Which patrol would be best out of these?

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 10:00
ThreadID: 97666 Views:14444 Replies:11 FollowUps:17

Related Pages

hey there, long time reader first time poster!

I'm in the market for a 3ltr GU patrol, I'm a tradesman but a wagon would suit my trade better then a ute.

I have been looking on car sales/ebay/here for a few weeks now and think I have worked out what I want.

I have had drift cars/bikes/4x4 ute in the past, my last ute was a bfmkii with 310rwks heaps of fun but I think i got over it because of the 6sp auto... yes the ZF was faster and stronger then the manual but I honestly just got bored of driving it...

I have always been a manual kinda guy but have read the autos are much more reliable and capable off road (with reduction gears), but having said that will I get bored of the auto once again?

At this stage if I find a decently kitted up manual I wont say no, but would pref auto..

Price range is max 25, still unsure if I should buy a clean, stockish gv IV and above or settle for a 2003-2004 gu III with mods...

I was hoping you guys could help me make up my mind, I have been in a gu III patrol and I dont mind the interior at all, but the newer shape does look much nicer...

Think I have narrowed it down between these..

2002 NISSAN PATROL ST GU III MY2002 SUV Private Cars For Sale in VIC - carsales.com.au
Has all the bells and whistles, perfect for work and the weekend but manual and 2002 (heard they blow up the most?)

2004 NISSAN PATROL ST-L GU IV MY05 SUV Private Cars For Sale in VIC - carsales.com.au
Stock STL, love the interior but all the mods will end up costing me 35ish..

2003 NISSAN PATROL ST GU III MY2003 SUV Private Cars For Sale in SA - carsales.com.au
Seems perfect but high kms and no NADS mods maybe motor is close to letting go?

2003 NISSAN PATROL DX GU III MY2003 SUV Private Cars For Sale in QLD - carsales.com.au
Manual but low kms potentially longer life then the others.

I love the STL but I dont think my wallet will agree with me... Help me make up my mind!

Thoughts???????????

Reply By: bazz - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 10:36

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 10:36
The later model 3 L the better, earlier models had issues, go to Patrol forum there is a lot of info on the 3 ltr engine .... they can't be too bad a lot of nomads tow vans with them ..
AnswerID: 493638

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 11:22

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 11:22
Hate to tell you there is nothing fast or racey about a Patrol....... auto or manual.... it's a truck.

Our 200 series is only available in auto and the new Ranger we have just got is an auto.... we were keen on a manual but after driving an auto it's less of a chore.

The auto in the Ranger is miles in front of the auto in the 200 series, if the 200 had the Ranger auto I would be happy.
AnswerID: 493640

Follow Up By: Shaver - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 12:38

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 12:38
Strange you say that the Auto in the Ranger is miles ahead of the 200. I have had a BA XR8 & a BF11 Turbo 6 speed ZF and these can & will give problems with the cooling side of things. I currently have a 200 5 speed petrol Auto & although not the 6 in the Diesel has been a very good box. The only problem that was evident in the 6 speed 200 was the late change into 6th which has been corrected.
FollowupID: 769242

Follow Up By: Shaver - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 14:35

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 14:35
Probably should have been a bit clearer in regard to "cooling problems" ! If you have corrosion in the Heat Exchanger on the ZF & Coolant gets into the Mechatronics Module (inside the ZF gearbox) it will cost you $5,500 to replace the Module.
FollowupID: 769249

Follow Up By: SDG - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 22:11

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 22:11
Last Patrol I had before it was stolen, was able to have the speedo needle go past the last number on the speedo.
I would call it quick. Not very stable at speed, but quick.
It was written off at a police estimation of 140.
14/15 year olds just do not know how to handle speed, no matter how many racing games they play on the computer.
FollowupID: 769286

Reply By: cookie1 - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 11:51

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 11:51
I am an ex owner. I had them from the MK (1983) up to a GU (2010) and I must say the best one I had out of the GU was the 2002/2003 Di it went everywhere and anywhere and was a good reliable truck, although there are several reports about them going bang the biggest thing was that apparently most of them had some sort of modification which pushed the little 3l donk too far and weren't serviced regularly.

The 2010 CRD was a diesel guzzler and was getting 23L / 100, the clutch let go at 29,000km so put a solid mass flywheel in - I have been told since that the dual mass allow the clutch to "slip" and it is evident in not only the Patrol.

Given the attitude of my Nissan dealer I have since traded to a 200 series GX Cruiser and I don't think Nissan will be seeing any more of my money for a long time.
AnswerID: 493642

Follow Up By: GET ON ! - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 23:43

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 23:43
The 3 litre Patrol engine has a poor reputation, even current models still have the same problems that make them go bang. At some point the ECU doesn't calibrate information properly,sending the wrong information onto it's reciever,which results in certain cylinders going bang. Turbo glide in Sydney wrote a very precise account of how this happens on this site a few years ago. Thats how I know of it. After all that I've read on this site and the regular complaints that I read in the Harald Suns cars guide every week for the past few years. I wouldn't buy a 3 litre. My friend has a 2007 3 litre model, 125000kms young, on holiday in kakadu the Patrol goes bang. $16000. later the Patrol was back on the road. He can't afford to sell it until he pays off the loan for the $16000, for the new engine,and he hates the thing. Good luck. Another friend has the 4.8 litre petrol on gas and he loves it. What a powerful fast 4wd...
FollowupID: 769290

Follow Up By: Dough Boy - Monday, Aug 27, 2012 at 21:06

Monday, Aug 27, 2012 at 21:06
I have owned 2 patrols , a 2004 and a 2007 model . Both weregreat units for me .If I had to make a choice I would go with the 2007 CRD , never missed a beat and I regularly managed to get approx 12lts/100km , for a 2.5 tonne truck that aint bad . I believe that those talking about the engine blow up are those that have asked too much of the motor , after all its a 4 cylinder engine , I reckon many have lost sight of this
Good Luck in your quest
FollowupID: 769359

Follow Up By: GET ON ! - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2012 at 19:17

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2012 at 19:17
I reckon Dough Boy you may have lost sight of the fact that there are many different car makers putting 4 cyl turbo diesels unde their bonnets. However none have the terrible reputation that the Patrol has. I must also add that I have read and heard great reports about the 3 litre Patrols such as yours. A good friend of mine has a similar storie as your good self. 2 x 3 litre Patrols for work in the past 6 years, without an issue.... Just saying buyer beware..
FollowupID: 769467

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Aug 28, 2012 at 22:20

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2012 at 22:20
curious also though that the 3.0CRD being held up as good at 12L/100
I have a HDJ100 thats used as a family wagon and is steady at 13/100 solely around town and 115/100 highway with the family onboard (big family).
Those figures are pretty common for the HDJ I believe.
FollowupID: 769477

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2012 at 08:15

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2012 at 08:15
12L/100 I couldn't get near that and I know of a few others that can't either 23L/100 was what I was getting
FollowupID: 769486

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2012 at 10:11

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2012 at 10:11
I am surprised at the high fuel consumption of these japper diesels - my Rover TDV6 (2.7) which weighs 2.5t gets 7.5l/100km on the highway at 110kph and 10.5 around town - what more the engine does not go bang.
FollowupID: 769497

Reply By: mountainman - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 12:26

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 12:26
the patrols realy didnt gain their reliability till after 2008.
no engine troubles since, and thats from someone that knows at nissan.

and that people say the engines were mistreated and modified is a load of crap.
nissan warrantied many engines, past their warranty on the fact that it is well known in 4wd circles of the grenade engine.
especialy with service records, but some still never got covered with nissan.

DO NOT BUY A 2003 MODEL.
id hate to have in the back of my mind, a time ticking bomb, that WILL let go at any time, whether in the scrub, down town or on the highway.
AnswerID: 493645

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 16:37

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 16:37
Dont buy any 3 litre before about 2005 or 2006.. Within one or two years, you will be off the road with a blown motor and a bill of around 10 grand for a new motor. Not only that, you wont have a vehicle for your trade. Michael

AnswerID: 493656

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 17:17

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 17:17
This one

AnswerID: 493657

Reply By: emosh99 - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 17:55

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 17:55
The st-l has had an engine rebuild. The owner says he has receipts for everything, and has since fitted the boost and egt gauges.

Would this be an ok option to consider?

A crd is out of my budget unfortunately.
AnswerID: 493662

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 18:06

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 18:06
They go bang more than once.

Not sure why anyone would be considering one of these "grenades".
FollowupID: 769256

Follow Up By: emosh99 - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 18:34

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 18:34
What other options are there? Fuel efficient capable 4x4?

Cruiser on lpg? Love te defender but all have very high Kms and expensive to repair..

I love the tritons (hiluxs are way to overpriced and over rated) I have had a 3ltr diesel ra rodeo before, ifs + leaf got me where I wanted to go (after some help with winches and snatches) but always managed to get hung up on the control arms, all the patrol boys sailed through...
FollowupID: 769259

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 19:01

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 19:01
Mate if you like the Defenders, hunt one down in good condition!. Don't be misguided by repair bills, as time goes on their no worse than anything else and actually part supply for all models is excellent as there are so many importers these days its no longer a worry.

FollowupID: 769266

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 20:17

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 20:17
Defenders are not "more expensive" to repair than any other 4wd. Just think of the repair cost when your Patrol goes bang - it is not a case of if but when.

There are heaps of alternatives to the Patrol but if you are prepared to take the risk on a 3 litre patrol then go for it.
FollowupID: 769277

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 18:47

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 18:47
None of the Above

With 3 4800 Petrol GU Patrols at our house you could perhaps say we are biased however they are there because we have the facilites to check out many cars in head to head comparisons and they simply win.

Of course there are many good cars out there and wether a car is right for you is the same as the advice we always give - that is carefully define your requirement and be serious about it.

E.G. If I wanted to tow a big van or get a 2000km range away from Victoria I would get a 200 series but I don't so I haven't.

So what is your requirement ?

Some people want a diesel even if a calculation shows it to have higher life cycle costs, less power, smaller brakes and prone to reliability issues - and the real reason when you get right down to it may be simply image or in some cases not enough research.

This may or may not be your critrea Emosh - I don't know but you need to.

If you have any specific issues re various Patrol configurations please ask.

As an aside the latest 4800 GU at our place will be for my son and reading between the lines his requirement could be yours.

1/ Mandatory manual.
2/ Good handling
3/ Lots of power and lots of torque
4/ Cheaper to run than 3lt diesel (Duel fuel gas injection - not my cup of tea)
5/ $20000 (2002 model)
6/ Capable of having an internal double bed.
7/ Mostly can be maintained by owner.

AnswerID: 493665

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 22:25

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 22:25
"....you could perhaps say we are biased...."

Never noticed......:)

FollowupID: 769287

Reply By: Teejay - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 19:22

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 19:22
Hi emosh99,

you really need to go to the Patrol 4X4 Forum. Some of the common misinformation regarding the "grenade" engine is present here. Yes, some of them went bang but for the best info on this subject look elsewhere. TJ..
AnswerID: 493666

Reply By: emosh99 - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 20:00

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 20:00
thanks very much for your replys all!

Firstly Robin, when you say cheaper to run then a 3ltr, are we talking fuel and service cost over time? Having owned a diesel before, I understand more regular service intervals, the cost of the diesel pumps ect ect but was just under the impression petrols/spark plugs dont do too good when going through rivers?

I'm a sparky so all I realistically need is something with
full length racks; 'bazooka' tube for conduits, ladders ect
decent amount of storage for tools/cable/material ect shelves/cargo can be a bonus but not so good when I have to carry boxes of lights for eg that wont fit due to the shelves/barrier.
decent ground clearance for those muddy construction sites - in reality the clearance of any soft roader will be sufficient
something reliable

For the weekend, more of a tourer/day trip truck; no massive lifts needed.
I don't tow anything greater then a standard box trailer.
I do plan on doing some cross aus trips down the track once the truck is more capable.

I'm well aware that no decent 4x4 will return great economy, the other ifs 4x4 utes do, but I would much rather something more capable. What I mean by fuel efficient is that I would settle for a petrol/lpg combo but wont be happy with a patrol 20+l/100 truck.

I was initially after a manual, but as stated I think I may prefer the auto.. are the 5 speed autos in the 4.8 a good match?

There a few lpg 4.8s on car sales, some have a factory looking LPG button on the dash, are these standard from nissan or just a good copy button?

Also as far as I'm aware, there are two main types of LPG, one being direct injection and the other with a converter (forget the name). Should I avoid the converter setup or do they run OK with the 4.8s?

Thank you kindly to all for your help
AnswerID: 493669

Follow Up By: emosh99 - Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 20:11

Sunday, Aug 26, 2012 at 20:11
This Ti is advertised as a 4.5 but appears to be a 4.8. Quiet a few luxuries, no LPG though... good value for money?

http://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/nissan-patrol-2001-12607511?ref=Item

Nice and decked out, on gas and local (Victoria)
http://www.carsales.com.au/private/details/nissan-patrol-2004-12834996?ref=Item

Thoughts on these?
FollowupID: 769274

Follow Up By: uppy - Wednesday, Aug 29, 2012 at 16:56

Wednesday, Aug 29, 2012 at 16:56
hi emoah 99.Ive brought a 2005 4.8 sts for less than 25,000$ more than happy with it .Looking at doing many trips in the out back .Great power and driven in a reasonable manner ,
fuel runs around 17lt/100.In saying that Ive been driving a gq 4.2 petrol for the last 10 years ,without any real problem .cheers Uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

FollowupID: 769518

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 30, 2012 at 14:02

Thursday, Aug 30, 2012 at 14:02
Hi Emosh

I almost didn't see your questions there.

The 4800 is a quite different beast to the 4500 and superior in every way and I wouldn't consider a 4500.

I see 4800 as one of the lowest cost full size wagons to own not because of fuel costs which are high but because of total life cycle costs which include typical repairs and depreciation.

Leaving out those two factors the 3lt is cheaper on a fuel and dealer servicing basis only.

The 4800 though can be serviced at home at requires very little with a low special tools requirement and these things make it a very fixable car in the outback.

The spark plugs issues you reffered to simply don't exist in cars like the 4800 since these days they are driven by individual coil packs on top of the engine at a height of 1.3m and are completely sealed.
You don't even need to check them until 100,000km.

I'm not a fan of gas for reliability issues which depend so much on the individual installation and the majority of which end up causing head issues.
However I think I mentioned that we have one in our stable and it runs well and cheaply (It had a $6000 head rebuild before we aquired it).

A 4800 GU on petrol only will take more out of your pocket each week and some people don't like this even though they win in the long term , so consider this before buying one.

The 5 speed tiptronic auto is a great gearbox well matched to the 4800 and far outperforms the old 4 speed unit used in the 3lt, it uses about 1lt more on average than the manual.

There is no real off-road performance difference between the manual and the auto in the 4800 because the great torque of the engine makes the autos advantages in sand less relevant - however this downhill braking was a real issue in my auto version until I fitted 43% reduction gears.

The auto will outrace the manual to 100kmh but the manual will go from 80-110kmh almost 2 seconds quicker than the auto as gear changes aren't required. The manuals can reach 200kmh due to near perfect
gearing.

FollowupID: 769563