Engine cooling

Submitted: Monday, Sep 03, 2012 at 21:54
ThreadID: 97818 Views:4832 Replies:10 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all

I've got a 85 model HJ 75 Troopy with a 05 1HDFTE conversion. I'm worried about keeping the big donk cool. I could only fit a smaller gel fan because of space restrictions In the engine bay.
This is fine in Sydney but the temperater needle has lifted once before on the beach. I was able to pull straight over but now I'm ummm a little concerned.

I've lookied into other ways if keeping it cool ie oil coolers and water jets etc.

I'm by no means a mechanic but I love this truck and don't want to cop 10k for a new engine.

Any thoughts would be really appreciated...
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Sep 03, 2012 at 23:45

Monday, Sep 03, 2012 at 23:45
Hi james,

Not sure how far you are intending to go but here is what I have done.

I have a '91 HZJ 75 to which I have fitted a 1HD-FT. I noticed that towing a 22' caravan in ambients any higher than the mid 30's would cause the original temp gauge to climb alarmingly even without the use of the air con and this was with the old 1HZ slugger fitted. When I did the conversion I had the radiator tanks removed and the core "rodded', fitted a new thermostat and replaced the fan clutch assembly. In addition to this I removed the standard air con condenser that lived in front of the radiator and had a roof mounted unit fitted. I also replaced the standard water temp and oil pressure gauges with VDO units as IMHO the standard Toyota gauges are little better than idiot lights to accurately monitor these functions. So far the temp gauge climbs to about 85 degrees C and sits there within 5 degrees regardless of ambient temps, gradients and air con on or off.
Cost a few bucks to get all this done but I would rather do all this and not have to rebuild a toasted engine and then still have to do some mods so that it did not recur.

Cheers
Pop
AnswerID: 494202