What is your "best" present that you got for the 4WD? And why is it?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 10:18
ThreadID: 98084 Views:2552 Replies:3 FollowUps:25
Twas my birthday earlier this week. Every time I went to the "saturday morning" shop I wandered through the tools section. As any blue blooded Aussie does.

A couple of years back we got a rooftop tent. I was having lots of trouble getting it on an off. My hand Just fitted between the roof and the rack. You had to get in there to undo the mounts for the tent. One day I was talking to Peter who sold it to me and he said to get a 13 mm ratchet spanner and use it. This ratchet spanner, or gear spanner as they are also called made it a breeze. The rooftop can be removed in about 10 minutes. And refitted in about the same time.

A bloody ripper!

So I wandered and looked at the gear spanners. The one I bought cost just one $20 and I hesitated getting any more. All right it's not that much in the real world but I hesitated.

It may not be a new set of driving lights or a LED bar light, or holiday in the Mediterranian or even a new iPhone 5. But to me it is a ripper. My wife got me this:

So what is your "best" present that you got for the 4WD? It can be just a small fancy tool to get some much out of the carby or whatever. Money is not the issue. Or a camera to video your trip.

Reply By: Greg A - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:00

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:00
Phil, I have to agree on the geared spanners. One thing I noticed, though, was that the cheaper ones have a quite large head which would make them difficult to get into tight spaces. On the more expensive ones the head is not much bigger that a normal ring spanner, so much more usable.

Greg..
AnswerID: 495147

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:03

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:03
Mate! You should have seen me with my big fat hand working away at the nuts before I got the "right tool for the job". Like I said "A ripper". Saves losing a bunch of skin also.

FollowupID: 770802

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 18:01

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 18:01
Greg - agree - a mate of mine brought me back a high quality set from the US - slim, solid and I love those things - one of my favorite tool sets

Cheaper ones aren't worth it
FollowupID: 770844

Reply By: Andrew - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:11

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:11
Hi Phil

Of all the presents I have bought myself, my air compressor has seen the most work. Not only does it make it easy to allow changeing tyre pressures for road conditions but you acquire lots of friends who need a boost. it also great for the little blowing away dust jobs.
It's also so old now that it is a conversation starter.

A
AnswerID: 495148

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:16

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:16
Did you mount in the car or is it portable?

FollowupID: 770803

Follow Up By: Andrew - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 13:12

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 13:12
had it both ways.
In the car under the passenger seat meant it was always with you. haven't fitted it to the new toy yet
FollowupID: 770812

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 13:19

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 13:19
Ours was under the bonnet. It was moved to a void beside the drawer system in the back when we got the third battery installed. We have an outlet installed in the cover over the void with the switch in a series of attractive rocker switches in the console in the front. Nice and quiet and the air hose reaches all tyres without hassle. Certainly takes away the hard work of pumping tyres up after a run through the desert.

FollowupID: 770814

Reply By: Danna - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:11

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:11
Hi Phil
Few years ago, son asked me what I want for my birthday, and he get short list that surprised him.
It started with wheelbarrow or posthole digger, 12V air compressor, snatch strap and shackles….and so on.
I don’t know why, he expected I would wish for earrings, handbag or some unimportant crap like that ….
Since that time I’m not getting stupid presents like fancy silk set for theatre, bracelets and other useless dust catchers. I’m getting now only valuables to me…
Cheers Dana
AnswerID: 495149

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:23

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:23
Hi Dana

I am laughing my head off. I was reading your post and starting to laugh and thinking what's this blioke into? Then I actually took notice of the name. I first read it as "Dan". Typical "boke" and not paying attention to detail.

Ya gort me!!

In the first years of our 43 years married, I very quickly learnt that my wife was more interested in cars and the garden/DIY stuff, than in silk and jewelry. So I started looking at tools and garden stuff. She loved it.

Guess where she learnt to get me what I wanted. We "feed" off each other don't we!

FollowupID: 770804

Follow Up By: Danna - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:31

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:31
Phil,
we are serenely not a handbrakes as rude Rooty in 4WD Action magazine describing his wife.
HooRoo Dana
FollowupID: 770805

Follow Up By: Danna - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:34

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:34
Sorry, it should have been certainly…LOL
FollowupID: 770806

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:44

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:44
No way would I be so presumptuous as to call her any of the "fun" names that blokes use. They do bug the girls in some way, so I have been told. It amazes me how lucky I was both for the present and more importantly to meet her. But Phil, behave yourself and stay on topic.

Nice to meet you Dana.

FollowupID: 770807

Follow Up By: Rockape - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:53

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 12:53
Just for interest.

I was at ARB the other day and was told that they are actively trying to attract more women into the 4wd scene, whether it be wives, girlfriends or singles.

RA
FollowupID: 770808

Follow Up By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 13:05

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 13:05
HI Rockape
i hope they don't come up with stereo type pink spanners, compressors, tyre levers, jerry cans and such.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 770810

Follow Up By: Danna - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 17:12

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 17:12
Gee Phil B
If they all top quality for a reasonable $$, I don’t care if they of coffee-bronze-green in colour.
HooRoo Dana
FollowupID: 770835

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 17:23

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 17:23
Give it to him Dana
FollowupID: 770837

Follow Up By: Danna - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 17:25

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 17:25
Phil PJR
You sound almost like my better ½….
He always say that he is luckiest man.
He may not get it, but I can’t imagine yo have man that would be into dressing-up and other stupid pretend things of "modern age"?
That would be divorce. But then again we wouldn’t probably get together in first place……
Cheers Dana

FollowupID: 770838

Follow Up By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 17:32

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 17:32
Hi Dana, I just got my flack jacket off to respond - lol.

I probably didn't explain myself properly - experience has shown tokenism when it comes to such ladies products as tools etc, suppliers serve up rubbish. Why shouldn't our better halves get quality gear and why do they have to make it stereo type pink?
My wife sees pink crappy pink tools around pre mothers day and is offended.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 770841

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 18:52

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 18:52
I will make this my last post on this sub-thread as we are drifting OT.

Yes Dana I am lucky and I am also not a Latee man either. Drink beer and tea - don't like coffee or wine.

Catchya
FollowupID: 770850

Follow Up By: Member - VickiW - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 20:29

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 20:29
What's wrong with pink? My best 4wd pressie to self is hot pink maxtrax!
I'm another that prefers weekend shopping at 4WD shop or hardware.
I hate clothes shopping but work in a professional office & need to dress well, I go clothes shopping 2x a year - spring & autumn (& I avoided autumn this year). If I can get everything in one trip I'm happy.
Vicki
FollowupID: 770854

Follow Up By: Danna - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 12:10

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 12:10
I understand Vicki it's real pain to go out there and do rags and shoes shopping. Than you have co-workers woman who do not understand you, and they feel you too different….and in reality, you are very different. Than you have more male friends and some people can see something what is not there. We, boyish girls don’t have it always easy.
Cheers Dana
FollowupID: 770910

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 19:38

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 19:38
I would have no problems with using pink tools if they were of a good quality.

A big plus would be that they would be easier to find when carrying out bush repairs.

My .02

FollowupID: 770920

Follow Up By: Member - VickiW - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:30

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:30
Stu & Bob - I figure pink maxtrax will be easier to find in the mud puddle than most other colours & why not have something a bit fun as long as it works as well. Wonder what other tools and accessories would be better in bright colours? my vote is tow bar / ball (after walking into them many times over the years)

danna - I agree whole-heartedly. I am lucky that I have some co-workers / friends who are like minded. actually had quite a few conversations with my ex that I was generally more comfortable / interested in conversations with his male friends than their wives. The girls have since become good friends - I think with more life experiences.
mind you, as I'm on the countdown to my first (larger) solo trip, I have a silent fear of a flat tyre - just thinking of how heavy they are, rolling the 2nd spare off the roof and chasing it down all by myself will probably be quite funny for any lucky observers.
Vicki
FollowupID: 770936

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:38

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:38
G'day Vicki,

Will you have to get the flat tyre back UP onto the roof where you just got the second spare from? Maybe a re-think on tyre location?

Stu
FollowupID: 770937

Follow Up By: Danna - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 06:01

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 06:01
Good morning all of you
That’s one first thing what we did to our 4WD. Spare tyre from door on wheel carrier. Mind you, they are heavy to lift anyway. As they are (2x) Mickey’s Baja muddies LT265/75R16 on steel rims. Main reason is, that there is no 4WD with barn door, that wouldn’t get loosen in hinges if you leave any wheel on door. There is no way to properly repair loosen hinges. I would never put a spare wheel on the roof-bars or roof-rack. It is just asking for injury.
HooRoo Dana
FollowupID: 770942

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 08:22

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 08:22
We took our spare out from under the car and put it on a rear tyre carrier. That made room for the long range tank. The tank also carries 55 litres of water. We even came back after the three weeks in the Simpson with around 10 litres left. We do carry more iff needed.

I have trouble lifting the spare onto the carrier on my own. Another reason my wife is along. Steady down girls. Sue loves the bush just as much as I do. And she is an ex Redex rally driver and Mini Club life member and club champion. So it not just for her muscles that I married her.

FollowupID: 770946

Follow Up By: Danna - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 09:20

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 09:20
Yah Fhil

W'got 275lt diesel and 57Lt water under and few spare Lt inside of the car.
Phil, when you go Canning, you will stop in Kunawarrijtji, as everyone have to for diesel. They have best water in the World (mind you, I lived for 2years in Rome - Italy and their water is from Tivoli and it is delicious) . When we go next time, we will water their garden with out of our tank, and take their water in. Absolutely worst water is on other hand in Kalgoorlie, so it is good idea to fill-up in Norsemen.
Ciao Dana
Ps. See you all in other thread......
FollowupID: 770953

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 09:45

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 09:45
Thanks for the tip Dana. We only carry 215 litres diesel under the car so we may have to put a can or two on the roof. And lighten the load a bit also. I do not like fuel in the car.

Catchya

FollowupID: 770957