Take iour 20ft Jayco Heritage on oodnadatta track.

Submitted: Monday, Sep 10, 2012 at 15:18
ThreadID: 97943 Views:4013 Replies:10 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
We are hoping to travel on the Oodnadatta track in 2013 and wre wondering if anyone of you readers has pulled their Jayco 20ft Heritage van through there. I am a careful driver, no rip, bleep and bust driving. What do you think?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Sep 10, 2012 at 17:42

Monday, Sep 10, 2012 at 17:42
We drove the track a few years back in our Camper Trailer. A Kiwi mate travelled with us in his Golf Tourer, single axle independent suspension. He had no problems.

We saw a couple of Jayco Style vans with leaf springs etc whilst on the trip and I didn't see anyone with any problems on the road.
AnswerID: 494646

Reply By: Member - Vern (North Haven SA) - Monday, Sep 10, 2012 at 19:29

Monday, Sep 10, 2012 at 19:29
Hi
I drove this track in June and it was like a freeway for most of the way , then we encountered rain which never let up and the track went from freeway to a struggle to drive with a 4x4.

So my point is you need to be vary wary of the weather as this is the major contributing factor you need to consider

With all that said you need to drive to the conditions, however I would not like to be towing a van on the track when it gets wet.
AnswerID: 494651

Reply By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Monday, Sep 10, 2012 at 19:33

Monday, Sep 10, 2012 at 19:33
Hi Des and Lynley,

Provided your van has adequate clearance you should be ok. Is it underslung?

Last year we travelled the Oodnadatta Track and other dirt roads (Mereenie Loop) with our 18 ft Jayco sterling Outback in tow..and brother and sister in law accompanied us in their Jayco eagle (or similar), not an outback model.