caravan weight and elect.
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 17, 2012 at 21:07
wilsongirl
We have purchased a 15ft viscount van that has been refurbished. I need the weight to get it registered. How do I get it weighed? We live on the
Brisbane northside and would love to know of any public weighbridges around there.
Also, we have an external power plug to connect the power, but it is a boy plug. Where can I buy the adapter for this.
While I am asking questions, what is the most regular damage done to caravans on outback roads?
Reply By: Harry C - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2012 at 21:46
Wednesday, Oct 17, 2012 at 21:46
When you plug a electrical extension lead in to the mains supply at your house (should be 15 amp lead) and take the other end to the caravan it will all become clear why it is a boy plug
Regards Harry.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 10:45
Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 10:45
Must be bit early for me here in WA.
I read the post and thought what is a boy plug,,,, then the penny dropped when I read your reply. Thanks Harry. LOL
I've always used the male, female term.
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 18:10
Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 18:10
Hey Boo Boo,
Being an older van it may be a 10 amp plug thus "boy" plug whereas if it were a 15 amp plug it would qualify as a MAN plug. Male and female may only be telling part of the story. (;-))
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Oct 17, 2012 at 21:51
Wednesday, Oct 17, 2012 at 21:51
Check the yellow pages to find weigh bridges on northside.
To suit your boy plug, get a 15 amp extension lead, and it will have a girl socket on one end, to "mate" with your boy plug. Get as long a lead as you'll think you'll need, 10 or 15 metres. Don't forget that the lead will have a boy plug on the other end, so you would need to keep him away from the boy plug on the 'van....they might not get on too
well, with only the one girl there. :-)))
Damage is often caused by driving too fast for conditions, not lowering tyre pressure, and in case of old 'vans, it often gets all too much, and they just fall to bits.
Viscount are good old 'vans, hope you get lots of use out of it,
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 10:50
Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 10:50
Your reply brought a smile to my face,, but I feel it is my duty to advise the ranga about your attitude regarding girls and boys. LOL
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 11:49
Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 11:49
No worries, Boo Boo,
Was trying to warn them, :-))) without being too sexist.
Reply By: wilsongirl - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 16:05
Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 16:05
LOL, thanks everyone. I just realised what I wrote on my post and realised how silly it sounds. I was not concentrating when I typed it.
I meant to ask where you get the 15amp cord from.
No info on the weighbridges?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 16:37
Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 16:37
Try Google for weighbridges, I just looked & heaps came up.
Try ..... public weighbridge
brisbane north
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 21:21
Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 21:21
It doesn't sound silly. It was just very funny that's all. This
forum needs some humour like that occasionally.
Should be able to get a 15 amp lead from Bunnings, or Home Hardware. if not, a caravan supply place might have them, though would suggest they'd be dearer.
Think there's a weighbridge at Caboolture tip? Also check out thread 10522, it's about weighbridges.