Rain and Bad Fuel Economy

Submitted: Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 11:57
ThreadID: 9791 Views:1371 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
Good rain in Qld this week, which everyone would know about, after the Isa got 189mm overnight, and some 30 houses flooded. We've ended up with "only" 97mm since 11/01, while other stations in the area have had over 300mm. Good floods in the Barcoo, Thompson and Diamantina too, so we should have a good crop of flies, to greet any of you folk heading into the Channel country, in the cooler months.

Wife and daughter were travelling back from Mt Isa on Tuesday, via Winton, through some of this rain, and being the concerned hubby, took another Tojo up to meet them.(Nothing about being sick of toasted sangers!) Put the chains on before I left, because it's a bugger of a job at any time, let alone lying in the mud and slush. Travelled about 90kms, to a flooded creek, where we left their vehicle, and waded across waist deep water.
Was a slow trip up and back, much of it in low range, but no further heavy rain at that time, from the threatening clouds. For the 191km return trip, took just under 7 hours, and used 91 litres of diesel. That's 2.09km/L, or 47.6L/100km - almost roadtrain economy. Also illustrates that when it's wet, on gravel roads, the usual highway averages will through the roof, or is that bonnet, in an automotive sense?

Looks like we'll be flying out on holidays next week

Hooroo...

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 13:12

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 13:12
G'day BobY. Glad to hear your getting some decent rain. Feel free to send some down the darling to give it a bit of a flush. When the mud settles, you can have a decent shower now. Have a good holiday anyway. Dare to Lead not to Follow
AnswerID: 43227

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:33

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:33
Des,
We've got plenty of water, I shower everyday.:-) With the amount of water around here at moment, would like to have one of those airboats!!!
FollowupID: 305623

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 13:53

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 13:53
Good to see that dry country getting decent rain.

I recall travelling through from the Isa to Townsville circa 1971 (when some of the roads were still dirt) during January and being sideways most of the time in the mud and slush. Then some of the blacksoil packed up under the guards and we were going nowhere. Lots of laughing and mud ensued but we got there in the end.

From good rains comes good pasture, fat cattle and hopefully better prices to pay the never ending bills.

Have a nice holiday away from the flies:-)

CheersWillem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 43230

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:37

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:37
Thanks willem,

First cattle sale of year, prices were up 20-30 cents, pity the fellars who have completely destocked through the drought, and need to start from scratch. Very expensive!

With that sticky mud, someone should devise a teflon coating for inside of guards, maybe it would fall off easier then.

Going to swap the flies for homo sapiens!
Hooroo...
FollowupID: 305624

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 14:58

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 14:58
G'day Bob
About time the outback got a bit of rain. Suppose you don't really want 300 as that much may well do more harm that good - or is evey bit welcome?
Geez - you almost needed a 44 in the back to keep up with that fuel consumption. If you get too much more rain you may not be flying anywhere or is the strip safe from flooding? If you get out I hope it's a good holiday.
Enjoy that rain while you can.
AnswerID: 43235

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:43

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:43
Moose,
Best general rain for at least 4 years, in Qld. Drought in 2002 has made things pretty hard for a lot of people.
One good thing about tojos utes is their 180L fuel capacity, reckon it would have got a lot of people out of the poo, over the years.

Our airstrip is gravel, and enough is above flood height to land a light plane safely. About a third of it is underwater this morning. Yeah, think we'll enjoy the break away, Moose, thanks.

Hooroo...
FollowupID: 305626

Reply By: CHRIS - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 06:25

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 06:25
BOB Y,
Your not out EULO way are you.
AnswerID: 43308

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:43

Saturday, Jan 17, 2004 at 09:43
No, Chris, south of Winton.

Hooroo...
FollowupID: 305627