Second Hand older Kedron .... Bushtracker,.vans ?

On the hunt for another van, what's the thoughts of the above mentioned vans in comparison to the run of the mill later vans if the price is reasonable. Even if theres not a lot of rough going in the plan its nice to know something you have following is built tough! ..Only reason for the question is the prices for the top notch older model vans have come down a tad second hand, compared to their original price new, but nothing changing much with new or newer lighter vans.

Reply By: Searay - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 21:29

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 21:29
Hi Axle , I have a 10 year old Bushtacker and love it. Nothing has gone wrong and yes it is great having something that can go where you want, good luck
AnswerID: 497463

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 21:42

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 21:42
G/Day Searay, good to hear as far as the bushtracker reliability goes.

FollowupID: 773301

Follow Up By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 09:21

Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 09:21
Our Bushtracker is only 7.5 years old - lived in full time. It has done heaps of 'rough stuff'' like the central deserts of WA, all over the Kimberley including right up to the northcoast and Mitchell Falls and across the Gunbarrel - last graded in 1986.

Lots of major faults like two two thermostats for the fridge, a cupboard door hinge and a shower hose failed...... LOL

Brilliant bit of gear

John and Jean
FollowupID: 773316

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 21:56

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 21:56
Hi Axle

Ours is 1998 model - when only a few were made with the first ones being created in 1997. Solid and made as a no frills off roader. Purchased from an owner down the line in its history in 2004, we have taken it across known corrugated roads such as the Gibb River, Tanami, Mereenie Loop and Great Central Road. Previous owners included a few iconic tracks in their big lap. They do not fall apart.

AnswerID: 497467

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:16

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:16
Thanks for the info MH, It has been what iv'e been thinking about the brand,

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 773303

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:24

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:24
Having said "They do not fall apart", nothing is totally 'bomb proof' - anything can be broken if abused.

Mh

FollowupID: 773304

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:32

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:32
Agree MH, Theres all sorts of operaters!...LOl.

FollowupID: 773305

Reply By: Member - Doug S (QLD) - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:38

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:38
G'Day Axle, Close friend has a Kedron, maybe 4 year old and never been on a rough road, but it had a cracked "A" frame where it met the chassis. Fixed by Kedron "quietly" and cracked again. Have heard of 2 others whilst on the road in the past 18 months. Other friends have a Bushtracker without problems. I have a 20'6" Sunland and no problems, updated from a 17' Sunland that had been on the Oodnadatta , Birdsville and Strezelekie without fault.

Cheers, Doug S..
AnswerID: 497473

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:50

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:50
Thanks Doug, I'm going through the process of everything...LOL

The more info the more confusing it can get!.. lol.

FollowupID: 773307

Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 12:37

Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 12:37
Sunland X 2

If I was to buy another robust off road van it would be the top of the range Sunland Winton. Or failing that a Spinifex. Bushtracker third, Explorex fourth and Kedron fifth.
(I have a Sunland Patriot now which is very good on rough roads - I would take it anywhere I would take my 4x4).

FollowupID: 773322

Reply By: Frank W1 - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 23:34

Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 23:34
On the slghtly cheaper side, don`t forget about Evernew.....ours is now 4 years old, been round Oz and probably done about 100,000k during that time. Will admit to light off road and generallly sealed roads with no structural problems thus far
AnswerID: 497475

Reply By: Sawtybt - Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 15:52

Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 15:52
Axle,

We also have a 2008 Bushtracker and just love it. If you check the Bushtracker Forum you will find a heading Pre-Loved Bushtrackers For Sale By Members. Hope this helps..............

AnswerID: 497496

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 20:02

Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 20:02
Thanks Mate will have a look
FollowupID: 773333

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 13:09

Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 13:09
I have just had a look at the posted Photo, and as I have not seen the bushtrackers just a quick quesatio how heavy is your van Sawtbyt.
Broodie H3
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 773356

Follow Up By: Sawtybt - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 15:26

Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 15:26
Broodie H3,

Tare of 2650 Kg's and when away on a trip weight towed is 3400 Kgs.

FollowupID: 773551

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 21:19

Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 21:19
Those figures are consistent with mine.

2009 20 footer. TARE 2660kg, GVM 3500kg.

Some more info here:

My Blog

and you will see links on the side of the page for even more info.

FollowupID: 773579

Reply By: Cummins ford - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 00:44

Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 00:44
Hello, i have owned a Kedron, one of the first, bought s/h, single axel, i loved it because i could walk around in there with the roof down, they are quite heavy empty, then put all your stuff in and you are looking around 2 tons, tires on mine were only rated at 900kg so i put 265 75 16 on it, spare almost exploded in my face it was so bad, let it down quick smart, but it only had little brakes, not 10 inch,

kitchen was at the back, flicked everything outa the cuboards, so go for front kitchen, they did have a used one at Kedron not long ago, single axles are cheaper to tow, mine was 17'6, you need anti sway bars, a must,

My chassis cracked on the cross members, being a coach builder who did his trade behind Kedron when they were a tin shed almost 50 years ago, the cracks were stress relieveing , not fatigure like the joker who did the rwc when i sold it,

Wireing, just big enough to do the job, lights flickered when i used the water pump, upgraded to heavy cable, problem solved,

Fridge, 3 way, absolutly bloody useless, took it to repairman, told it wasnt for aust, threw it awa and put 12 volter in, brilliant, use buggar all power,

except for stopping, yeah, loved it, it had stress cracks in paneling but hay, these things are built to the dollar

i have seen a new bushtracker stranded on cape york with broken suspension, so nothing is bullet proof

all boils down what suits you, i used to deliver componets to chesney, how the wheel bearings didnt seize up on them all beats me as they didnt get much grease, something you all should do is check the wheel bearings for grease, and those off road tow couplings, they break off, ask my friend who got stranded out whop whop,

Rob
AnswerID: 497710