Cooper AT3's

Submitted: Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 12:44
ThreadID: 98013 Views:25581 Replies:15 FollowUps:19
I put a set of Cooper AT3's on my Ranger (towing an A'Van) before a 3 month trip, we did 18,000 kilometres on them, of that we did about 1,400 kilometres on dirt and they are well over 50% worn, they have 6mm of tread left. That equates to about 92% on-road and 8% off-road, yet Cooper say they are good for 70/30%, what a crock of ****!!!!

These are the worst wearing tyres I have ever bought, I will never ever again buy these. At $320 per tyre, the pain is not good

And before you get stuck into me, I am anal about tyre pressures, tyre rotation, correct tyre pressures for the environment

Reply By: member - mazcan - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 13:00

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 13:00
hi big trev
im an unhappy cooper tyre user of 2 full sets
so im not the least bit surprised with your bad experience
a lot of the blokes that boom up coopers get them free or at a very discounted price on a promotional deal /basis when doing tv or vehicle testing/ media magazine write ups etc
there are of course some exceptions where owners have paid the full price and had a good result before anyone jumps on me
did you get a set of the latest ones--- i prefer bfg's
or were they some of the old run out stock
AnswerID: 494864

Reply By: Mazdave - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 13:32

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 13:32
Interesting story, I have a set of the AT3's LT on my BT50 and done 7500kms, mostly blacktop use with about 2000kms on dirt and no real sign of wear as yet. At $320 a tyre thats generally why we buy Coopers to do the extra kms. The last set of ATR's I had on Patrol did 70,000kms which is acceptable for the price you pay. Any less than that and you just woudnt buy them, but the mileage you are quoting is just not acceptable. What did your Tyre dealer say?
AnswerID: 494866

Reply By: ChrisK - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 13:44

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 13:44
Trev,
I'll be following this thread with some interest. I am just about to shell out for a new set of all terrains for my 4x4. I have had 60,000km out of the standard highway terrains and can't complain about that. I was looking at Cooper AT3's or Mickey Thompson AT 5 ribs as the other option.
Any thoughts on the MK's would be appreciated also.
AnswerID: 494868

Follow Up By: Batt's - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 00:32

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 00:32
G'day ChrisK not sure what you drive but I had Mickey Thomson AT 5 rib on a GQ petrol wagon and they where pretty good all round but picked up heaps of rocks that stayed in the tread after one trip off road then a 100km drive home on tar I pulled out 53 rocks never had that before in 24yrs off roading. I put them on my other GQ a converted turbo diesel twin cab ute and they where dangerous on the rear especially in the wet it would break traction if you put your foot down in a straight line in 3rd gear I put them back on the wagon & put Kumho AT KL78 on and it wouldn't spin any more and was a lot safer to drive I don't hoon around or drive like an idiot the Mickey's where just dangerous on a ute just letting you know my experience with them.
FollowupID: 770879

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 08:13

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 08:13
You have to be careful with some tyres that last a long time. They are made of really hard rubber that is shocking in the wet. It's hard to get the right balance of safety and durability.
FollowupID: 770891

Reply By: tazbaz - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 13:53

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 13:53
Trev
Like you I have about 6 mm of tread left on my Coopers but I've done 28,000 k's on them. Of the 28,000 k's about 2000 on dirt. Shocking. Will not buy Coopers again
AnswerID: 494869

Reply By: SDG - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 15:22

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 15:22
I've been told by the tyre dealer here that sells Coopers, among a couple of other brands, not to go near them.
Had a bad deal with BFG's, two of them exploding on me.
Currently have Geolanders, which so far after about 20 thousand k's, I'm happy with.
AnswerID: 494874

Reply By: Ross M - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 15:42

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 15:42
At 18,000km or 28,000km and the wear is unacceptable NOW is the time to take pictures and build your evidence. Then see if they honour the FAMOUS warranty they claim to provide. You pay around $70 per tyre for just the warranty to be there over the same tyre from an Australian parallel import company.

It will be interesting to hear of the results of the claim.

Please don't let them get lower without making the contact.They win far too often.

PS. Always take a picture of the speedo with the date and time set correctly when any tyres of any brand are purchased and fitted to your vehicle.
That way you have a starting point for "negotiations" re tyre wear or problems. With no evidence of anything you are toast and get buttered both sides.
Just lie down and get kicked.
AnswerID: 494875

Reply By: Big Trev - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 16:45

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 16:45
I contacted Cooper Tires Australia and they didn't want to know about them as they weren't bought from one of their prefered retailers, I do understand that they are just an importer and want no part of the parallel imports, I have yet to establish where the dealer got them from. All the bloke from Cooper Tires had to say was all he really had to say was that the bit about parallel imports and that he wouldn't have recommended those tyres for the amount of off-road work I did which amazed me as they are rated at 70/30.

The dealer I bought them through is the largest in the region, they took a speedo reading when I bought them and logged in a tyre book they gave me, they contacted me 3 months later for a 'free' check, the rooster who checked reckoned they were fine, but they aren't, they signed to book for the check 18,000 k's later. I will take a photo of them.
AnswerID: 494881

Follow Up By: patsproule - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 17:24

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 17:24
That is the AU distributors bog standard response. Heard it all before.
FollowupID: 770557

Reply By: Member - Rowdy6032 (WA) - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 18:22

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 18:22

Doesn't sound too good for the AT3's.

I have Cooper Discoverer ATR LT on Prado and van.

Tyres have done 60,000 Kms in Prado, plenty of off road work, plenty of tread left and couldn't be happier.
AnswerID: 494891

Reply By: mikehzz - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 18:32

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 18:32
The trouble with Coopers is that the same tyre comes in different load rating forms. I think that is why some people are happy and some are not. They think that all AT3's (or whatever) are the same. I've been told they are not. Some are the goods and some are lower rated. I reckon it's hard to beat Yoko Geolander AT-S. I average 80-90K out of them (3 sets, 2 cars) and they never let me down, good off road and quiet on road.
AnswerID: 494894

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 19:34

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 19:34
You are exactly right there mike.
I was talking to a guy on the Strezelecki track that had destroyed several brand new Cooper ATR's on his Hilux and had to have them replaced. He was carrying on that he would never buy Coopers again.

When I went and had a look, the Hilux was carrying a lot of gear but the tyres were only a passenger version of the ATR's which are a 70 series tyre.

When I pointed this out to him, saying he should of fitted the LT 75 series, he said he liked the lower profile better. So here he is knocking a tyre because he had selected the wrong one for the purpose.

And yes the AT3's come in passenger and light truck versions.
Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

Classifieds: Codan Envoy HF Radio X1 for sale

FollowupID: 770568

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 06:58

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 06:58
Yes I understand the difference between LT and no LT, I am a former truck driver.

These are not LT, however the warranty on these is still 50,000 k's AND they are still 70/30!!!!!!

They are bleep tyres and I will never ever recomend to anyone and I deliver 4X4 training from time to time for a regional TAFE
FollowupID: 770596

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 08:12

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 08:12
It does seem that the Coopers warranty is legendary for all the wrong reasons. You hear a lot of mixed reviews for the tyres but the opinions on the warranty are pretty much consistently poor. Has anyone had a good warranty result from Coopers to report?
FollowupID: 770601

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 16, 2012 at 10:02

Sunday, Sep 16, 2012 at 10:02
No, The Cooper warranty is all smoke & mirrors!
Furthermore, their management staff are cheats & liars!

FollowupID: 770662

Follow Up By: BUSH CAMPER - Sunday, Sep 16, 2012 at 19:50

Sunday, Sep 16, 2012 at 19:50
I had a set of Cooper ATR, 265/75/16" LT on my 2004 4.2 TD and we took them off after 96,000 kms, I think I could have got another 10 or 15 thousand out of them except we were going on a trip to WA to do the Kimberely with our off road van.
These tyres had done the Birdsville track, Flinders rangers and Cape York.
the tyres performed without any problems.
I took the spare tyre off the patrol ( never used ) and the spare off the van ( same tyres but 3 years newer off the van ) and put on the rear of the patrol and purchased 2 new AT3's and put on the front.
The new front tyres have performed well so far ( about 15,000 kms ) but the oldest tyre on the rear has chipped quite a bit, no doubt the rubber has hardened up.
We did the oodnatta track, to Mt Dare, Dalhousie, Ghaun then the GRR.
So far I can't complain, but hopefully I get about 90,000 km's +, same as first set.
One thing is that I drive carefully and when owing only sit on about 90 km / hr and when off the black top drop the pressure to about 30 PSI.
Still undecided on what to buy next.
FollowupID: 770696

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 06:52

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 06:52
ATR's are very tyres to AT3's
FollowupID: 770777

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 06:41

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 06:41
Sorry that should have read

ATR's are very *different* tyres to AT3's
FollowupID: 770888

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 19:04

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 19:04
Poor wear, puncture & damage history has been well documented over the years along with stories of pathetic warrenty back up. Their advertising to sell what is historically a below average tyre at a higher than average price is truely masterfull. It surprises me Kev you didn't hear some of these reviews but in any case don't bother with the warrenty. Best case is they will sell you another set of Coopers at a pro-rata reduced price. That's right. They expect you to fall for the same trick twice fitting tyres that didn't work for you the first time around.
Cheers Craig..................
AnswerID: 494898

Reply By: sweetwill - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 19:05

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 19:05
Hello there big trev.
I bought a set of bfg ats a fortnight ago and I must say after about 150 ks they are still like new so Im very happy, and yes Iv had a few happy hour wines cheers Billy.
AnswerID: 494899

Reply By: p_marns - Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 22:41

Friday, Sep 14, 2012 at 22:41
Trev I have a set or Maxxis all terrains that have just clocked 100,000 k and not had a puncture although that is 90 per cent on road. Not bad though for a cheap tyre
AnswerID: 494918

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 06:56

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 06:56
Yes I swapped from Geolanders to Maxxis AT700 not long ago. I was happy with the Geolanders but the Maxxis were $50 a tyre cheaper and I needed 5 tyres because I went up in size. So far very happy with them too.
FollowupID: 770595

Reply By: member-PradoMad - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 06:56

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 06:56
I wouldn't touch Coopers. Heard / read to many negative stories. My neighbour had an issue too and after sales support is very poor.
I am on my second set of MM Baja MTZ. done lots of high country driving / climbing and plenty of dirt roads. Did 90K with the previous set; not once a flat tyre.
JS.
AnswerID: 494929

Follow Up By: member-PradoMad - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 07:02

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 07:02
Sorry meant to say; MT Baja MTZ
JS.
FollowupID: 770598

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 09:05

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 09:05
JS,
guess who owns Mickey Thompson.

RA.
FollowupID: 770606

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 18:19

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 18:19
Rockape. for the life of me I dont know hwo owns Mickey thompsoms.
FollowupID: 770639

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 18:52

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 18:52
Let me guess, Cooper Tyres, and the MT are even made in the same factory.

You read the blurb on both tyres and it reads basically the same re construction etc just MT push more handling and Cooper more Offroad
Coddiwomple (v.) To travel purposefully towards a vague destination.

Classifieds: Codan Envoy HF Radio X1 for sale

FollowupID: 770644

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 19:31

Saturday, Sep 15, 2012 at 19:31
Yep. Coopers.

FollowupID: 770648

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Sep 16, 2012 at 07:51

Sunday, Sep 16, 2012 at 07:51
I have been using MTs for quite a while now, I got 85K out of my Cooper STs but liked the MT MTZs so changed over, had 65K on them and they are now on the C/T. Have a set of MT ATZ 4 Rib on the MU now and would like to put the same on the new D.Max but they do not make any that will fit legally. So I was thinking of Cooper AT3 also, but may have to get the dealer to sign a doc saying if they are stuffed after the trip to the Kimberley he will have to give me my money back LOL.
FollowupID: 770659

Reply By: The Greta Bunyip - Monday, Sep 17, 2012 at 14:30

Monday, Sep 17, 2012 at 14:30
Interesting reading indeed.

It would appear all the extra $$$'s you pay for Coopers goes into paying for those bloody monotous & incessant TV commercials!!! I don't watch much TV as a rule but every time I do there will be the obligatory Cooper commercial with their "legendary" tread.

Now call this illogical, but here in Australia we call/spell them "TYRES" & not "TIRES", the latter being an Americanism used in Cooper commercials. Everyone agrees Australia has arguably the toughest terrain in the world so my logic is quite simply to do your homework & avoid buying an American tyre that will more than likely not hold up under Australian conditions. Regardless of what is advertised.

There's probably little or no merit to my logic but that's where I sit on the subject.
AnswerID: 495087

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 06:53

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 06:53
Logical logic to me
FollowupID: 770778

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 09:11

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 09:11
Big Trev,
I am guessing you have probably had enough of tyres by now.

Here is my experience with Coopers.

Had a great run out of my first set. I had a great run out of my second set until they reached around the 60,000 mark. They were 5 + years old at that stage. They then started to tear themselves to bits, lugs torn off and thread coming of in small pieces. They still had close to 8mm of tread left.

Now at that point I had a flat where the tyre destroyed its self. Don't know the cause of the flat so I am not going to blame the tyre. What was different was the spare which hadn't been used but was the same age was fine and didn't show any signs of throwing lugs.

To me watching what has happened to other peoples and my tyres I reckon Coopers have a quality control problem. Some are fine and others are terrible. It is like different batches show different problems or no problems at all.

I might even go back to rag tyres and split rims Ha.Ha.

RA.
AnswerID: 495225

Follow Up By: Big Trev - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 06:08

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 06:08
split rims with a set of Dunlop Road Grippers - LOL
FollowupID: 770943