting next to me!!!!

FollowupID: 767119

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 09:03

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 09:03
There are times when I wish there was a 'Like' button on the forum......
FollowupID: 767125

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 13:03

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 13:03
FollowupID: 767147

Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 08:11

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 08:11
I bought a Colorado new last year, it came with ARB bull bar, spot lights, canopy, old man emu lift kit, blue tooth, and canvas seat covers, tow bar, side steps, I drove it off the show room floor for 42,000.

I have given it heaps of work outs through the desert country, I love it.

AnswerID: 491610

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 09:28

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 09:28
Have a look at what this fellow says about tritons, he bought a new one for doing similar things to your.

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/viewtopic.php?t=99859

Have a read of this guy - he bought a Navara.

http://www.navara.asia/archive/index.php/t-10554.html

This guy posted a good question.

http://forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?/topic/24870-why-shouldnt-i-buy-a-triton/

Mid range 4x4s have a purpose but too often people push them beyond their limits.

Might I suggest you could buy this one.

http://www.carpoint.com.au/all-cars/private/details.aspx?Cr=2&R=13050721&trecs=55&__Ns=pCar_RankSort_Int32|1||pCar_Price_Decimal|1||pCar_Make_String|0||pCar_Model_String|0&__sid=13604B057A68&__Nne=15&__Qpb=1&SearchAction=N&seot=1&__N=1216%201246%201247%201252%201282%204294962570%204294962861%2056%204294873129&silo=1011

AnswerID: 491619

Follow Up By: 4 runner - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 17:15

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2012 at 17:15
Excellent comments, was totally unaware that fitting a steel bull bar would void the warranty for the front suspension and that by upgrading pretty much anything voids the warranty for the area of the upgrade.

These manufacturers really do have us by the short and curlys, who has the cash to fight something through to the courts.

Would love to buy the 76 series, but the wife would have some trouble driving it.

Need a dual cab, so can throw my dogs in the back and not worry about dog hair and swags etc when camping.

The search goes on for something that will do the job, the triton is still favorite for the moment, the linked article looks like the bloke was really loading up (Dual carriers etc) the warranty and fixed service looks a good deal
FollowupID: 767178