Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 11:46

Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 11:46
But ...... i already have one ?????
:-)
AnswerID: 492157

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 13:38

Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 13:38
A mate has seen one in the flesh, looks good but the back seat is smaller than the Hilux DC seat which is unfortunate.
AnswerID: 492161

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 19:09

Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 19:09
Looks good :)

Once I have test driven one, I think I will be getting rid of Darkie and getting one :)

$67,990 + on road costs for the GXL mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

More photos and specs

AnswerID: 492181

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 08:37

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 08:37
Ill hook our van up for a test drive then?
FollowupID: 767862

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 16:08

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 16:08
Sharon,

I think my new camper will give it a good work out ;)

You still interested in buying the Trak Shak so I can get my new camper????

FollowupID: 767891

Follow Up By: Life Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 05, 2012 at 05:16

Sunday, Aug 05, 2012 at 05:16
Hey Kev...

One of these brand new at $58,000.00 , $110 rego with $5,000,000 TPI would be the way to go .
Bit of a worry when one needs to find a parking bay or a nature call to the bushes.

Jabiru 120

FollowupID: 767931

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 20:40

Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 20:40
I can only see one fuel filler - I'm guessing that its only got the single tank :-(
Good thing that the GXL has diff locks as standard.

But the vehicle looks like an aftermarket conversion with the rear wheel arch still present.

I'd love to order one, but now not so sure.....troopie still looks better to me.
AnswerID: 492186

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 20:44

Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 20:44
Maybe I could get to like it? Put a nice custom canopy on the tray....price would blow out above $80k before you know it. Is it really worth $25k more than a BT50?
FollowupID: 767835

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 01:09

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 01:09
"Is it really worth $25k more than a BT50?".........

Yes, it's a Toyota!!!
FollowupID: 767857

Follow Up By: Member - Lloyd M - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 07:04

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 07:04
Look where the rear axle is, how much weight are you going to be able to put behind it. I my opinion they should have moved the rear axle back towards the rear of the tray to enable a reasonable load to be carried. Especially when you consider the cost of the vehicle.

FollowupID: 767860

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 08:35

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 08:35
BT 50 Pfttt. Love to see one of them pull our tash mahal.
FollowupID: 767861

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 08:41

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 08:41
Seriously one would eliminate a trailer. Our 76 is ready for a trade in lets see what we end up with? Gunna have to change "old girl" she has gone to a new owner.
FollowupID: 767863

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 18:16

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 18:16
Old Girl,
I know what you are talking about. On the flat the mid sized utes and 4wds catch me like I am standing still but when they are behind me and we hit a climb I just watch them go backwards.

It is interesting as many of these vehicles are supposed to nearly the same torque as my vehicle.

I also have spoken to many who tow with these new wisbangs and they state some awesome fuel figures, until you question them. Oh I take my figures overall as we don't do many K's without the van. That seems pretty strange to me that you would tow a van many K's and not have a look around.

Back to the main post. I have seen identical 100 series as the new Tojo V8's. In fact there was one about 100 metres from home today that was identical to the new release.
FollowupID: 767900

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 18:48

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 18:48
I agree with Loyd M, What weight will it carry?, Designed to carry four miners and there eskys, That rear axle needs to pushed back, Landrover sorted that issue out with the 130 a hundred years ago...lol.

FollowupID: 767905

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 19:38

Saturday, Aug 04, 2012 at 19:38
I disagree there.

A good mate has new BT, and has covered 30,000kms towing a 27 foot van.

Using less then 15L/100kms, and even had it up to 130km/hr in NT no problems. Not very responsible i know. But you cant tell me they dont have thew power.

Power to weight ratio will pull a 76 backwards.

I have driven many of these 76s over the past couple of years, and am disappointed everytime. Our work Hiluxs tow the 3T diggers far easier and with less fuel.

For serious 0ffroad i would pick the Tojos hand down. But on highway, or towing you wouldnt stand a chance against the new BT or Ranger. Way safer also.

Put some weight in that tray and watch the bugger lay down on its side. I can see a heap of these rolling over out bush and in the mines.

Everyone who owns a 76 that i know (about 10), has had to fit a chip and exhaust just to make it driveable and able to tow comfortably offroad. Now thats an extra cost of $3-$4k.

Spend that amount of on a new BT50, and you will be able to pull the earth backwards.

FollowupID: 767910

Reply By: Diesel 'n Dust - Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 23:39

Friday, Aug 03, 2012 at 23:39
I'm in a right pickle now!!

now its either the dual cab 70 series or a good second hand 100 series diesel for my next purchase.

decisions, decisions!

ta

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

AnswerID: 492208