Plastic jerry can lids

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 15:50
ThreadID: 9743 Views:3498 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
G'day all,

I bought some (4) yellow plastic Nylex jerry cans late last year and have been using them to supplement our water supplies. The larger of the two caps on a couple of them has split, rendering them useless. I assume this may be due to them becoming pressurised because of the extreme temperature they have been exposed to. Anyway, it seems silly to throw away perfectly good containers just because their lids are cactus, so my question is: Does anyone know where I can source the lids only for this style of jerry can?"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat

Reply By: Member - Peter (York) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:05

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:05
there is a plastics shop in Albany WA that sells tops only I think they are called plastics plus , or something similar99 GU Patrol 4.2 TD
Peter York 4x4
AnswerID: 42958

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:13

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:13
Hey Wombat,

There is a plastics shop in Thomastown just a couple of doors down from Subway (where the Megamart is!!)
They have all sorts of plastics bits and pieces.

Leroy
FollowupID: 305249

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 17:27

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 17:27
Leroy,

Can you send me your email address to Paul at backhouse-thomas dot com dot au as I have a couple of questions re the Waeco battery pack. Thanks for the tip on the plastics."Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 305269

Reply By: Michael - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:07

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:07
Gday, Nylex has a few factories, injection and blowmoulding. Maybe go to somewhere that sells them , check the label and find out the address where they are manufactured. They would definately be made in oz so ring them and ask for free replacements.. Michael
AnswerID: 42959

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:27

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:27
I am 'in the plastics business' and have contacts in Nylex. If you cant source them locally give me the details and I can but ask :-)
AnswerID: 42964

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:33

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:33
Hi Wombie

Plastics Unlimited in Thomastown near Megamart may have them...but you had better move quickly as they are closing down....R they the can's Al got you...if so..did you speak with him about them...he might be able to help you out...

LynLife - Live it , Love it !

AnswerID: 42966

Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 17:26

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 17:26
gday wombat.
dont be so misserable and buy new ones lol.
ps when you do instead of throwing out the old useless ones(well they dont have a lid)you may as well give to to a good home(me)lol
you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

AnswerID: 42981

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 18:11

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 18:11
G'day Wombie, I use the plastic containers that are fuel grade for water and have been for about 5 years with no problems. They are stronger, at 10litres, easier to handle and haven't had any problems with them not being food grade as such. (Apart from my Dyslexia, Alzheimers and two heads that is)Dare to Lead not to Follow
AnswerID: 42989

Reply By: Phil G - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 21:00

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 21:00
Some of the camping stores stock spare lids. I got some from Snowys in Adelaide.
AnswerID: 43010

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:33

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:33
Hey Wombat,

How are you? Go to the Big Stores and put them in your pocket while you are browsing...then they're free or go back to the shop yoi bought themn from and demand warranty claims :-)))) If all else fails buy new containers and give to old ones to poor old Jemima Duck...hahahahaha

Willem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 43035