Patrol ST-L 3.0 TD

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 21:47
ThreadID: 9754 Views:2026 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
I'm looking at buying a new Patrol ST-L 3.0 TD but, I have a few questions, just wonder if anyone here can help.

Why can you only get cruise control on the 4.2 and not the 3.0?
What make and size is the winch that Nissan offer from their parts list?
General feedback on the 3.0 v the 4.2.
Should I go for Manual or Auto? It will be my main car but, I will be playing with it at least one weekend a month (VIC high country environment), with at least one 2-3 week tour a year.

Thanks for any feedbak you can provide. It's a lot of dosh to shell out and I would like some feel good factor from you guys before I sign on the line.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:19

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:19
You can get cruise control on the 3.0..
Nissan dont know what brand winch they sell? Warn.
4.2 lightyears more reliable.

Search archives, or at least the last 2 pages for 1920480238402398 threads on 3.0 V 4.2 etc etc.

Auto or manual is your own choice. For me Auto.
AnswerID: 43028

Follow Up By: LBJ - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 17:02

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 17:02
truckster you are wright in saying you can get cruise for 3.0ltr but it is after market. the reason for nissan not doing it is because the 3.0 are fly by wire which means the have no excellerator cable only a sensor. nissan seems to think that cruise would be dangerous if the sensor sh#t itself....
FollowupID: 305439

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 22:02

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 22:02
Nissan will do it, they have done several on users on the patrol list.

FollowupID: 305494

Follow Up By: LBJ - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:18

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:18
they are still an aftermarket product. they are an auto mate brand made by the command group and the kit comes in 3 seperate parts(actuator, module and stalk). they are a universal fittment for the patrol, navara and the x trail. nissan only backed this brand because it came out of testing with a 93% success rate. my OPINION is that cruise control fitted to a vehicle with fly by wire is not safe. i know that it probably never will stuff up but i still think that they are no good. as i said it only my opinion...
FollowupID: 305521

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 21:13

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 21:13
Yes they are made by an aftermarket company, like the "Nissan Bullbars" made by ARB, and many other "GENUINE" products.

The Cruise control is an offical Nissan Accessory now.
FollowupID: 305579

Reply By: Phil P - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:20

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:20
Hi Glyn,

Most dealers can organise an after market cruise control for the 3.0L for around $500 fitted.

I have an Auto 3.0L and love it.

The 3.0L is a newer generation motor that produces more power with less fuel as compared to the 4.2L.

Phil P
AnswerID: 43029

Reply By: Rowler - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:25

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:25
Why buy new?
Well to get a brand new car I suppose..... but if you want to save yourself $20,000 why not check out the government auctions in your state & get one say 15 months or so old!
I bought a GU111 2002 st cab chassis with all the extras for $36,000 ($53500 new)
with a full service history & I am very pleased........ I can buy a lot of extras for $17,000.

My state gov. auctions are at www.auctions.sa.gov.au/
they have a great online catalogue with details, pictures & price history of the last 8 weeks auctions.

Cheers Rowler
AnswerID: 43032

Follow Up By: Rowler - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:28

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:28
I just checked the auctions site & they held the auction today (every wednesday) so the catalogue is empty, check on friday..

Cheers Rowler
FollowupID: 305312

Follow Up By: Rowler - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:29

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:29
Price history still available though
FollowupID: 305314

Follow Up By: Glyn - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:33

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 22:33
The company is buying the car, so it's got to be a new one under the fleet agreement. I agree, if it was my cash, pre-loved cars as the way to go.
FollowupID: 305317

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:35

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:35
If the company is buying go the 4.2

FollowupID: 305335

Reply By: Mark - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:47

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:47
I have recently bought an ST manual 3.0TD GU with ABS and am wrapped in it, especially after my 80 series 1HZ (non-turbo). Forgot what it was like to have a 4WD with a decent amount of power. I know there are heaps of knockers of the 3.0TD, but I for one can live with the supposed faults of the 3.0TD compared to the ultra-reliable, but gutless, 1HZ.

I have fitted the Autron cruise control and hey, what a great product. Only problem is the $650 damage to buy. I have also added an overhead console (houses Barret remote head HF and GME UHF plus EPIRB), cargo barrier, snorkel, dual batts, Ramsay winch (2nd hand from my old cruiser), ARB compressor and Cooper 285/75 ST's. Currently still fitting my water tank and rear _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx. Its set up to do long distance touring and seems to fill the role really well.

As for the Nissan winch, see if ARB still have the ARB + warn 9,000lb deal for ~$2400. Works out cheaper than the Nissan setup. I believe the Nissan winch is also the 9,000lb warn, but thats from a salesman!!! Also told by ARB that the Nissan bar is actually made by ARB (but slightly different design)

As for man vs auto, I have found the 3.0TD a tad low on power below say 900 rpm when towing (1.6T), only on takoff. An auto would mask this problem and after driving my brother-in-laws auto 3.0TD for a while, I could live with an auto (but still prefer manual if not towing)

As for 3.0 vs 4.2 , unless you are travelling in areas where relibility is a life and death issue and you have no means of communication, I would go the 3.0TD. It is SO much better to drive and far more economical. The 3.0TD is latest technology and as such depend on airflow sensors, EGR valves, fuel pressure sensors etc... and if a fault develops they go into limp home mode. The 4.2 is from the 50's era, but hey it is bulletproof (note that the new intercooled 4.2 now has an electronically controlled fuel injection pump, no longer the old but proven mechanical one). But I chose the 3.0TD and can live with the slightly lower relaibility to enjoy the benefits of the later technology. Its all about horses for courses.

As for price, make sure you screw nissan for a decent fleet discount. I got my ST with ABS for 42.5K + GST + ORC, and that included roo bar, tow bar and IPF spotties. Fleet discount makes a new vehcile close to the same price as a 2nd hand ex-govt auction one, not fair for private buyers who have to pay full retail for new or only get 2 year old ex-govt one for same price.

AnswerID: 43058

Reply By: Nomad - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 00:24

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 00:24
G'day Glyn,

I have a 3Lt auto Nissan and it would be the greatest thing since sliced bread. We have all heard about supposed faults, oarticularly with the early models but my 2000 model has never set a foot wrong. Maybe I've been lucky but I think it's more to do with regular and proper servicing and driving it like it's worth $50,000.

Don't get me wrong, I don't baby it by any means, it works hard, but I don't abuse it. There is no appreciably difference in the power or torque of the 4.2 compared to the 3lt. Why everyone keeps saying to get a 4.2 for towing I've got no idea. We tow an off road camper trailer everywhere we go and would usually gross 3.5 tonne. That includes Fraser Island and Vic high country. Brilliant fuel economy and no real lack of power. By the way, the intercooler they put on the latest 4.2 came off the original 2.8lt. It is smaller than the one on the 3lt.

Nissan supplied cruise control on my truck. It's a Command Cruise Control by a mob called Sogalu Pty Ltd of 17 Daphne St Botany in Sydney. It is fitted to the steering column near the indicator stalk. Works very well. I certainly can't drive as smoothly as the cruise.

As for auto v manual, I don't think you can beat the auto. You've probably got to experience it to appreciate the advantages but if you ever go into the sand, either beach or desert, then you just cannot beat it. Even on steep off road tracks it is just great. I believe it gives you superior control over your use of power. I also took out an extended warranty of an extra two years and extra 50,000K. cost about $900 but that only equals about the same cost of a major 40,000K service. Compared to a major failure thats petty cash. And in just over three years, the truck has only ever been serviced by the original supplier even though it means a 100K round trip.

Your call but you won't go wrong with the 3Lt.

See ya in tha bush. Treadlightly!

Nomad
AnswerID: 43063

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew O - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 13:40

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 13:40
"my 2000 model has never set a foot wrong. Maybe I've been lucky but I think it's more to do with regular and proper servicing and driving it like it's worth $50,000"

Here here Nomad - couldn't agree more. I travel a fair bit, and enjoy speaking to fellow Nissan owners - funny how in the real world people have nothing but praise for the car.

The other day, I was in a traffic queue at some roadworks - an RTA guy jumped the concrete barrier to come and have a chat to me about the patrol - he owned the same car and loved it too

So much to see, too little time ...
FollowupID: 305406

Follow Up By: Brian - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:24

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:24
I agree.... our GQ is a 20K truck, but we treat it as though it's a 50K truck and regularly service it etc. and it doesn't let us down. I can't see the 3.0L being much different, or any vehicle for that matter!
just my opinion
FollowupID: 305428

Follow Up By: troy - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 20:45

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 20:45
Hey Nomad,
When u say billant fuel economy, what are u getting?
Troy
FollowupID: 305470

Follow Up By: Nomad - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 21:24

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 21:24
Yeh Troy

Around town it returns about 10.7lt/100k. On the recent 5500k trip to Melbourne, high country and the Kosciuszko area we turned 12.7. That was with trailer and grossing 3.5t. That included hard mountain work and 120k/h highway work.

Trip to Fraser over Christmas, New Year gave 17.5. That again included towing the trailer on the beach at 3.5t. Also included hundreds of k's of inland driving through very soft deep sand.

Not saying other vehicle don't return better, but for the size of the truck and the work it does, I'm am very happy with it. By comparision, my old EA Falcon Wagon averaged 15-20lt/100.

Nomad
FollowupID: 305483

Follow Up By: Mark - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 00:09

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 00:09
Hey Nomad, thats unreal economy!

I also have a 3.0TD (only 6,000kms old) but I get around 12l/100kms around town and 15.3l/100kms when towing (~100km/hr-minimal hills) a 1.6T off-road van.

My speedo was corrected by fitting 285/75 tyres. It was very optimistic before. Are your calcs based on the speedo and also, have you checked your speedo accuracy with a GPS?

Also, did you get such good economy from new, or did the motor loosen up?

FollowupID: 305506

Follow Up By: Nomad - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 10:19

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 10:19
G'day Mark

Have had speedo checked and the above figures are after allowing for correction. It reads faster than it's going. Saves a few fines!!!!

Your right, the economy improved as time went by but I've still only done 66k.

Nomad
FollowupID: 305526

Reply By: Glyn - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 00:04

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 00:04
Thanks you to everyone for the feedback, I think I'm sold on the 3.0 TD in Auto. I'm not going to be in the deepest darkest part of the outback so if the high tech options go wrong, I'll still be able to get some place for a tow.

Once again, thanks for the feedback.

C U later, in the bush, on the track, sipping a beer.
AnswerID: 43195

Reply By: prado95 - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 14:54

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 14:54
Autronic (sp?) do cruise control for drive by wire engines, with up to 3 pre-set speeds. Price is up to $1K with all the bits (fitted). Also has overspeed alarms.

Works great. Installation ~~ so so

AnswerID: 43677