Sludgey engine

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 21:11
ThreadID: 98633 Views:3812 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
I have a little runabout 2009 Honda Jazz. At the 70k service, my mechanic mentioned the engine was a bit sludgey. I'm up to 76k now and am wondering if i need to change what I do with the car.

I service the car at 10k intervals (< every 6 months) and have always used Castrol 5w30 except for the most recent 70k service (not sure what oil was used). The car is purely used as a runabout and sees very little freeway driving. The average speed on my trip computer is 30km/h. I have been using regular unleaded from my local independent for at least the last 40,000kms.

Do I need to service more frequently? Do I need to change the oil I'm using? Could bad fuel be a potential cause? Should I change servos?

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 21:28

Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 21:28
You got any teenagers in your family that could use the Jazz on a regular basis? That would solve the sludge problem!!!!!!!

Why not reduce the oil change interval down to 3 months? If your average speed is only 30 clicks, then the engine isn't getting hot enough. The engine may need flushing out too, but I don't know how good they are.

What about trying a couple of tankfuls of premium fuel too. Wouldn't cost you much in the Jazz.

AnswerID: 496936

Follow Up By: garbage - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 21:31

Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 21:31
Haha, no teenagers. I do drive the car quite economically, but do give it a good flooring once a day on the onramp to the freeway. I've just remembered that's what my mechanic told me to do! I average 30km/h, but these drives are up to 40 minutes each way.
FollowupID: 772676

Reply By: Member - willawa - Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 22:22

Thursday, Oct 18, 2012 at 22:22
Hi Garbage
have you had the transmission oil changed?
the car can become sluggish if this is not done at around 20000 klms.
check your service manual.
apparently ,for some reasion,,Honda dealers don't seem to tell owners that the transmission oil needs to be changed at regular intervals.
My local mechanic advised me of this when I had ours serviced at 22,000 klms.
we have a 2008 jazz.

willawa
AnswerID: 496940

Follow Up By: garbage - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 06:40

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 06:40
No have only done it by the book and it hasn't mentioned transmission oil. Is yours the CVT one?
FollowupID: 772685

Follow Up By: Member - willawa - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 08:11

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 08:11
Ours is CVT +7 speed .
If you check your service book it says that transmission oil should be changed every 400000 klms,as I have said I was advised to change it every 20,000klms otherwise it will need to be flushed a couple of times to fix it. and the oil is expensive.

Suggest you ask a Honda dealer or a local mechanic.
If you would like our guys phone number let me know.
FollowupID: 772690

Follow Up By: Member - willawa - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 08:13

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 08:13
Sorry that should be 40,000 klms and may be your Mech. may not be aware of this problem.
FollowupID: 772691

Follow Up By: garbage - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 18:02

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 18:02
Just double checked the maintenance schedule. Under "severe conditions" it says to change transmission fluid at 60k then every 40k thereafter. Under "normal" driving, it recommends the first one at 120k. Will get it checked out, thanks!
FollowupID: 772721

Follow Up By: garbage - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 20:54

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 20:54
I think I'm more "normal" than "severe" :D
FollowupID: 772727

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 08:16

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 08:16
Hi. I have my own mechanical workshop that I have operated for over 40 years. I know a lot of people will not agree with me but over that time almost all the engines that we have disassembled that have used Castrol oils (over a long term period) have had high levels of sludge/residue in them. The exception has been some Toyota engines which seem to do it no matter what brand is used.
We noticed this sludge problem some 20 odd years ago and after changeing brands it reduced considerably. I would ask your mechanic to remove the tappet cover and clean all the associated residue out spotlessly and then use a different brand of oil. I'm sure you will find an improvement.
On the auto transmission. Your model should have the 5 speed auto, not the CVT and we still recommend the fluid be replaced at 50k intervals. If it is the CVT it should be done at 20/30k intervals using the very expensive genuine Honda fluid.The oil we use is here Cheers,Bob
AnswerID: 496946

Follow Up By: Ross M - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 10:03

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 10:03
Congratulations Toyocrusa Bob
I wasn't going to say it because some people seem to defend what they are using despite is not doing the job and won't believe or consider many things mentioned on the forum.
Forum people may not know each other but some have actual industry experience to draw on. Mine similar but different to yours.

I won't use Castrol engine oils for exactly the reason you have mentioned.
Haven't bought Castrol engine oil for 25 years.
Maybe the transmission ones are OK but the engine oils, NO.

I hope the comments are read by "garbage" as he asked about the oil and is now getting replies which may indicate a change from that brand is LONG overdue. "A good oil cleans the internals".
Unfortunately many will defend well known oils particularly one starting with P_ _ _ ite and many on forums have plenty of trouble with that.

If it is engine sludged, the oil hasn't been performing for a LONG time.

I haven't looked at a CVT Jazz trans but the earlier ones had some of the valve body components built into the trans case and not only in the body. When deposits formed in the valvebody/case the whole lot had to be disassembled. Clean IS GOOD, oil change in transmission IS GOOD. I know you will agree.
FollowupID: 772692

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 10:32

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 10:32
Although I've used Castrol in both petrol and diesel engines for many years and never had a problem, I admit I've never taken a sump off to check if it's sludging or not.
My engines never seem to have suffered at all but must say they have never done big mileage either before the vehicle is sold.
But an ex marine engineer mate reckons he would never use Castrol for the reasons others have stated. He uses Mobil in his engines and reckon they run quieter and the oil stays cleaner longer.
Maybe I'll change to that at the next service.
AlanH.
FollowupID: 772695

Follow Up By: garbage - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 11:25

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 11:25
Thanks Ross M, this is just the kind of info I was after! I've been using Castrol for no specific reason really, maybe just habit! So given the sludging, I'm looking to make a change to see if it improves. Would you recommend changing the brand of oil and staying with 10k services, or would you also suggest changing the oil more frequently?

Also, interested in your take about Penrite as I've just started using that on my D4D Prado - 5w40.
FollowupID: 772698

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 11:51

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 11:51
"........Toyota engines which seem to do it no matter what brand is used"

Bob,

Some years ago, we were working on a station, SW of the Isa, where some of the place was pretty hard on vehicles.Limestone rocks, potholes and wall-to-wall bulldust. Needless to say, the odd driver lacked some "mechanical sympathy" as Brockie used to say.

This young bloke was concerned that there was no oil on the dipstick, so decided to drop the oil out(what was left anyway) and do an oil change. Bit later on, walked past the workshop, and there's this intermittent, metallic scratching noise. He's under the toyota(an HJ45) using a piece of No.8 wire to extract globs of black jelly out of the sump.

Anyway, it was refilled with fresh oil(Rimula X 15W/40) and sent off around the ridges again.

Must say that the later 1HD-FTE motors run much cleaner, just using 15W/40 mineral oil,

FollowupID: 772701

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 12:13

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 12:13
All I can say if is if it's a problem to do specifically with Castrol oils.... Castrol would be out of business.

There are many happy Castrol customers around the world.

Most oils these days are that close to one and other it's not funny, if you looked through all the marketing hype and trademarked brand names most of the technology would be the same.
FollowupID: 772703

Follow Up By: Ross M - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 16:57

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 16:57
G'day garbage
As Ocoolone says there is possibly not a large difference between most poplular oils.
I prefer Mobil as first choice and worked where it was used in diesels and although the engine was worn out, even then the engine was "clean" inside re sludging. Of course dirty diesel colour though.

With most oils Mobil/ BP/Caltex, recognised brands, should keep it clean inside. Some other popular ones don't seem to be as good.
Of course I can't test them all but what you see forms a decisive picture for me.
You should use what the oil company recommends but always check it is up the the performance rating required. Perhaps buy that oil and have your mechanic use that for your car. Perhaps do a 5k or 6k change then resume 10k.

In a D4D Prado, going on what problems have been reported by many people on various forums I wouldn't use Penrite. Predominately in Hilux and Navara.
To me there is too many troubles reported while using it and some other "popular" oils, when people have changed, some of the various problems have been eliminated or lessened in severity. Piston ring to wall sealing and blowby/oil use is one major issue.
Not my observations but the owners noticed and reported changes.
I don't really care what oils people use but I prefer to use something which I am happy with and never had a problem with.

Just because an oil appears popular here and is well known it may not be so everywhere in the world. Some oils are. They appear to be well proven. This line of thinking challenges a lot of people dedicated to the average oils though.

Ross M

FollowupID: 772719

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 18:36

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 18:36
Bob Y,

Young fella we had a truck engine back in the 80's that stopped and when the sump was pulled the oil was like rubber. The dipstick was still at the full mark so that is a lot of goop sitting in the sump.

The oil company came to the party straight away after analysing the oil and rebuilt the engine. It was something to do with a batch of oil that had the wrong percentage of additives added when batching.

I know that Castrol friction modified GTX in the 80's killed a lot of car engines.

RA.

FollowupID: 772723

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 10:46

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 10:46
Many years ago, I had a Holden 1 tonner with a 308 V8 engine. It used to have a lot of sludging, particularly under the tappet covers. I serviced it regularly at 10K intervals. It was a bush car, so only ever saw cough, highway, cough, speeds so there was no problem with it not getting up to running temp.
I ended up changing the oil to run a series 3 diesel oil to attempt to get on top of the sludging, Mobil Delvac I think it was, I did a couple of changes at a much shorter interval as the oil is/was high detergent. The car seemed to run a lot better and economy (if there is such a thing in a bombed engine) did improve markedly.
When the engine was eventually due for a freshen up, on pulling the tappet covers, instead of being greeted by a lot of grey-black sludge, I foud that underneath the tappet covers was clean as a whistle with no sludge to be found anywhere. I have since run diesel oil in all my petrol engines as it keeps them a lot cleaner internally.

My .02
AnswerID: 496963

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 11:11

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 11:11
I have a 2006 Vti manual which I bought 7 months ago with about 47KK on it. It was very dirty inside so I immediately changed the oil and filter for a good Synthetic then changed the oil and filter again in 1000K.

The oil now is quite clean and I will change at about 5-7 KK intervals. I have Supercheap Calibre full synthetic 10W 30 in at the moment , which is made by Caltex and seems great value.
Unfortunately the car is current in a panel shop with $8.5 K damage from a L plater who rammed it in a car park last Sunday.
Regards Philip A

AnswerID: 496967

Reply By: Erad - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 17:07

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 17:07
All of the above replies mention, but do not specifically address the root cause of the problem. The vehicle is not getting enough heat into the engine to avoid sludge. Is it reaching the correct operating temperature. If so, for how long?

OK - so the vehicle is a runabout and does relatively low mileage. This means that the oils should be changed more often than if it did long, sustained high speed runs. 10000 km is far too long for running conditions such as thiese.

Years ago I bought a Range Rover from a friend. It had been serviced regularly bu a RR mechanic and he had done a good job. The problem was that service was every 10000 km and that was about every 18 months. Some time later, I had troubles with the engine and had to strip it. The oil galleries to the valve gear were almost totally blocked with baked on sludge. I had to drill them out. I was told that sometimes the valve gear gets no oil because the galleries get totally blocked. A few years down the track, I had a blown head gasket and when I stripped the engine, it was as clean as a whistle - because I used to change the oil every 5000 km anyway, and also it used to get to operating temperature and stay that way for long periods of time. IT IS CHEAPER TO CHANGE OIL THAN TO CHANGE A WHOLE ENGINE.
AnswerID: 496987

Follow Up By: garbage - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 21:03

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 21:03
Thanks Erad, I'm starting to lean towards the 5k changes too, and possibly just going with a Mobil oil. Just regarding the operating temperature, let me describe the drives I do:

- work x 5 days: 20kms each way, sometimes stop/start, sometimes flowing traffic
- couple of 2km trips per week for sport
- general running about on weekends: 40kms per day usually 10kms at a time

The Honda handbook says you predominantly need to be doing less than 8km trips for it to be considered "severe" conditions.
FollowupID: 772729

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 22:49

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 22:49
Hi there Garbage, 20 klm's each way will get it up to temp. I do about 20 round trip in the wifes car (toyota yaris sedan) to work and it now has done 65k in just under 6 years (had it since new). It has done a few freeway runs up and down the coast (Penrith to Central Coast) does a run to 7 hills every monday to pick up the little one and local shops (2k), mates house, etc so it also does some short runs. I use the genuine toyota oil recomended for the VVTI engine and there is no sign of sludge in the rocker cover, dipstick, oil cap, etc. I do it every 10k (is due in about another 300k actually) I use the same oil in the prado now as well which is also VVTI V6 with 120k on it and it also does the same as the yaris but also does trips to Forster and where ever where going on holidays so it does alot more freeway at higher speeds and I dont baby it either. Maybe try Toyota's VVTI oil, I have no idea who makes it ?? I have heard Castrol, Mobil etc so I would have no bloody idea but no sign of sludge in either vehicle. The oil coming out of the yaris is always a tad dirtier then the prado ?? I use genuine filters also. As my wife refuses to drive manual I will never buy a Honda in auto. There transmissions are so temperamental and when we had our Civic with 37k on it the transmission was thumping between gears. Turned out it was some seals (3 of them) was $600, It also had to be removed from the car to be serviced every 20k as recomended as there was no way of accessing the filter inside it without them removing the tranny from the car. This was going to be a $400 fee every time. Sold it as soon as the 3 seals were fixed. Shame as there a well built car, smooth,quit etc and these new CVT, or DSG's transmissions I wont touch with a barge poll. We are updating the wifes car after Xmas but before the new corolla comes out as all the new ones will have CVT. Just my opinion but they all seem to be having issues compared to the older torque converter type. Dont know why they need to keep complicating things. My 5 speed auto in the prado is super smooth any way. Id be doing your tranny every 20 to save it and oil ?? well that depends on what you want to use. Maybe add a flush every time you do it for the next few changes to try and clean it out a bit. If it was mine Id get some el cheapo oil and some cheap filters and do three oil changes and flushes plus filter every 1000k for the next 3k and give it some running up and down the highway/freeway then the last change decide what quality oil your going to use and as mentioned above do it every 5k and filter. ....
FollowupID: 772738