What do you collect when you travel?

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 22:20
ThreadID: 99001 Views:3312 Replies:12 FollowUps:24
I collect stubby holders. The dried arrangment collects rocks, seashells and fridge magnets.

I have about 330 stubby holders and the prize for the dearest s/holder goes to Dampier WA, $15. Followed closely by Karratha at $14.95.LOL

Rocks and sea shells are free while fridge magnets are generally about $3.50 to $4.95.

Any weird collectors out there????

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 22:36

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 22:36
Hi Boo Boo

Your game, I woul dnever refer to wife as the dried arrangement, if i did it would be a dry arguement for longtime.

But we are similar, i usually get stubby holders, and sally gets fridge magnets, or collects shells.

I actually use the stubby holders though for a year then replace with the next one.

AnswerID: 498455

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 22:57

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 22:57

I'm fairly safe with that one as she doesn't look at EO. lol

FollowupID: 774443

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 23:40

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 23:40
"Dry Arrangement", now my Hubby will give out quite a lot to me and all is good BUT "Dry Arrangement" I would certainly bauk at that one LOL LOL.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 774447

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 00:35

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 00:35
Don't worry D she can give as good as she gets. LOL

FollowupID: 774454

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 01:07

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 01:07
I'm glad to hear it......LOL

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 774455

Reply By: baz&pud (Tassie) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 22:50

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 22:50
G'day boo boo,

After 46 years of marriage we have enough crap in her house, and our shed, that we have decided not to collect anything, BUT, before we leave Tassie each year we purchase a supply of miniature Tassie Devils, and we give them away to people who have done the right thing by us, for example, if we go to a restaurant, and we are looked after by the waiter, he/she will get a tip and a TD.

baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 498457

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 23:02

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012 at 23:02
Baz

The TassieDevil idea is a really good one.

As to the crap in the garage. Well when I have a clean out the next door neighbour gets first dibbs (they look after our place when we are away), the rest gets put out the front with a cheap price on it andit saves tip fees.

FollowupID: 774444

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 06:37

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 06:37
Hi Boo Boo. After 40 odd years of travelling and collecting all sorts of old things we have got to the stage of once you have it the interest waynes a bit. We now mainly collect photos. Maybe I mean take photos. Whatever, the photo record is as good as you can get and with digital you can now just plug a USB into the tele and play them to your heart's content. Cheers,Bob.
AnswerID: 498463

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:39

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:39

A good thing to collect and no weight.

FollowupID: 774547

Reply By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 06:49

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 06:49
Hi Boo Boo,

I collect feathers and any unusual small, light weight natural objects such as seed pods, shells, birds nests... that I find when we are bushwalking. Sometimes they are used as subject matter for drawings, photographs and printmaking.

Occasionally we buy a stubby holder in out of the way places such as Cameron Corner. They are always useful to carry glass jars in the fridge if we buy more than we need and are a talking point when we get home and have friends around for a BBQ.

regards,

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 498464

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:42

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:42
Heather

You have a few good ones there, I won't tell Frances as she might start collecting them as well.lol

FollowupID: 774549

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 15:55

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 15:55
I reckon its time to introduce Frances to the computer!!!

FollowupID: 774570

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 18:03

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 18:03

You always gave me the impression that you were very nice people.

How wrong can a man be. LOLOLOL

FollowupID: 774578

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 07:35

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 07:35
I'm a hat collector.

On the other hand, the wife collects those tourist brochures for the different areas of OZ. Most she finds in caravan park laundries, left by fellow travellers who have been to other far distant areas.

By the time we get home we have many kilos of plastic bags of brochures, which lay around the house for a while before gradually ending up in the recycle bin.
AnswerID: 498466

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:45

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:45
Fred

I collect hats for a mate and he gets them after the money changes hans. lol

I'm not sure about the brochures, but a few maps of various towns find their way into a folder.

I' m starting to think I'm a bower bird.

FollowupID: 774550

Reply By: Member - Geoff B (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 09:17

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 09:17
Hi Boo Boo,
Like you, my husband collects stubbie holders. If they come from a remote place that not many people go to (like well 33 on the CSR) they go straight onto a shelf, not to be used by anyone. All the others go into a tub to be used. We also collect railway dogs and other interesting things. I have just started to collect sand from different parts of WA. Have put them in little glass jars and they look great. I think we are going to have to get a bigger games room as we are running out of wall space to put everything!
Sue
AnswerID: 498474

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 10:05

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 10:05
Space is limited in Troopy so we keep our collecting to a minimum, but we do take lots (and lots) of photos.

But there is still the urge to collect a few small things that remind us of particular places .... stones, rocks, minerals, the occasional railway spike, shells (where permitted) seed pods (ditto), coloured sands and various other bits and pieces that we come across. When we get home we get a tall clear glass vase from an el cheapo store and arrange our mementos in that - we have a bit of a collection now and they really do bring back the memories.

We also keep the more useful tourist and NP brochures of places where we have been. When we get home these usually get compiled into a folder and sometimes are useful for future reference.

But mostly we collect memories.

We keep a diary that gets converted into blogs on here, with the help of the photos and the OziExplorer track that is copied onto a big wall map at home. We started out writing blogs as we travelled, but we now find that there is more pleasure to be had by waiting until we are home, then we can relive the trip by doing the blogs, sorting the photos and arranging the souvenirs.

But no commercial souvenirs - except once I bought a fridge magnet from the butterfly house at Kuranda. We prefer the "real thing" over something almost certainly made overseas.

Val.

FollowupID: 774462

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:53

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:53
Sue

I make furniture as a hobby and collected a dozen railway dogs from Silver city supposedly from the old railway line out there. I'll use them for coat racks.

I don't think I'll ever get to well 33, but we went to whats left of Mary Kathleen a few years ago, then while we were in St george qld for a few weeks I found a Stubby holder with the words 'Mary Kathleen, a town that was'.

It cost me the princely sum of 50 cents.
FollowupID: 774553

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff B (WA) - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 09:55

Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 09:55
Boo Boo,
Geoff has made a few things with the railway dogs we got from the old Ghan line. We have a few coat and hat racks. Plus he has welded some to make a stand to hold the album of photos from that trip and also made a small man that points north out in the garden!
Sue
FollowupID: 774603

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 10:54

Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 10:54
Sue

Yeh I tried that welding caper a few times on the trailer.

It ended up being air conditioned with big welding holes. I'll stick to furniture. LOL

FollowupID: 774606

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 11:09

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 11:09
Friends ;-)

Still travel regularly with people I've met along many roads over 35 years or so. It's amazing who you meet in some of the strangest or out of the way places.

AnswerID: 498485

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:58

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:58
Mick and Val

I sincerely hope that everyone collects memories and friends along the way.

When I pick up a stubby holder at home it jogs our memry of what the place looks like, the things we did and the people we met.

FollowupID: 774555

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 15:57

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 15:57
Its amazing how the memories come flooding back when you see those funny things that we all collect.

FollowupID: 774573

Reply By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 13:27

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 13:27
Dust, experience, and usually great memories.
AnswerID: 498504

Reply By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 13:33

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 13:33
Hi Boo Boo, when we travel I collect the shire emblem or crest on a patch for my Jacket I started this while we were in Europe, and some of the crests are amazing, tloml collects sand seashell maps and any other piece of paper that she can lay her hands on, can't go anywhere until she has a map of the area. but I don't complain as it is not worth the waste of emotion or the argument, I learnt that in France.L O L, we just had to have a map of the area that we were in even though we had a gps and a full map book, we still had to have the local map, and so the status quo was established and I am not game enough to try and change it L O L.
Broodie H3
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

AnswerID: 498506

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:01

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:01
Brodie

We are going to Japan next year and I have been trying to think of a theme that I can collect.

Maybe they have crests or something similar.

FollowupID: 774556

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 15:55

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 15:55
I f they do let me know It will have to go on our travel plans ,but for next year is vietnam and maybe Canada, and Queensland in june. Broodie H3
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 774569

Reply By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 14:08

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 14:08
I seem to collect stone chips. Everyone tells a tale of good times and off road adventures. Although I must admit to the fridge magnet thing too.

Fab.

P.S. Thankfully my missus is too young to be into the tea towel and spoon thing. Phew, dodged that bullet.
AnswerID: 498507

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:03

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:03
Fab

You will get there all too soon. LOL

FollowupID: 774557

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 17:32

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 17:32

Guess what we collect :-)

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 498523

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:05

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:05
Tony

I hope you only bring them home one at a time.LOL

What a doozy of a collect.

FollowupID: 774558

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:39

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:39
Tony,
there was a fishing boat that operated out of Cairns many years ago called the "Rustic Maid". They would go to sea and bring back bulk long line glass balls before they started using plastic ones.

Well they got a visit from the constabulary who had a bit of a look around and found the glass floats were a side line and the main income, shall I say involved a certain green leafy material and a resin.

I hope you are not going down the same track but if you are enjoy the fruits of your labour.

Honest your Honour I only experimented with this and it was for my own use.

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 774583

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:27

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:27

A job worth doing :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 774870

Reply By: Mudguard - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 21:05

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 21:05
G,Day, Rocks, just golf ball size odd shape or colour where we've camped or visited and just drop them in the landscaped section in the front yard getting to be quite a rocky outcrop
AnswerID: 498541

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:08

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:08
Mate

You should get out there some time and figure out where each rock came from. LOL
FollowupID: 774559

Follow Up By: Mudguard - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 18:26

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 18:26
Ah actually we have done, sometimes we've sat on the front window sill with a beverage and reministed and also while weeding we've found the odd lost talisman
FollowupID: 774579