Fuel efficiency?????

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 11:42
ThreadID: 98912 Views:7454 Replies:12 FollowUps:29
I am buying my first 4x4 I have decided to go with a land cruiser/prado (to fit the kids) am looking at models between 1995 and 2003. My issue is, this will be our family car driven everyday when we are not camping so I need fuel efficiency. If anyone would like to give their opinion I would like to know do I choose diesel, unleaded or dual fuel?

Reply By: Louie02 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 11:44

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 11:44
Or does the model land cruiser make a difference
AnswerID: 498129

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 12:32

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 12:32
Sorry...& I expect to get flamed over this.

A prado is not a landcruser....not even close.....they are a hilux station waggon.....in the early models almost mechanicaly identical except for the rear suspension...the prado replaces the 4 runner and the surf which where absolutly hiluxes.

in the proper landcrusers there are two ranges.

The domestic stationwaggon series....60, 80, 100 and so forth series and the commercial series bassed on the utility, 70 series which replaced the old 40 series.
The stationwaggon series especially lately is softer and more SUV like and the commercial remains harder and more suitable for off road work as supplied.

The bigger landcrusers tow more and if you are thinking fuel efficiency...FORget it, these things drink fuel.

FollowupID: 774097

Follow Up By: Racey - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 14:57

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 14:57
Sorry Bantam, the correct name for the Prado is Landcruiser Prado; it's embossed into the tailgate handle. Check the back door next time you pass one.

I have a 200 series cruiser and I don't think it's too thirsty for a 2.5 ton vehicle. On a regular trip we get 9.5 to 10.5 ltrs per 100klms When towing with all up weight around 5.5 ton we get between 17 to 23 depending on terrain and wind conditions.

FollowupID: 774111

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:20

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:20
mate I have a service manual here that is for a prado and covers the mechanicals of the hilux.

The prado is a landcruser in name only...the only people who seriously think they are a landcruser is the marketing department.

Fuel efficient for a 2.5tonne vehicle.......yeh I supose the Nimitz is pretty fuel efficient for a ship the size of a small town

FollowupID: 774117

Reply By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 12:18

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 12:18
If you think any 4wd will be fuel efficient you are dreaming..sorry.

Ya simply cant change the laws of physics, jim.
Hiluxes and prados weigh over 2 tonnes loaded and landcrusers weigh over 3 tonnes.....those are little truck figures, because these are little trucks.

It one time diesel was considerably more economical than petrol, the fuel was 2/3 the price of petrol and diesel engines needed less maintenance......the case for diesels is nowhere near as strong as it was.

Diesel is now more expensive than petrol and reasonably modern petrol cars require very little maintenence.
Moddern common rail diesels, if they cop any sort of fuel contamination will cost you thousnads to repair....notvthat that will be an issue before about 04.

Besides...even with the latest generation of turbocharged common rail diesels...the petrol engines produce more power form the same sized engine.

The case for LPG is also rapidly erroding...the government is deliberaltly increasing the price of LPG AND remember the LPG tank needs to be removed every 10 years and tested.

Remember all fuel system repairs to an LPG vehicle need to be done by someone certified to work on gass.

NOW ask ya self...do you need a real 4wd.....realy...are you going off road...realy

IF not a RAV or similar will be far more fuel efficient than any 4wd, they have heaps of space will tow a camper trailer or small caravan and are a fabulous highway and dirt road vehicle....while not a proper 4wd a rav will do modest off road work quite well.

I own a diesel hilux 4wd, a petrol hilux 2wd and the wife drives a RAV

Seriously, if you are not going propper off road have a look at a RAV and you may just stretch to a new one for the money you will get a good used prado.

Unfortunatly, late model used RAVs are bad value they hold their vaulue far too well......account for the fixed price service the whole new thing and the creaming finance deals that are arround these days

the other thing that might be acceptable is a late model grand vitara.....looks like an SUV but is a real 4wd....appart from off road the RAV is all over it like a rash.

AnswerID: 498133

Follow Up By: Louie02 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 12:54

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 12:54
Thanks for being so honest if there is no difference in fuel usage then so be it. I will certainly consider the other vehicles you suggested i do have 5 kids so want minimum 8 seats and as far as i have heard the landcruiser seemed to be the most reliable. As for real 4x4 travel at what stage does it become real soft sand beach driving? Creek crossings? Outback treks? At this stage i don't intend on going out every weekend doing extreme mountain climbs but where i'm going i don't want to get there and get stuck in an suv that ain't got the guts!!
FollowupID: 774099

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:21

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:21
If you got lotsa kids....I've some friends with lotsa kids.......no 4wd will beat the practicality and safety of a hiace buss.....and none will even come close to the fuel efficiency.

All the 4wds with a third row of seats....ya kids will very quicly grow out of those rear seats.....OR even more quickly get irritated on long journeys ........besides by the time you get 7 people in any of those vehicles you'll have about enough room and enough GVM left for a box of sandwedges.

The only small (not a full blown truck) 4wd that will even come close is a toyota troop carrier with the seats down the sides........you will get 8 adults into one of those...BUT there are safety issues and definite comfort issues with those.
And the fuel consumption..well

I don't know if they are still about, but the imported mitsui delica might have 8 seats.

As for being real 4WDing....lots of people think they need a 4wd where they plainly dont......if there is a properly maintanied road and it is in good condition you almost certainly dont need a 4wd.

people take SUVs up the beach but they run into trouble in the soft sand...properly made and maintained creek crossings do not require a 4wd.

A lot of camping grounds they say.."high clearance vehicles", the roads are fine they just dont want people getting stuck in many of the road cars that could not even jump a domestic curb without getting stuck or damaged

FollowupID: 774100

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:27

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:27
The outlook re any form of fuel is not good but diesel is the way to go in my opinion. Diesel is still the most economical way to move a heavy 4WD around. Yes diesel is sometimes more expensive than petrol but the return is far better if you need to drive a 4WD. I drive a Hilux Turbo Diesel and average 10.4L/100Kms with a lot of town driving and some towing. I couldn't be more happier with those figures.
FollowupID: 774103

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 14:19

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 14:19
I have not seen diesel cheaper than petrol for more than 5 years....for the most part diesel is arround 10c dearer than petrol.

One of the big issues with diesel is there are far less gains to being lightly loaded than petrol.

A great deal of any gains made is that the diesel engines are simply less powerfull, don't accelerate anywhere near as well and there for cant consume more fuel....any gains in economy are at the cost of performence particularly pre common rail

The filters are more expensive and the oil and filters need to be changed at least twice as often.

Just putting a diesel engine of the same capacity as petrol in a vehicle increses the weight significantly

the we look at purchase cost...diesel engines are several thousand dollars more than an equavalent size and technology petrol motor......especially in new vehicles but even in used.

if you look at the whole picture....maybe 10 or 20 years ago the economics of running a diesel where compelling........but now they are far less so if the advantage in reality exists at all.

No doubt diesel is far more tractable off road, but the petrol engines with variable valve timimg and electronic fuel injection are producing very good torque these days and fantastic power both right across the rev range.

Hell the petrol 2.7 litre, fixed valve timimg, injected motor in the 2000 to 04 hilux produces more power than the 4.1 liter 6 from the XF falcon and the 253 V8 from the HQ one tonner...and definitely more power and torque than the far more expensive 3 liter turbo diesel in the same model hilux.

yes at one time there was a very strong case for both diesel and LPG, but the advantages are being erroded very fast.

FollowupID: 774106

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 14:40

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 14:40
Bantam sorry you make a very general crticism of diesel with some claims that are simply not true. Modern diesel engines generate far more torque than petrol, deliver far better economy than petrol and deliver the best possible range in between refills than lpg or petrol. A petrol hilux for example was tested against a diesel version when the current model first came onto the market in 2005. Both vehicles were taken around Australia and were towing with mixture of off road testing. In summary the conclusion by the testers was that the petrol model Hilux used around twice the fuel of the diesel model. At $10c dearer for diesel and not always, there is a substantial saving. You simply cannot make a general criticism like yours without getting the facts correct, it's not that simple. My Hilux for example is serviced every 10,000 Kms just like the petrol version, my servicing costs are petty and I average 650Kms to a tank around town and 700kms on the highway, the $10c extra doesn't come into consideration when the economy is that good. When comparing diesel vs petrol you need to compare varying vehicles on their merrits.
FollowupID: 774110

Follow Up By: desray (WA - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:02

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:02
Sorry...& I expect to get flamed over this.
yes you were right,,

A prado is not a landcruser....not even close.....they are a hilux station waggon.....in the early models almost mechanicaly identical except for the rear suspension...the prado replaces the 4 runner and the surf which where absolutly hiluxes.

A prado is not a landcruser....not even close.?????? sorry it is, it says so on the back door.

.they are a hilux station waggon.....in the early models almost mechanicaly identical except for the rear suspension.???? nothing like a 4 runner they had torsion bar front suspension and leaf springs on the rear. Different engine and gearbox and diffs.

I used to have a V6 4 runner then a 97 Prado , the ( Land Cruiser ) Prado was 100 times better at everything.

Back to the original question ,,buy a Prado that runs on lpg if you want economy ,
FollowupID: 774112

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:13

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:13
The corrections are coming thick and fast for you Bantam.
FollowupID: 774113

Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:14

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:14
Terrafima your on the money!,.. Bantam your way off!!!, Just look at the power of the 4.2 L 1HDFTE diesel for torque, and economy still around 10L/100ks, about the same as 2wd 2.7L petrol workmate hilux, There was a guy on here last year that towed a van weighing in excess of 2.5t, around the block and averaged17L/100Ks with his 100s landcruiser with the last of the 4.2L sixes in it, the later petrol engines are bullet proof, but run crap fuel through them and see what happens ..lol.

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 774114

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:38

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:38
firstly the original poster was no looking for a post 05 model.

secondly with any modern common rail diesel if you get a dose of contaminated fuel the bill can easily be over $4000 for set of injectors and a diesel pump rebilud...so there goes your economy straight out the window....ya better hope the fuel company will pay Toyota wont.

If anybody cares to look at maxellery's Toyota prado 1996- 2008 service manyal and tell me that the whole engine and drive line of the early prado is not Hilux......you are substituting your own reality.

Yeh look at the 1HDFTE it is a 6 cylinder 4.2 liter turbocharged diesel its a great engine....so how do you compare that to anything that could be considered fuel efficient

17 liters per hundred...thats about 16.5 miles to the gallon...that old petrol V8 numbers...small trucks consume less and fully loaded.....come on

then lets start talking payload for fuel consumed....ya landcruser stationwagon will only carry arround 600Kg.......a hilux will carry nearly twice that and use far less fuel doing it.

Anybody that thinks any landcruser is fuel efficient is living in another world........we have cars out there consumimg less than 5 litres per hundred....and they are not hybreds or diesels.

FollowupID: 774118

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:04

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:04
I think I am going to have to pull the cummins out of the truck and put a petrol in now that I have been shown the error of my ways after all these years.

Once you start to pull weight and loads diesel eats petrol engines any day of the week.

Gasoline (petrol) Engines
In the past 3–4 years, GDI (Gasoline Direct Injection) increased the efficiency of the engines equipped with this fueling system up to 35%. Currently the technology is available in a wide variety of vehicles ranging less expensive cars from Mazda, Ford and Chevrolet to more expensive cars from BMW, Mercedes-Benz, VAG.

Diesel Engines
Engines using the Diesel cycle are usually more efficient, although the Diesel cycle itself is less efficient at equal compression ratios. Since diesel engines use much higher compression ratios (the heat of compression is used to ignite the slow-burning diesel fuel), that higher ratio more than compensates for the lower intrinsic cycle efficiency, and allows the diesel engine to be more efficient. The most efficient type, direct injection Diesels, are able to reach an efficiency of about 40% in the engine speed range of idle to about 1,800 rpm. Beyond this speed, efficiency begins to decline due to air pumping losses within the engine. Modern turbo-diesel engines are using electronically controlled, common-rail fuel injection, that increases the efficiency up to 50% with the help of geometrically variable turbo-charging system; this also increases the engines' torque at low engine speeds (1200-1800RPM)

Petrol head RA.
FollowupID: 774123

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 19:04

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 19:04
Yes Rockape I am going to pull my 2 x Cummins 6BT's out of my boat and put some 454 Chev V8 petrol engines in. The Bantam thankyou
FollowupID: 774136

Reply By: chisel - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:01

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:01
You can use redbook to find the "official" fuel use ratings for the vehicles on your short list. They may not be accurate but at least they'll give a good comparison between vehicles.
Typically the diesel version of a prado will use maybe 20-40% less than the petrol version - but in the early years of the 120 series the diesel wasn't that great (low power and high fuel consumption). So if you're looking at 2001-2003 then I'd suggest the petrol is the better choice.

AnswerID: 498135

Follow Up By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:50

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:50
I have just got out of my 2003 Diesel Prado. I got high 13's driving around town to start with and 15's towing a smallish van.
A little sluggish on pickup, but you get used to that if you are only driving the Prado and don't have another car to compare.

I used Chem-Tech for 30,000 after having 170,000 to start with and the consumption and pickup improved noticeably after that. The Chem-Tech will clean the fuel system, throttle body etc etc.

They have no major problems in the early ones (before 2006 and the D4D) except for the cracks in the dash. You should ask if it has been repaired if you find one you like.

With 5 kids you will always have problems fitting them in. Even in the bigger landcruisers.

Be warned, they all have kept their value in the second hand market, despite high kms.

The Prado is the only one with twin fuel tanks, which is a consideration when doing the long trips.

Good luck with your research. It does your head in after a while!

bill
Bill B

FollowupID: 774104

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 14:40

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 14:40
to give some comparisons

on a trip brisbane - townsville & return with some running arround

my wifes corrola of the time got arround 7.5 to 8 litres per hundred
the current RAV got arround 9 litres per hundred
and my normally aspirated diesel hilux got arround 12 litres per hundred.

the RAV is about 300Kg heavier than the corrola and the hilux is arround 300Kg heavier than the RAV.

I've heard landcrusers running high 15s and 20 pluss towing

FollowupID: 774109

Follow Up By: Ross M - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:53

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:53
BBUZZ

How can Chemtech clean the throttle body in a diesel engine? The diesel is administered via injectors directly into the cylinders and NEVER gets anywhere near a throttle valve mechanism, turbo or inlet manifold.

So apart from the injectors what is the etc etc etc you are meaning.

Ross M
FollowupID: 774115

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:44

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:44
UM...most diesel do not have a throttle body......there is an open pipe from the air cleaner into the inlet manafold, no throttle body, no butterfly nothing but pipe and there is never any fuel in it.

the throttle control goes into the diesel pump.

As for the turbo...umm no fuel there either.

the best thing yoi can do for your diesel is to use a good quality diesel spec oil and give the thing a good long highway run with a couple off good range pulls every now and then.

OH..and investigate running two stroke in ya diesel.

FollowupID: 774120

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:24

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 13:24
Louie,
you will get a good idea if you go to www.pradopoint.com there will be some honest consumption figures there and info on the good points and bad.

Instead of the Landcruiser Prado you may also wish to have a look at a Mitsubishi Pajero.

AnswerID: 498136

Follow Up By: Mark T6 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:49

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:49
My Landcruiser 150 Prado (yes that IS on the back door) is pretty fuel efficiant.

You lose towability with a Prado (2500 Kg) but you gain fuel savings.

I take my 150 well off road, it's been across the Simpson and up to the Cape in the last 18 months and it's heading to the CSR in 2013.

I average about 11 litres per 100Km, that includes city, off road, touring the lot. Touring can get down to about 8.8, off roading can get up to 15.

I wouldn't mind the bigger Cruiser BUT the two downsides were,

Fuel usage
$25K extra

So I'll happily stick with my Lancruiser Prado...and yes some excellent information over at Pradopoint.com
FollowupID: 774131

Reply By: Sutto - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:07

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:07
We have an 08 pajero 3.2L diesel and hwy driving I get 9.2 and and around town about 10.5
Good thing with diesel is the price doesn't float like petrol. Maybe up and down by a few cents. The other week at the high fuel cycle for unleaded was 157.9 at our local and diesel was still 149.9. We used to own a 2000 Prado v6 auto and that thing was shocking on fuel and that's why we sold it.
AnswerID: 498142

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 18:27

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 18:27
If your lucky enough to live in an area that has price flucuations.
FollowupID: 774132

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 18:43

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 18:43
Yeah 3.2 is a ripper of a motor and this was nearly what we bought before the prado only I wanted the exceed and were none around in my price range. My wife actually likes the exceed better then the prado, reckons the seats are better etc. I definately dont like the V6 3.8 in the mitsi, thirstier then the prado and definately dont do the high klms the prado engines do, seem to all blow some smoke on start up or use oil. But the diesel I wouldnt hesitate, pull better then a prado D4D easily. My neighbour has the exceed 3.2 and loves it. Only main issue they had on the earlier 3.2's were the timing chain guide but this has been rectified. The other is when changing the filter to be careful not to let it drip down on the starter as it kills the starter.....................
FollowupID: 774133

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 00:51

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 00:51
Ok lets look at some real figures.

The current model hilux, from Toyota published figures.

The 2.7 litre motor produces 116KW and 240Nm
the 3 liter turbo common rail diesel produces 126KW and 343Nm

Firstly not a fair comparison of technology because the diesel is turbocharged and the petrol is not, The diesel will also cost you more to buy and mantain....but any way.....the cutting edge diesel that is a bigger motor is producing 42Kw per litre where the petrol motor is producing 43Kw per litre.

In motorsport we apply a capacity penalty to turbocharged motors so a fairer comparison would be with the 4 litre V6...it produces 175KW and 376Nm.....again 44KW per litre
so diesel does not produce more power for given engine capacity, even with the latest technology

The common rail turbo diesel may produce better economy figures...but the fisrt dose of bad fuel and thats all gone out the window.

Besides the fuel economy figures are not with the vehicle fully loaded.

going back to the 03 model.

The 2.7 litre petrol not yet variable valve timimg produces 108KW and 235Nm
the 3 litre normall aspirated diesel produces 71kw and 200Nm
the 3 litre turbo produces 85 kw and 315Nm

Unless diesel is turbo charged its not even close to the power a petrol engine is capable of.

sorry I could not find any independent fuel economy figures.....but without turbocharging and common rail technolgy diesel is simply not all that flash

the other thing is on road drivability...the petrol motor will always have far more power bandwidth...it will be pulling strongly at 2000rpm and will comfortably pull all the way to 5500 that means less gear changes and better acceleration.

as for talking about diesels in trucks...that is totally irrelivent appart to say.......um how much power does the 12 pluss liter motor produce per litre

Oh and that big diesel...whats the power band...where is ya redline 2500, 3000 or perhaps a screaming 3500 and how many gear shifts do you have to make.

In big heavy vehicles diesel is a necessity braught on simply by scale and almost all trucks are turbocharged.

But in small passenger derived vehicle the advantages are not all they are cracked up to be.

FollowupID: 774143

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 00:53

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 00:53
sorry this follow up ended up in the wrong part of the thread.

FollowupID: 774144

Reply By: Kimba10 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 18:36

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 18:36
I have had two 90 series (These models range from 1996 to 2002,) one petrol (3.4 V6) and one turbo diesel both grande's both auto's, both running the same gear which was steel winch bullbar (ARB), OME suspension (ARB), towbar, same tyres (BFG A/T's up a size) The best ever out of my 3.4 V6 on the highway was 12.2L per 100, around town 17.2L per 100 and this was taking it easy, boot it all the time and it would be higher. The diesel was around the 14's around town and depending on wether you stuck to 90k or 110k would range from tad under 10L per 100 obviously this was keeping under 100 which was a pain in the arse just to save a few $$) but it would jump higher then the petrol if pushed to 110/115 and if it was a wet and hot steamy day running aircon it would jump to 15's, yes this is the diesel Im talking about.But remember this is the 1KZ not the D4D (latest motor)

The 1kz in my opinion is not an economical motor especially in auto form (I believe the manual is far better ??) and must say is better geared for the 1kz then the auto (just my opinion from having both petrol and diesel in the 90). The head (diesel) went on my 90 (very common in the 90's not in the 120's) cost 4k for repairs and went at 103k was extremely well serviced oil and filter every 5k and genuine parts always so wasn't from neglect. Personally I think the 1KZ is to smaller motor for the 120 especially in auto.

LPG was the biggest mistake I personally ever made, hated it and would go back to a vitara before I change my current V6 120 to LPG. To smaller tank, felt like I was forever filling up, Gutless for towing, could watch the gauge drop when working it on sand/beach, stunk of petrol on hot days (common) couldnt fill the reserve tank any more then 3/4 on a hot day to allow for expansion or it would drip on the ground, so decreased your touring range (some thing I should have thought about prior, my mistake) The truth is I sold that vehicle due to the LPG, I didnt trust it (set up) and I didnt feel safe putting our 4 year old in it. I even took it to the RTA about the dripping onto ground and they didnt want to know about it.

Now can I also say this was not just some thing my 90 did, my neighbours up the road did it and so did 2 people who I had never met before but I approached them in the shopping centre car park and approached them asking them about fuel smell and drips on hot days and they all said yes they had to leave a window down when getting back in car to get rid of the smell so wasnt just mine and also a member on here has/had the same issue think he modified it himself to solve the problem) wont mention there user name. Yes the 90 flexed well off road and do sit higher then the 120 standard but nothing a lift wont solve.

You will probably want to drive the 90 , then if still wanting petrol try the 120 V6 (if $$$ allows) The 3.4 V6 in the 90 is a great long lasting motor and vehicle and known to do extremely high klms with minimal repair costs. The only real know issue with the 90's is the rattling dashboards but again can be fixed due to Pradopoints forum on how to fix it (not major), better then the 120's cracking issues (on some of them but can be extreme, again on Pradopoint) which is a bleep load dearer to repair if you cant get it through warranty....This is all my own opinion and I am sure there are people who will disagree with my reply, every one to there own.......I love the 120 V6 I have and on long trips I get better then the 3.4 did. Freeway I get 11.6L per 100, around town 15 to 16 BUT I don't have any major mods like off road tyres but do have an alloy bar. I run two sets of rims the other been steel with muddies for off road use. The 120 V6 absolutely slaughters the 3.4 and I kid you not puts you back in your seat (if need be) but again driving it with a heavy boot will jump from 15/16 around town and easily see you get a ticket.

Which ever way you go one thing that I would recomend without fail is rear aircon if your going to have 7 or more people in there, its gets bloody hot up in those rear seats. This is available in the VX Grande (series one) a few limited edition models, TX which is the diesel, BUT be wary if going for the diesel grande (the first of them but still a series 2) as they didnt have duel air, in 02 they fitted duel air in the grande diesel and it was also climate control (I wonder what toyota do some times)

Dual air in the 120's was an option pack on the GXL (option one or two) then the VX and grande had duel climate air standard, the GX which is the base model is also available with it as an option pack........................................
AnswerID: 498154

Follow Up By: Louie02 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 19:05

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 19:05
Thanks Kimba very helpful information
FollowupID: 774137

Follow Up By: member-PradoMad - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 17:06

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 17:06
very interesting read.
I have the same Prado and installed LPG 4 years ago. Don't know what company you have used, but I have never experienced any problems.
I now have 230k on the clock and the engine runs beautifully as ever.
I am very happy with the system; however the only time I regret is when I'm in the outback. But this is easily fixed with 3 Jerry cans on the roof rack.
It is a very thirsty engine especially when I tow my 1.3 tonne c/t.
Can't wait to upgrade to an 120 series diesel, post 2008,...one day!
JS.
FollowupID: 774185

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:50

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:50
This is a picture of the prado at work, exactly the set up mine was and the other 90 is on gas and the same set up as well, infact all identical to mine (started to piss down before I could get pic of other prado) you can see even on this one where the end of the cap is a red/maroon colour where it is obviously running over to it as well like mine did. The owner did say its gets very fumie (spelling) on hot days but hasn't had it drip (well not that he's aware of anyway)

[img]
[/img]

This yellow cap you see is where that rubber inlet pipe use to connect up to the original 90 main, they just disconnect it, put the yellow (or red) cap over the end with a pin hole in it to allow for the fumes to escape. The pipe above I'm guessing is the breather pipe back up to the filler neck ?? I thought myn may have been blocked but it was totally clear, I'm sure this is the one my mechanic said was the breather.........All 4 prados had exactly the same set up as this so presume it was supplied in kit form ?? by the supplier...........
FollowupID: 774198

Reply By: GEMAC Solar and Power - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 08:04

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 08:04
poor old Louie only asked a simple question and managed to almost start a war.

all fuels have both their good and bad points.
Mum, dad and 5 kids...... maybe a 4x4 toyota coaster"...............

if you are worried about fuel usage try my xlt f250 as a town runabout

AnswerID: 498170

Reply By: SDG - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 08:45

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 08:45
In the long run, the choice is going to be yours. Petrol, diesel, whatever. Take a few different ones for a drive. Unless you get something similar to a small bus, your always going to have trouble with 5 kids.

A friend of mine has a reasonably new Prado. Apart from his wife, who is in the front, he also has to fit five kids in the back. Three of them teenagers. We are about to go on a two month trip. No room for luggage so he bought a camper. He is hoping he can get enough luggage on there.

Another friend has seven kids. They bought a bus. Or close enough to it.

Ever considered other transport during the week? Do you have to drive to work? Can the kids ride a bike or walk to school? Catch a bus?

Leave the big car mostly for the big trips.

Even not driving the car one day each week could possibly save money over the course of a year. I have a Nissan Patrol. Only drive it once or twice a fortnight on average now for shopping. Rest of the time I ride or walk.
AnswerID: 498172

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 17:49

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 17:49
ok Louie: you want something big enough for 5 kids and fuel efficiency. Not really compatable but I would say the best compromise would be Prado/Pajero. Fuel type? Personally; diesel especially if towing, otherwise not a lot in it. Both have their pros and cons especially if you find a petrol version of the same car much cheaper than the diesel, otherwise, go diesel. LPG? Is fantastic for running about locally but if towing, you'll be filling up pretty frequently as any car gets through the stuff pretty quickly, although it is cheaper. You can get it most places but sometimes, just when you need it out in the country, they either might not sell it, or they do, but just don't have any. You get through a lot of LPG towing. You also need to make sure it is properly installed as there are a lot of cowboys out there who do a crap job of it. It happened to me. I chose an installer who seemed pretty well versed in LPG installs and had done a lot of them - he just didn't do a very good job. If it's done right, it's great, esp at home/city/suburbs where you drive mostly. It's all a compromise because nothing does everything perfectly. Diesel Prado/Paj for me but if not towing, petrol just as good and usually much cheaper to buy. Do your homework/comparisons.
AnswerID: 498224

Follow Up By: Louie02 - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 20:09

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 20:09
Thank homework was kind of what I was trying to do here see what people who already own them think and take it from there..
FollowupID: 774201

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 21:24

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 21:24
you'll have to do a bit more of your own research or homework as well because nobody on here can tell you what you need - sorry if I wasn't any help
AnswerID: 498246

Follow Up By: Louie02 - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:37

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:37
You were a lot of help Steve I assumed a forums purpose was to get other peoples opinion or help on something you might not know a lot about, maybe i worded my post wrong but i never asked anyone to choose for me this was just part of my research.
FollowupID: 774218

Reply By: steved58 - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 23:42

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 23:42
on my recent trip around oz diesel was actually cheaper that petrol a third of the time especially in queensland and I would not be without my turbodiesel landcruiser especially when towing had petrol pajero was good but same van landcruiser average 17.5l/100kms pajero petrol 28l/100kms towing landcruiser city 11l/100kms pajero city 14l/100kms on hills towing petrol is bleep But a good diesel landcruiser costs a lot Just my experience
AnswerID: 498250

Follow Up By: Louie02 - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:38

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:38
Thanks Steve
FollowupID: 774219

Reply By: Louie02 - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:56

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:56
Thanks heaps to everyone who posted your input has been fantastic i'm hoping i am now one step closer to that passion. wow I still have some thinking and some test driving to do Thanks again......
AnswerID: 498254