coil spring spacers

2007 70 series ute.
advice 15 or 30mm. spacers for front coils.
yes or no ?
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 14:27

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 14:27
Pinko,

I put 20 or 30mm spacers(can't remember) in back of an 80 series wagon, and they made it sit up well, for the outlay.

Reckon if you weren't sure which one to put in, then jack up the bullbar of your ute, measuring the distance, till you get the desired effect, at either 15 or 30mm. Don't think you'd want the front to be higher than the rear?

Think it's only the 50mm ones that can cause a drama by popping the spring out at the top, when getting a bit aggressive.

AnswerID: 498203

Reply By: The Bantam - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 16:49

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 16:49
My understanding is that they are not legal for on road use.

AnswerID: 498219

Follow Up By: desray (WA - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 23:50

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 23:50
thats wheel spacers not spring spacers
FollowupID: 774215

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:29

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:29
check with your local transport authority, I think you will find coil spacers are illegal in most states, just like shortening springs by cutting is illegal.

Any fiddling with coils is considered bad practice, the expectation is to replece the whole coil.

FollowupID: 774236

Follow Up By: desray (WA - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:10

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:10
ARB fit them all the time ,,in all states. They use them to trim/level the car, still spring spacers though.
FollowupID: 774253

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 17:30

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 17:30
It does not matter who fits what.

that does not make them legal.

Get if from the horses mouth...check with the local authorities

FollowupID: 774258

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:04

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:04
The problem with coil spring spacers is you can get coil bind unless you increase the height of the bump stops.

The other issue is over exertion of the dampener, good way to brake shafts and mounts.

Also by using coil spacers as a lift you lose articulation...... it's more of a cheap mans lift.

Coil spacers are good if you want to balance a vehicle from left to right but only up to 10mm.

There is only one way to suspension and that's do it properly.
AnswerID: 498236

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:33

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:33
Gday ,
I doubt 15 -30mm will make a lot of difference to your caster angle but remember to get it checked afterwards to be sure.

AnswerID: 498287