Cape York in October / November

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 07, 2012 at 23:50
ThreadID: 98908 Views:3102 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
I just returned from a week or so at the tip. I had never been up so late in the year before.
So little traffic on the road! On the way up, on one day we saw only two vehicles with camper trailers. Contrast this with June/July when on the way south we were passed constantly by convoys of vehicles and trailers heading north.
The advantages: hardly anyone at the overnight stopovers, no one else at Fruit Bat falls where we had a swim. No line up at the Jardine Ferry. Seisia camp ground nearly empty, only two campers at Loyalty Beach. Only us on the walk to the tip. Plenty of room on the Seisia Jetty, although plenty of people in the afternoons after work as there was a run of trevally on.
Disadvantages: Punsand Bay closed till May. The Croc Tent at Lockerbie was dismantled till next year.
The weather was hot but not oppressive.
Apparently visitor numbers drop off as soon as the September school holidays are over.
I'm definitely going again late in the year!

Reply By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 08:35

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 08:35
BIG MOUTH, nah seriously mate that's what I was thinking of doing, sounded way too crowded at peak times.
Was there much water in the crossings and swiming holes??

AnswerID: 498116

Follow Up By: Member - OnYaBike - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 10:24

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 10:24
Most crossings dry. Can't comment on the Telegraph Track, didn't go that way, but most of those creeks run year round. Same for the Wenlock and Coen River.
They had rain from around Bramwell north a couple of weeks ago, parts of the road slightly rutted but nothing serious. The deep green shoots in blackened bushfire sections were a wonderful sight.
Late in November you can get random storms but these usually affect a section for a limited time. Bamaga locals are driving down for Xmas shopping into December.
I'd recommend October/November before the heat becomes oppressive.
FollowupID: 774088

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 09:14

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 09:14
G'day OnYaBike,

we spent a few weeks travelling around The Cape through August 2010.

We had hardly any traffic or queues anywhere while we were there (we did the OTL).

A bloke I do work for was up there a few weeks before we were there and he did it during the school holidays. He said it was chockers and there were people everywhere. He hated it.

It seems like timing it so you aren't there when any school holidays are on is the go.
We had the Tip to ourselves, Somerset with two other couples and no crowds anywhere.

I'm glad you had a good trip.

AnswerID: 498175