Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 30, 2012 at 21:11
Tony M8
Reported thread July? friend who had a 2012 Ford
Ranger auto 6 000 km. Blew up the transmission towing near 3 ton van. Replaced transmission for free with Yankee model? .
Well guess what, the replacement transmission has also blown up. Took it back to them , told them they can keep it. Presumably he wants his money back.
Tony
Reply By: escapesilv - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:01
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:01
I don't think he will get his money back.
Reply By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:29
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:29
You have to find what made the transes blow up, was he towing when the second trans failed.
It's not a common problem, if it was it would be all over the Ranger/BT50 forums... there's heaps of auto's out there.
I would say the first trans may of been a manufacturing problem and as for the second...maybe a workmanship problem on behalf of how fitted it.
If both have failed whilst towing I would say it's a heat issue and maybe after the first one a bigger trans cooler.
3 tons is a lot to ask for even if it rated for it.
Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 18:56
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 18:56
"blew up" has to be the most overused and nonsensical term used for mechanical failures. Its usually used by people who have zero mechanical knowledge.
If it "blew up" twice the vehicle would probably be a write off now given where the trans is located.
Why dont you give some decent relevant information to demonstrate your mechanical understanding of the problems-then everyone else here could benefit from your contribution.
Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 19:37
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 19:37
Hey Fisho,
Have to agree about that over exagerated term!
I am in the Engineering
services industry & my usual reply to customers that their equipment has "blown up"is so its in pieces all over the place is it?
That usually gets met with a stoney silence on the end of the phone!
Stu
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:35
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:35
Don't forget the other most overused and nonsensical term used for mechanical failures. Its usually used by people who have zero mechanical knowledge....... "they replaced everything".
Like most things, there has to be a reason..... things just don't fail for the hell of it.
Tony has done
well today..... started two threads (one after the other) and both have been bad luck stories, the first regarding the Hilux and this one.
Maybe he works for the opposition...... I heard new car sales are a bit slow.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 21:25
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 21:25
:-)
I wouldnt want to suggest that myself
Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 13:01
Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 13:01
Maybe you could say this 'blew up'

Broken 1

Broken 2

Broken 3
Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 13:23
Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 13:23
Yep. That definitely qualifies as blown up.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 20:18
Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 20:18
2 bottles of that CEM engine flush will sort that!
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 08:16
Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 08:16
If he had a Hyclone it would of not happened..... and if he used Penrite instead of shell oil.... or was that Castrol.....
Mobil.....Home brand.
Was that a Toyota or a Nissan?
Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:01
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:01
I tried to quiz Ford about the towing capability of the auto box and if a trans cooler was required.
Their answer was and whether it was the politically correct answer or no was this.
The vehicle is made to tow that weight and that is what we stand by. Any problems will be fixed in the warranty period and you can extend that ford factory warranty to 6 years for X amount of dollars at any time during the first 3 year warranty period.
Tony you may wish to reply as to what went wrong with the trans as I think fisho may believe you are fishing without a licence.
I see his point as when someone gets on the blower and says my Cat C16 has just blown up it normally means there is 40 litres of oil on the ground with a couple of con rods hanging out the side.
Please give us more information
RA.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:30
Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:30
Could be the case RA. I have no interest in the
ranger, never owned driven or ridden in one. Dont even know anyone who has one. But other less cynical people than me may mistake tony for a troll without more relevant info
Reply By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 08:26
Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 08:26
No more Tony M8-hes probably flatout getting the GVM on his Great Wall increased
Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 09:20
Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 09:20
Yep, With Tony M8 it's always a friend, friend of friend or neighbour who always has the problem.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 09:24
Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 09:24
I reckon Tonys neighbours problem is not with his car but with his neighbour :-)
Follow Up By: Mad Habits - Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 11:47
Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 11:47
Shame about the pathtic bitchyness being thrown at Tony M8. Alll you guys are doing is humilating him for making a post that has a core interest to many others reading these posts.
Tony M8 "don't worry about these losers" keep up the posts mate!
I don't care if it happens to you direct or to others you know or have heard about, as long as the facts are right.
As for the term "Blown Up" I think the majority of people in the community understand that it does not have to mean it exploded in a huge fireball - it just means it broke in a big way.
I was looking at the new Mazda BT50 (or Ford
Ranger if badged Ford & I believe $5K more for the Ford badge) the other day so its interesting to hear about a gearbox "Blowing up" after such few km's.
Fisho64 I'm sure Tony M8 is not :-) but is :-( due to your flaming, I'm glad your not my neighbour! If you can't think of something nice to say, just say nothing - its better for everyone that way! (I know thats not nice and I'm not being hypacritical but someone has to point you in the right direction so you can become a better person)
Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 14:29
Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 14:29
Mad Habits,
mate the reason for the problem is that no information has been given to us.
Just lets say I posted that my mates engine caught fire in his Goggomobile for the second time and was destroyed. Now he wants his money back.
What caused it to catch fire. Did it really catch fire or is it hearsay. Was it caused by someone welding or 1000 other things. Is it a manufacturing fault and so on.
Tony was given the opportunity to respond and tell us what happened so people can make their own mind up on whether there is a problem or it is a once of.
I had a look at the new
ranger forum and nothing is posted there. That is normally where you see all the problems first up.
RA.
Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 19:49
Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 19:49
Nothing on the Ford Forums about it either.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 21:34
Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 21:34
Tony M8 is a bit L8 to respond- or maybe its just a "bad habit" of his to troll?