Some burnt things on the Gunbarrel

Hi again.
The Gunbarrel between Carnegie and Giles lately has been more closed than open due to fire.
I was interested in having a look, SO interested that FESA rang me last Friday and told me it was open. I arrived there on Saturday.
What I saw was quite a bit of burnt country, most recent and some perhaps from last year.
All is not lost however as the area will recover. Some of the fires I saw were started by lightning when I was there.
Here are some pictures:

Reply By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:02

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:02
Gidday Alan

Amazing pics. Was out there in the middle of 2011 and Geradlton bore was surrounded by scrub. I have a picture of that David Carnegie sign ... at
least I think it's the same one ...and the spinifex is as high as the sign! Likewise at Everard junction. Driving through there w as like driving through a wheat crop.
Does fire get rid of corrugations?

Rocco

AnswerID: 498251

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 07:43

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 07:43
Hi Rocco,
It's a pity, however the corrugations remain unfortunately :-)

FollowupID: 774223

Reply By: Member - ACD 1 - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:09

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:09
Hi Alan

WOW! I was out there in July this year, we camped at Geraldton Bore - it looked different though.

I am not at home at the moment but will put some pictures up from when we were out there for comparision (hopefully on Sunday)

Cheeers

Anthony
AnswerID: 498252

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 07:47

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 07:47
Hi Anthony,
That would be great to see some not to old pictures for comparison.
My pictures here are just the features, there are also huge areas stretching for kilometres, all burnt.

FollowupID: 774224

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 15:39

Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 15:39
Hi Allan

Sorry about the delay in posting these, I got back and forgot I had to go to work - Oh! the inconvenience of it all!

I have tried to sequence these the same as you original post for comparison.Some are of the general area of yours.

Just wondering if you noticed if the warning sign I put up at the wash away (photo below) into Mount Beadell is still there?

You come of a good section, around a blind bend into it. We hit it doing about 40 km/h - both the camper trailer and the 100 series took big hits - fortunately no damage.

It did cause the "Nagivator" to comment:

"...if you ever (expletives removed) complain about me hitting a (more expletives removed) curb in you precious (oh! now I'm in trouble) landcruiser again, you can (still not happy!) drive yourself...!

mmmm! oh the possibilities!

Anthony

FollowupID: 774621

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 15:41

Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 15:41
Why do the go sideways?

They were straight up and down when I took them!

Anthony
FollowupID: 774622

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 21:14

Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 21:14
Hi Anthony,
Thanks for the pictures; what a change 5 months can make.

I bet the kids had a ball.

Sorry to say I didn't see your warning sign. That's not to say it wasn't there - glad I wasn't there to hear your "navigator" go off lol......

Here's a couple more pics.

Alan (at Emerald)

FollowupID: 774637

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:31

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:31
Struth mate, someone has to introduce you to the “easy” way to get to FNQ. Yeah fires burning everywhere at the moment. I’ve had some communication from DEC at Karratha that informed me of many lightening strike fires currently burning in Karlamilyi (Rudall River) National Park. Trust the trip is going well. Keep an eye out for Prof. Brian Cox while you’re up there (the young particle physicist of BBC fame). He’s in the area for the eclipse.

Brian Cox - Physicist

Safe travels my friend.

Mick

P.S. That bloody dog hasn't been driving again has she?!!!!

AnswerID: 498253

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 02:33

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 02:33
Dog drives better than him :)

FollowupID: 774220

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 08:06

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 08:06
Gee guys shes the best copilot I've ever had- lets me know when its time to stop for morning tea lol...
Youll have to go and check out the other fires Mick, I'l keep an eye out for the professor.
Cheers guys

FollowupID: 774228

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 01:58

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 01:58
Hi Alan when we were out that way with Desert Discovery the fire along the Gunbarrel where pretty close to the Beadell plaque then and I was wondering if the tree would survive. Obviously it did.

AnswerID: 498255

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 07:51

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 07:51
Hi Dunc,
Some of those plaque trees came very close to being burnt down, just luck I guess!

FollowupID: 774225

Reply By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 06:21

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 06:21
Hi Alan,
Thanks for the update and my god there sure has been some serious 'campfires' out there.

Following on from Dunc, I knew about the fires at the Rawlinsons - largely lit by the TOs rejuvenating the country.

But the fires back along the Gunbarell, what mayhem they sure have BBQ'd the country. I guess with so much unburnt material around when there was a fire it was going to be destructive. I can see why there have been so many travel restrictions in accessing the area.

Safe travels

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 498257

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 07:56

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 07:56
Gday Phil,
I guess that is the natural order of things (generally)
In five years or so we will hardly notice.
Some areas that were burnt maybe last year already have regrowth up to 20cms high.
I hope all is well in Perth.

FollowupID: 774226

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 08:50

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 08:50
Hi Alan

Thanks for those updates and how different the country looks compared to our last trip through that area.

Safe travels.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 498262

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:28

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:28
Hi Alan

Not hijacking your post, but here are some images of what the country is usually like for those that have not been fortunate to travel another great destination in WA.

Looking forward to your next updates.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 774235

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 12:40

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 12:40
What happened to to bore pump?

FollowupID: 774240

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 14:11

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 14:11
Hi John

The handle was seized or the brass rod had broken and someone tried to repair it I believe. That yellow tie down strap was holding the poly that went down to the water level in place.

I have posted that image a while ago and one of the members was going that way and was going to try and fix it. Weather it was successful we never heard of any outcome.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 774243

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 12:17

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 12:17
Hi Stephen,
Thanks for the pictures, very interesting comparisons.

FollowupID: 774309

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 14:22

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 14:22
G'day Allan

Great pics and comments keep up the good work....Geraldton bore looks so sad from when I last was there

Curiosity has got the better of me!!.....how are you communicating here on the web from out where you are???????

Safe travels

Graeme
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 498277

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 14:54

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 14:54
Hi Graeme,
Thanks, it does all look a bit sad doesn't it.

I'm using the Samsung Tablet (which has Ozi on it) and can only access the net when in range of 3G.

I'm writing this now from Karumba, sitting in the Fair Maid, looking out over the Gulf for the very first time.

FollowupID: 774246

Reply By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 01:03

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 01:03
Hi Alan.

Did you do the trek around the peterman ranges?

cheers Graeme.
AnswerID: 498317

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 12:14

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 12:14
Hi Graeme,
Not this time, saw them in the distance though.
Cheers Alan

FollowupID: 774307

Reply By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 12:38

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 12:38
Couple of images from our 2010 trip with the 19' Bushtracker - great trip and no problems.

Cheers John and Jean
AnswerID: 498346

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 21:18

Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 21:18
Hi John and Jean,

Thanks for the pictures. It looks like the Bushtracker is the go then, for those rough type of tracks.

FollowupID: 774638