Caravan Chassis repair

Submitted: Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:25
ThreadID: 98500 Views:5009 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
G'day all,
Had a misshap with the van ,breaking the A frame off travelling about 100 km north of Coober Pedy. Got towed in and had temporary repairs done to allow me to tow the van to some major city for repair or replacement of chassis. Any advise on where to go in SA would be appreciated.

Reply By: Skulldug - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:09

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:09
Hohn E,

I assume its an insurance claim? If so I suggest Dario 1 Pinn Street St Marys SA 5042
(08)8277 4388.

Last job I had done there was unreasonably expensive. Even the insurance company didn't accept their full quote however I believe they do good work.

Skull
AnswerID: 496532

Follow Up By: Skulldug - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:10

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:10
Sorry, I meant John E.
FollowupID: 772230

Reply By: Stewy - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:10

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:10
Try this mob, had a lot of work done by them and very happy

Roadmaster Caravans Phone:08 8384 6011
10 Dorset St Lonsdale SA
AnswerID: 496533

Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 11:30

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 11:30
Hi John,
If you are still in Coober Pedy have a chat to David at DUSTY MECHANICAL SERVICES. He wont be hard to find.
Mobile 0418 890 709
He does auto, mechanical and general engineering, welding, metal fabrication and sheet metal etc.
Rob
The outback calls

AnswerID: 496550

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:45

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:45
Hi John,
Just being nosey and if you want to ignore me I will understand(;-)) but did you have a weight distribution hitch fitted when it broke??

AnswerID: 496561

Follow Up By: John E - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 22:09

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 22:09
Hi , ,Pop, yes we have a hayman reece hitch, why ?cheers John
FollowupID: 772279

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 23:20

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 23:20
John, Had a rather robust discussion on another forum regarding whether a WDH could put that much extra load on the A frame so as to cause a failure but hadn't had anyone with this problem to ask.
Be interesting to hear (after all the drama has finished) if a reason was found for the failure and if the hitch could have been a contributing factor.

Thanks mate

FollowupID: 772284

Reply By: Jim* - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 14:36

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 14:36
John..

I’d be interested in where the drawbar broke (or how).

Any pictures you have would be appreciated.

Jim
AnswerID: 496564

Follow Up By: John E - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 06:49

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 06:49
G'day Jim ,It broke where the fllex straps were welded at the front just in front of the cross member. No pics unfortunately
FollowupID: 772290

Reply By: John E - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 06:55

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 06:55
Thanks for your replys, will let all know what the outcome is.
AnswerID: 496596

Reply By: mountainman - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 22:23

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 22:23
any body building workshop should be able to help.

some foremans/shops have NO IDEA ON DOING REPAIRS TO TRAILERS.
(GR WELDING ERINA)
^^seen some shoddy work by company i used to work for.
the drawbar was flexing under weight.
they put the smallest patch to strengthen the area.
THIS IS A NO NO.
either flat bar 400 past cross member each side.
no square cut, taper, and only weld the taper, and stitch the rest. NOT THE ENDS.

idealy you would have the owner with weld inspectors ticket, they understand STEEL.
i was lucky, i had my boss in my apprenticeship, and another after i finished my trade.
taught me heaps.
AnswerID: 496632