My wife wants a boat loader!

Submitted: Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 15:52
ThreadID: 97360 Views:7959 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
After 9 weeks of driving me around, including a 1250km trip she has decide that in the interest of her health,, whoops I mean my health she needs a boat loader so my shoulder (read shoulder reconstruction) and other body parts will not be damaged again.

So I went around to Almac trailers here in Bundaberg and had a look at the electric one. It looked good and come with a luggage rack.

The cost was $3560. Thats about a $1000 more than the boat and motor cost new.

Has anyone tried a rear loading boat trailer without the electrics, and was it 'hard' on the shoulders and back.

Any help would be appreciated as I will be unable to use the boat for several months as I will not be able to get it on and off the top of the pod without a loader.

I did ask the wife to do it,,,,I'm still seeing the doctor about the black eye. LOL

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 16:40

Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 16:40
Hi Boo Boo,

I had a Rhino Rack boat loader on my Troopy and did not find it too hard
at all. SWMBO should be able to wind it up without too much assistance;))

I believe that you can attach a cordless drill to the winch to make it even easier.

Rgds...and good fishing

MJ
AnswerID: 492668

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 16:45

Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 16:45
G'day Michael

I did see a Rhino on ebay and thought they looked ok.

Might go back into the rhino site and have a look for more info on the manual type.

FollowupID: 768323

Follow Up By: Bob - Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 16:58

Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 16:58
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The For Sale/Wanted to Buy Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 768324

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H1 (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 18:44

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 18:44
Rhino also make a side loaded, you don't have to unhook the van to use it.

PeterH
FollowupID: 768363

Reply By: Ross M - Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 18:52

Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 18:52
If you already have the rack and the rollers, Supercheap sell a small 12v electric which which could be used to drag it up/onto the truck while you watch from a safe distance.

You may not be a chicken but apparently you can't duck.

Ross M
AnswerID: 492676

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:29

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:29
Thanks for the boxing advice, a bit late. lol

Unfortunately I have only got three bars on the roof, so I need the racks and rollers.

FollowupID: 768347

Reply By: Member - Terry D (Brisbane QLD - Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 19:37

Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 19:37
Boo Boo
Try Tinnie Tosser (Bowline P/L) at Morayfield Brisbane (Glen on 0419674343). Great product and heavy duty, my rig weighs a bit over 100 kgs and will also carry crab pots and two full 24 lt fuel tanks. Easy to wind (manual), there is also an option for electric winch, but in my opinion, not necessary.
Terry
AnswerID: 492678

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:31

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:31
Terry

Do you know how much they are?

FollowupID: 768348

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:46

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:46
Terry

Do you know how much they are?

FollowupID: 768353

Follow Up By: Member - Terry D (Brisbane QLD - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 19:35

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 19:35
Hi Boo Boo
Depends on vehicle, boat size, etc, mine is about $1900 now, but ring Glen for the $$ for your rig, great product and not as limited as the RHINO rack (kg capacity that is).
TD
FollowupID: 768367

Reply By: margery l - Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 21:05

Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 21:05
Go with the best you can afford, we went with a side loader from flip en easy with an electric thingie. It means that either of us can put the tinnie on no drama, although I don't get to play with it too often. They also make a great fold up trailer which mounts on the van.
Margie
AnswerID: 492683

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:37

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:37
G'day Margie

I am now actually thinking about a side loader as well.

Mainly because I won,t normally be off loading from the car at the boat ramp, I will be using my trailer when we set up somewhere.
FollowupID: 768349

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 23:56

Friday, Aug 10, 2012 at 23:56
Buy a new bigger boat.........the boat lifter will then look cheap in comparison and will solve all problems. LOL
AnswerID: 492693

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:39

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:39
Hairy

My wife wants to havea word with you. LOL

FollowupID: 768350

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:53

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:53
Yeah no worries........what size boat do you want? I normally use the theory of doubling what you really want comprimising for half and they walk away thinking they won. LOL
FollowupID: 768354

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 10:58

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 10:58
We have a custom boat loader......mate has one too... we are both extremely happy with ours

http://www.customboatloaders.com.au/

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 492697

Reply By: hazo - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 11:16

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 11:16
I've had a Rhino rear loader for a couple of years now, it uses a battery drill to load/unload very simple, hardest bit is tying the boat on really.

Don't think Rhino do the manual winch model anymore.

I met a guy with one of the more expensive winch/remote controlled one's and it had failed a couple of times but had been installed by an agent, not the manufacturer.

He was not too happy with it, I find like most things in life, keep it as simple as possible.
AnswerID: 492698

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:42

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:42
I'm going to have a look at one on Monday if I can find a distributor in Bundaburg.

FollowupID: 768351

Follow Up By: hazo - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 14:15

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 14:15
Just be aware the sideloader Rhino does not carry as much weight as the rear loader, also I have a basket on the rear two bars which holds the light gear, the side loader cannot use a basket for storage under the boat as it would get in the way as the boat slides on.
FollowupID: 768355

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 11:21

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 11:21
come on Boo, don't throw your hard earned on unnecessary conveniences - let her lift it on herself. Think of the money you'll save. You could buy her a new iron and still have enough left for a lifetime of beer.

AnswerID: 492699

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:44

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 13:44
My wife also wants a word with you as well. LOL

FollowupID: 768352

Reply By: Member - Peter H1 (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 18:47

Saturday, Aug 11, 2012 at 18:47
Don't forget its the max load [kg's] the roof can carry that governs what you use and size of boat.

PeterH
AnswerID: 492717

Follow Up By: Geoff in SA - Sunday, Aug 12, 2012 at 14:30

Sunday, Aug 12, 2012 at 14:30
I think in all of this the most sensible response has been from Peter and the weight issue. I think it would be a great idea for this site to have a listing of max weight a vehicle can actually (and within the law) carry. ans as fro the post of a 100kg tinny, the boat loader at about 30kgs and the two fuel tanks at another 50 kgs the poor old cruiser was way over limit. legality and insurance come into play. now add the weight of contents of the tow vehicle, fridge, fuel, passangers and of course the tow ball weight and you will see this rig is in no way legal. and the insurance will be null and void.
when are people going to understand the Max weight all up a toyota, nissan or what ever can actually legally carry. and the roof loading is really not what you think you are able to just stick up there.

Have a think about this when loading up for a trip, either a short or a long one.

still in vietnam on the way to Da Nang

FollowupID: 768393