Kumho KL71 (MT) - comments please

If anyone has any experinece with these I would appreciate your comments on wear, road noise, puncture reistance etc.
Also comments on comparably priced alternatives would be welcome.
Size will be 285/75/16.
Thanks in advance.

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2012 at 19:15

Saturday, Jul 28, 2012 at 19:15
Gday TMM
I think it;s sad that you have no reply in 5 hrs. I have KL78 tyres on my 100 series and i recon they are a bit noisy . I hope some one replys to you , i will be interested.

AnswerID: 491844

Follow Up By: TheMightyMoose - Saturday, Jul 28, 2012 at 20:49

Saturday, Jul 28, 2012 at 20:49
Thanks for your reply Muzbry.
Maybe no-one has KL71s??
Re your 'bit noisy' 78s - what are you comparing them to?
They were the other option but I reckon the 71s look damned good.
The guy in the local tyre shop claimed the 71s weren't particularly noisy. Said his mate had them and was very happy. But then again he wouldn't tell me they howled like a banshee I suppose! However he did seem quite a genuine, non pushy older fella who wasn't full of crap.
Guy in Bob Jane reckoned the 71s were quiet too.
However I posted here hoping for real owner opinions. Will just have to see whether any read this post.
Once again thanks for taking the time to post a reply.
FollowupID: 767456

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2012 at 22:47

Saturday, Jul 28, 2012 at 22:47
GdayTMM
I am in Dandenong if you want a ride and listen.

FollowupID: 767459

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Saturday, Jul 28, 2012 at 23:37

Saturday, Jul 28, 2012 at 23:37
I had a look at them , but cant remember why I didn't go on with them ! maybe the price , how much are they per Tyre ?
maybe cause they have to compete with massis big horns on price quality ....

cheers nick
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 767463

Follow Up By: TheMightyMoose - Sunday, Jul 29, 2012 at 06:54

Sunday, Jul 29, 2012 at 06:54
Hey Muzbry - thanks for the offer. Bit far from Brissie though!

Nick - best price so far is $269
FollowupID: 767468

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Sunday, Jul 29, 2012 at 10:04

Sunday, Jul 29, 2012 at 10:04
Have a look at these link's !!!! "interesting" you may get even more confused .....
$ 269 that's about $ 80 cheaper than the big brands , but good if you can get the K,s out of them ,
They look like they maybe noise !!!

4wd action forum

patrol 4x4 forum ,

U.K forum ,

cheers nick

Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 767476

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2012 at 11:34

Sunday, Jul 29, 2012 at 11:34
Good morning
My Kuhmo tyres 285/75/R16 8 ply were $ 235.00 fitted .

FollowupID: 767481

Reply By: teza - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2012 at 19:54

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2012 at 19:54
Hi Moose,

I ran KL71's on the Patrol trayback in the 265/75/16 size. In that size they are only 8 ply but the size you mentioned are 10 ply.

My vehicle was a tour vehicle and weighed 3.7 tonne. Out of 12 tyres six suffered from sidewall separation due to long periods of under inflated running. Tyres were very noisy on road especially when worn. Tyres suffered no cutting or chipping but being a directional tyre made it difficult regarding the spare. Had a few punctures but brand of tyre would not be a factor. Being a tour vehicle tyres were changed when half worn around 25 thousand.

Can't help with prices as my tyres were supplied.

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 492000

Reply By: TheMightyMoose - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2012 at 16:58

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2012 at 16:58
Thanks to all who replied. Had them fitted today - look awesome. Time will tell how they go. First test will be in Tassie next month.
AnswerID: 492029