waeco or engel

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:10
ThreadID: 9761 Views:2121 Replies:17 FollowUps:6
Just any info about waeco or engel???

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:18

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:18
Zzzzz.... me fink if you did a search you would find a stack of results. (oh buy the way Engel are the best!:-)

Leroy...hehe
AnswerID: 43046

Follow Up By: 10 Para- Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 11:48

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 11:48
We have Waecoe 80L on the camper & Waeco 35L in the Patrol both have performed reaaly weel and cannot fault them have to turn them both down or they freze everthing also have internal lights which are great.
Home For Xmas
FollowupID: 305385

Reply By: Mad Dog Morgan (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:22

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:22
Thats like Ford/Holden or Toyota/Nissan. Plently of success or disaster tales on both sides.I may be mad but I'm not crazy
BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
AnswerID: 43048

Reply By: Scott_G - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:31

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:31
mate there is no difference between an engel and a waeco in quality
an engel cost a hell of a lot more and if it break you cannot afford to get it repaired
in our club everybody has a fridge and engel fail as much as waeco fail
waeco has good service for repair and engel have to be sent away and take long time to come back and pay heaps in freight
buy waeco
AnswerID: 43052

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:31

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:31
Search the Archives....this is probably one of the most asked questions.

I'll stick with Engel. Pay the price and get the best.

Willem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 43053

Reply By: chapo - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:57

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 23:57
If you want the best buy an Autofridge!
AnswerID: 43061

Follow Up By: Brian - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 10:01

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 10:01
Here Here!!!
10 years flogging never missed a beat!
FollowupID: 305368

Follow Up By: Geoff - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 12:37

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 12:37
Yep!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 305392

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:21

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:21
Gets my vote too!Cheers, Jim

"Lead, Follow.....or get out of the way!!"
FollowupID: 305425

Reply By: Steve L - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 07:25

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 07:25
We got one of the first Waecos in the country in mid 2000 when they were released, and would buy another over an Engel any day.

I have heard of problems with both, but as stated, if the Engel fails go buy a new one (it's cheaper!). Waecos use a Danfoss compressor which can be fixed/replaced by almost any refrigeration tech anywhere in the country. Also much lighter. Our 3 year old Waeco still performs better than a mates new Engel.

Me? I'll stick to the Waeco thanks.
AnswerID: 43073

Reply By: flappan - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 09:05

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 09:05
Dont buy either . . . get an EvaKool.
AnswerID: 43080

Follow Up By: Viola - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 11:05

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 11:05
Darling we had an Engel first and it broke dear after 19 months. Darling because it looks like I am made of money they wanted $917 to fix it. Darling that was $70 short of buying a new one. Darling what is more they would only give me 3 months warranty after spending all that money. Darling I may be a few grapes short of a bunch but darling I am not a fool.
Darling the refrigeration man said to me to buy an Evakool and it is fabulous darling. I can leave it in the car running all day and the battery does not go flat. Darling in my shopping trolley car it does not have a second battery like our 4WD. The Engel used to run my battery flat in the same time. Darling the shop I bought the Evakool put some white plastic corner mounts in the station wagon and just have two ockey straps to keep it in place. Darling I love my Evakool nearly as much as my lovely husband
FollowupID: 305379

Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:46

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:46
Viola,
Your husband must be quite some man if he can even compare with an Evakool....
FollowupID: 305433

Reply By: bruce - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 09:07

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 09:07
Had an Engel 60l..great unit..just got to big and heavy for our needs...bought a 50l Waeco..bit smaller , lighter...also great unit...cheers
AnswerID: 43081

Reply By: Member - Peter (York) - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 11:37

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 11:37
Both fridges have their plus and minus but what ever you get make sure you get a good quallity bag for it to protect it and help keep it cool also make sure that it is secured well in the 4x4 , look at a way of locking it to many have been stolen from backs of cars and at the campsites99 GU Patrol 4.2 TD
Peter York 4x4
AnswerID: 43091

Reply By: jemima puddle duck - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 12:25

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 12:25
gday kira.
just gone through the same thing.both as good and bad as each other
i ended up bying the weaco price wins and they will fix it in one day or they supply you with another one.
90ltr under $1000
you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

AnswerID: 43097

Reply By: Member - David- Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 12:38

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 12:38
We had an EvaKool for two years and I reckon it should've been called a NevaKool.

We were probably just unlucky, and at least they kept trying to fix it at no cost. We got tired of owning a fridge we couldn't trust, so got an Engel - no probs so far. Don't know about Waeco, although Waeco and EvaKool both use Danfoss compressors, which are s'posed to be good.
AnswerID: 43099

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 12:59

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 12:59
Both great units, I decided to go for the Waeco 80 ltr myself. Mainly due to price and after sales service costs. Have no regrets with the decision i made. I too have to drop the temp to around the second green light or it really does start to freeze up, but on hot days ..i love a half iced can of coke, so its perfect for me.

I just cant justify the repair cost that engle set for their products. Way over the top in my opinion.I love it when you talk DIRTY !
AnswerID: 43102

Reply By: bazza - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 20:34

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 20:34
Viola (jeannee) luuuuved your story - how about another one - say on
turbo v s/chgrs : -)
AnswerID: 43167

Reply By: bazza - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 20:34

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 20:34
Viola (jeannee) luuuuved your story - how about another one - say on
turbo v s/chgrs : -)
AnswerID: 43168

Reply By: bazza - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 20:38

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 20:38
Viola (jeannee) luuuuuved your story - how about another one on say -
turbos v s/chgrs
AnswerID: 43169

Reply By: Member - Nigel (QLD) - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:18

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:18
A mate who was considering a Waeco (engel cost too much to buy and even more to fix) changed his mind when he saw how good the evakool insulation was - in a closed car it was 45 degrees outside, 1.1 degree inside running at 2 out of 7 on the thermostat - the outside of the lid was too hot to touch - the drinks icy cold, and the battery not flat after a day.

Nearly all car fridges (except engel and reefer) use the same danfoss compressor, so the only factors to consider are insulation, service and price.

My folks only ever leave their Waeco running for short periods when the car isn't going so they didn't need the extra run time that good insulation allows. Whereas I like to go bush for days at a time without starting the car, so it was EvaKool for me.
AnswerID: 43206

Reply By: John - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 13:05

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 13:05
I bought my first engel a 29l. 25 yrs ago and it is still 100%. I haven't spent any money on it. I have since bought a bigger 39l about 3 yrs ago and again it is excellent. Just after new years we were up at Innamincka when it was 49-50c and the engel didn't have a problem, it just kept the beer cold.
I would be hard pressed to buy anything else.

John.
AnswerID: 43226